We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient and cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A White Jasmine Inn
Ranked #7 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
center of the world
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“convenient and cozy”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Don't expect the traditional, but relax and enjoy.

Room Tip: Rooms are very different so pay attention.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroYankStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    125
    30
    14
    12
See reviews for
32
281
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
redlands, California, USA
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Our friends were coming to California from Texas and wanted to get married at the courthouse in Santa Barbara. So we were looking for 2 rooms. We spent 2 weeks looking online for hotels or places to stay in Santa Barbara. I found White Jasmine by searching hotels on google maps and clicking thru to their websites. White Jasmine had a great location and it was really more affordable than the other choices. We booked because of the location and value.
When we checked in John was very helpful. John was very thorough in explaining everything. Very thorough. He was able to get us into one of the rooms early so the girls could get ready for the wedding. The rooms were really cool. The married friends got the craftsmen suite which was the coolest place I've ever seen as a place to stay. Fireplace and built in floor to ceiling bar and jacuzzi hot tub on the deck. It's a bed and breakfast but we couldn't tell there were other people staying there, it was very private.
We were able to walk everywhere. The social hour wine and snacks was a good way to start the night. John told us about a cab company that did day time wine tours. Kind of ghetto that you're in a cab, but very cool because they would go wherever you asked them to. Had them stop at the inn on the way home, so we could unload, then drop us off at the wharf.
It was a great time and this will be definetly the 1st place we check for room whenever we go to Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Craftsmen suite is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moorpark
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We have never stayed at a B&B before and really didn't know what to expect. Me and my girl friend stayed three nights. The first two in the Nouveau Room and the last night in the Castaway room. The Nouveau Suite was very private with it's own backyard and outside jacuzzi . Inside was charming with a fireplace, sitting area, and nice bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable, we both slept so perfectly (when we were sleeping that is). Breakfast came promptly on time each morning. It is a hot breakfast each day served with juice, fresh fruit and comes in a basket at the foot of your door (if you choose not to open your door that is). The quiche was the best. The Castaway room was just as charming and private.
The location is awesome. We walked every day. Down to state street for shopping, sightseeing and wine tasting. We also walked to Louie's the first night. Excellent food.
Now the best part. The service was impeccable. We were running a bit behind on check-in day and John stayed and waited for us. He met us at the door and really took us through what to expect at this B&B, took us on a tour (even to some of the other rooms just for us to check them out - we are very curious people). He took the time to point out some of the things to do and places to eat. He even offered to make dinner reservations for us. Although we didn't have many requests, he was there for any assistance from changing rooms to getting ice to inviting us to the social hour.
I will definitely be taking my girl friend back to this place very soon. And if the innkeeper reads this - John - we had a great time and hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed in the Santa Ynez room for two days this last weekend. It as overall a pretty good experience but I feel like 3/5 stars first the hotel better than its current 4 star average.


Positives:
-The staff was friendly and helpful
-The location is very close to state street
-The breakfast was pretty good

Negatives:
-Santa Ynez Room isn't actually connected to the main Inn. It's around the corner and two houses down
-The room itself was sort of awkward. It's basically a hallway of a separate house that's been turned into a "cottage" for rent.
-The beddings and bathrobes seemed old and in need of replacement. The bedding was shedding all over.
-The Price seemed a little high given the above negatives.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is inside the inn itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jciurwta, Manager at A White Jasmine Inn, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
We appreciate frank reviews from guests about our inn. On the negatives in your list there are a few things I wish to point out:

1. The room is not a former hallway but is the back room of our Artisan Cottage, which we had enhanced, through a series of minor and less minor renovations, an already presentable accommodation to a better standard.

Further this Artisan Cottage is a vacation rental and is divided, for those who do not wish to rent the entire cottage, into two accommodations---the Santa Ynez Room and the Bordeaux Suite. The Cottage is the next house past the corner house (not two houses down from the corner) and is actually adjacent to our main house backyard via a service entrance walkway. This had been readily accessible in the past for the guests to access the main house and vice versa. We are renovating this access area and therefore is only a service access during this time interval. The guests need to go around the corner house in the meantime to get to the main house---everyone may access the main house.

2. We make a point of offering only good quality products to our guests. The blanket you referred to in your room is a fairly new plush Sateen blanket and sheds somewhat in the first few washings---that is just the nature of it---and the robes are not new but not that old and get washed after each check out and have a fluffy Terry Cloth lining with a high quality microfiber shell.

Moreover I wished that you had mentioned any problems you may have during your stay. For example, if you had an issue with the blanket during your stay where this so-called shedding bothered you we would have endeavored to explain it to your satisfaction or replace it, etc.

We do thank you for your patronage and hope and trust that you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My boyfriend and I picked this lovely b&b thanks to the many positive reviews on Tripadvisor. Great choice! Unfortunately we missed half a day due to unexpected flight delays. On the day of the arrival we wrote a mail to the owners to inform them of the change. Their reply was immediate. After a 29-hour-journey (we had left the day before from Milan!) we finally got to Jasmine Inn. What a wonderful sight! Quiet, peaceful, green, surrounded by gardens in the middle of a residential area just a 10 minute's walk from the centre! At the entrance we found an envelope containing a kind welcome note and the room key.
The management makes a point of keeping the place as quiet as possible, that's why the guests are asked not to take showers after a certain time in the evening or early in the morning. We went straight to bed and it was like heaven. Somewhere on Tripadvisor I read about hard mattresses and squeaky beds...It wasn't certainly our case. The mattress was fabolous, pillows extra comfortable and we slept in blissful peace all night long!
Our first morning was welcomed by a lovely basket outside the door filled with breakfast goodies (I still think of that mouth watering pear cake!!!). What a great thing to have breakfast in the back garden, in the sun, with the birds chirping alla around us!
We spent the following two days walking around, as the b&b is located in such a convenient place! We parked our car when we arrived and never touched it.
In the afternoon we also enjoyed complimentary cookies and wine, as well a pleasant chat with John, the owner of the Inn. I appreciated immensily these moments, you really had the feeling to be at home away from home!
I'd recommend this great place to everyone, I really didn't find a single thing missing.
What few other reviewers pointed out as downsides are in my opinion just the opposite: characteristics that every familiar b&b should have. If you are looking for super facilities and ultra modern furniture, check-in at any anonymous hotel chain. WJI is something totally different that not everyone has the sensitivity to perceive.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sissi022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 km away
The Upham Hotel & Country House
The Upham Hotel & Country House
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
629 reviews
0.7 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,020 reviews
1.2 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
554 reviews
1.8 km away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
326 reviews
0.6 km away
Bath Street Inn
Bath Street Inn
#3 of 18 in Santa Barbara
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A White Jasmine Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A White Jasmine Inn

Property: A White Jasmine Inn
Address: 1327 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3623 (Formerly Glenborough Inn)
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,532 - ₹ 22,997
Hotel Class:3 star — A White Jasmine Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a downtown, residential neighborhood within the theater district as well as being in the vicinity of the beach the charming inn consists of three cottages each with it's unique architecture. These cottages are comprised of twelve rooms and suites which are tastefully decorated, catering to different personalities. All amenities at this property---replete with jacuzzis, fireplaces, and peaceful gardens---are included in the price. The unique bed and breakfast inn is one of the best values around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your A White Jasmine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Jasmine Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing