We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabrillo Inn at the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the location!! The rooms were outdated, hard beds and pillows, and no A/C. The "Breakfast" staff was very unfriendly. You had to ask them to toast a bagel for you and they seemed put out. Hope you like store bought pastries, because that's all you get. Don't make much noise or everyone will know what's going on due to the thin walls. Oh well, the beach is right across the street!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Cabrillo Inn at the Beach, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and comments. Our East Beach Oceanfront location coupled with our surprisingly affordable rate have been and continue to be well received by all our new and returning guests. Even thou our rooms are not in the 4 or 5 star category they are well received by our guests. We do not have AC but do have fans for cooling. Many smaller Motels/Inns along Santa Barbara's beachfront do not have AC. The cool ocean breeze which blows from the ocean is consistent and provides cooling when the windows are left open. Our beds are hotel type and are firmer than residential types. We do not have feather type pillows but would have gladly given you extra pillows which hopefully would have been more soft. Our continental breakfast staff are instructed to ask guests if they want their items toasted or heated up and if they did not we apologize. If you did not feel that you were being serviced properly a comment to the front desk at check out would have been appreciated as we do not know if this was a weekday stay or a weekend stay. The majority of our continental breakfast items are from 3 bakeries with some other items from local stores. We have in addition to pastries such items as: flavored croissants, quiches, muffins, breads, cakes, turnovers, scones, English muffins, variety of bagels with flavored cream cheeses, granola bars and other seasonal items. If the noise decibel level is extremely loud the sound can be heard from the adjacent room. All rooms from a past remodel have an extra drywall layer over existing plaster walls to minimize sound transfer levels. If one screams or talks or yells at the top of their lungs the adjacent room will most likely hear this. You have to have concrete walls to stop this level of sound transfer. We do have plans on installing AC with our future renovation and will also evaluate any additional sound proofing procedures that are available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    130
    75
    36
    38
See reviews for
80
144
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tracy, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

The staff was discourtious, the rooms were below average, hard cheap beds, very cramped tiny bathrooms. Thin uninsolated walls, every conversation and activity is public, cramped rooms, 1970's furniture. Many of the rooms have no doors, just a sliding glass door with one tiny bathroom style window next to it, no other windows. You have to sleep with the door open, no security no privacy or contend with stale air and no a/c or ventilation. The location is great. The contentental breakfast was terrible, everything was days old and of the lowest quality possible. Even though they had someone there to protect the food no attempt was made to clean tables and chairs, everything was crumbs and spills. Spend your money somewhere else this place is just old and tired.

Room Tip: To get a good room you have to spend so much money you should stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tandmsimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Cabrillo Inn at the Beach, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and comments. I have had discussed these comments with my staff and all of them remember these guests from either check in or out and from our lounge where we serve a continental breakfast. We do not offer a full or limited cooked to order breakfast as suggested and do not advertise this anywhere in our amenities. Our continental breakfast items include daily delivered items such as: danish, muffins, spinach, ham, turkey and other flavored croissants, various flavored quiches, scones, granola bars, various flavored breads, bagels with flavored cream cheeses, various kinds of toast, oatmeal with raisins and other seasonal items. Surely this offering is more than a cup of coffee and a wrapped muffin. We have one continental person on weekdays and two on weekends to serve the breakfast, heat up items, toast bagels etc and clean up after guests who sometimes leave a mess. We are not a full service breakfast operation and do not charge for our continental breakfast. When it gets busy the weekday person can get behind but will clean up tables as soon as possible. Most of our guests have the decency to clean up so that the table is available for another guest. We have limited tables and chairs inside the lounge but have many other tables and chairs around the pool or on our second floor sundeck.

Our staff has earned high marks from other reviews for their efforts of going out of their way to accommodate any guest needs. The statement about staff was discourteous without any explanation is unusual given all the other detail in the comments. We purchase the highest hotel quality beds from a reputable bed manufacturer which are not like your residential type. Hotel beds tend to be firmer than the plush residential type. Some of our non premium limited ocean view rooms with one king bed have smaller bathrooms but have the sink area and vanity located outside of the bathroom. Our premium rooms have larger bathrooms and vanity and sink areas. Our rooms range from 225 to 325 square feet with our 3rd floor ocean view suite at almost 700 square feet. Our room sizes are consistent with other small Inn's and Motels in the Santa Barbara area. Our rooms were built with old school plaster walls. Many years ago we addressed this noise issue and put new drywall over all the perimeter plaster walls to help with this issue. If guests were too loud our front desk is here from 7am to 11pm and can also be contacted after 11pm if you dial 0 for the office and wait for the off hours extension in order to dial the night manager. The Inn was built with sliding glass entry doors to open up the views of beautiful "East Beach", the Channel Islands and the Pacific Ocean. Some of our other rooms have more windows that can be left open. We have plans to install AC with our future renovation plans.

Many of our returning guests know that our property was built and completed in the early 1950's. They also know that we are not a 5star hotel with rates appropriate for these types of properties. We may be old but our guests like the style of the exterior "Bat and Board" 50's style architecture. If guests want an upscale style property and are willing to pay the price for this, we are not a choice for them. But if you want value, helpful staff, a clean and comfortable room with a 5star oceanfront "East Beach" location, then we are a choice for you. We have been operating this property since 1976 and with our future renovation plans we will continue to offer the traveling public a good value for their money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuerich
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012 via mobile

Pricy for the quality of the room but its clean an near the beach. No A/C but on our stay open windows are even better.The sound from the ocean is nice for sleeping.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexusworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonySantaBarbara, Owner at Cabrillo Inn at the Beach, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and comments. Our oceanfront "East Beach" location is our #1 amenity. We are a small Inn and our rooms are not in the luxury class as other hotels in the area. Our rooms are clean and we use the highest quality beds available from a reputable hospitality bed supplier. Our continental breakfast is more than a cup of coffee and a muffin with items such as Spinach, Ham and cheese Croissants, various quiches, bagels with flavored cream cheeses, lemon, pecan, granola flavored bars and many more tasty items. We do have renovation plans in the near future and when complete we will continue to be the "Best Oceanfront Value" and as stated by the Los Angeles Times "Rates as low as you will find along Santa Barbara Beachfront" Yes it is nice to open your window and hear the sounds from the all the ocean activity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

There was a snafu in our reservation on a busy holiday weekend, but management (via chad) was very accommodating and took good care of us. The second floor 'patio', open to all, is a great place for a glass of wine, visiting and beach gazing. They even provided a Colgate toothbrush, because I'd forgotten mine. We have stayed there twice and this will continue to be our 'go to' place in sb.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank reflections9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Spent 2 nights at Cabrillo Inn on the Beach as part of a journey up PCH from San Diego to San Francisco. As soon as we arrived we immediately relaxed as the view from our room was stunning. We had had 6 exhausting days sightseeing and all we wanted to do was 'chill' which we did. The rooms are a little 'tired' but have everything you need and the other amenities make up for this. Lovely pool and garden area. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with full ocean view. Worth every penny of the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theburrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonySantaBarbara, Owner at Cabrillo Inn at the Beach, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Thank you for your recent stay with us and your kind comments. Yes our location is as good as it gets along Santa Barbara's Beachfront especially our pristine "East Beach" location that allows for spectacular Ocean and Channel Island views. We are considered by many of our returning guests as "a great value" as compared to our large hotel neighbors which offer full service and have more luxury style/type of rooms. We do have room and exterior renovation plans is the future which will make us an even greater Oceanfront Value at beautiful "East Beach" Thanks again and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 km away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#28 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
0.2 km away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
0.1 km away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#25 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.1 km away
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach
#45 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
2.2 km away
West Beach Inn
West Beach Inn
#21 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabrillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabrillo Inn at the Beach

Property: Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
Address: 931 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,334 - ₹ 17,978
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Cabrillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Cabrillo Hotel Santa Barbara
Cabrillo Motel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing