We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B and B in a beautiful neighborhood in Santa Barbara”
Review of Cheshire Cat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cheshire Cat Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The wonderful parts were the 1920s house/inn, the antique decor, the yard, my own entrance into my suite with a two-person jacuzzi tub, terrycloth lined bathrobes, afternoon wine and cheese, and last, but not least, the innkeepers, especially Bharti. The breakfast on the weekend was okay. The french toast on Sunday was a small portion but filling. And there's always breakfast granola, in case you don't want the hot food. There's always tea available. I agree with some of the other guests' reviews about this being more like a small hotel than a B&B. There were lots of people staying here and not a lot of conversation. The owner wasn't around to talk to and that's kind of what I usually get to do at a B&B-a bit more of a personal touch. But I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaureenandCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

533 - 537 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

This wonderful, immaculate Victorian B&B is in a quiet, residential neighborhood yet only one block from the restaurants and shops on State St. While the price may be a bit higher than other B&Bs, it is well worth it. Everything is first class - bedding, thick towels, terry-lined bathrobes, toiletries. One can even purchase the bathrobes - used for $50 or new for $90. Complimentary wine and hors d'oeuvres included yummy Indian curried eggs, veggies with dip, and the obligatory cheese and crackers. Breakfast during the week is continental with a cooked dish as well (full breakfast served on weekends). Amazing spread of fruits, etc. The grounds are beautiful, including a gazebo with outdoor hot tub. Free parking. The only disappointment was the lack of a house cat (contrary to the suggestive name).

Room Tip: Mock Turtle room was bright and exceedingly comfortable. All in blue and white motif.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhonda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed during the week and the breakfast was not a breakfast, had better at a Residency Inn. Expected a breakfast from a bed and breakfast. We stayed in a cottage and the bed was as hard as a rock. The innkeeper was friendly and the lights were left on when we arrived late. Location is close to great restaurants. Might want to try the IHOP for breakfast!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mom91733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheshireCatInn, Owner at Cheshire Cat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

We were disappointed not to have met your expectations. We do provide firm mattresses and will check this particular mattress to see if a replacement is necessary. We serve an expanded continental breakfast Monday through Friday which is popular with most guests, but your comments hasten us to update our web site with breakfast menus which will help to inform guests of their choices. We hope you will return to stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed here for one night, loved the outside (that's what gives the inn a 4 rather than a 3). It was a great location, yes a bit of a walk to the beach, but the weather is so nice is Santa Barbara who doesn't love a good walk!

Parking was easy and breakfast very tasty. However, this seems to be more a small hotel rather than b&b, there were many many guests staying.

The issue was the room decor. The rooms are terribly outdated and conjure up memories of a slightly creepy grandmother's house. The bed was comfortable and the room clean, but the pink bathroom tiles and old furniture need updating. If this inn revamped the rooms, it would be great. Overall a pleasant stay, but for the price, might look elsewhere next time we are in Santa Barbara.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheshireCatInn, Owner at Cheshire Cat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Thank you for your positive comments about the Inn and Santa Barbara. We regret that you did not have enough time to explore the Inn which has a wide variety of accommodation to choose from. Many of our rooms have just been updated with either wooden flooring or new carpeting and more contemporary furniture. The “Duchess’ is one of our classic rooms with English antique furnishings and a claw footed bathtub in the pink tiled bathroom. Historically, this room has been a favorite of many but I do take your comments into consideration. Perhaps, on your next visit to Santa Barbara you will try one of other rooms or cottages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Cozy. Pretty. Slightly eerie feeling, like the haunted mansion in Disneyland. Slept well though, the bed was great. The Dormouse room was definitely smaller than the other rooms, because I peeked at the other rooms ( they keep the doors open when the rooms aren't occupied). A very clean place which I love. Lots of places to sit around the B&B to just take in the beauty of the surroundings. Cynthia the innkeeper is a sweet and wonderful woman. The continental breakfast was great. Better than great. You can tell the owners of this B&B take pride in their space which I love. Felt more like spending the night at a family member's home rather than an impersonal hotel.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Hope n Shelbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 km away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
584 reviews
1.3 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,287 reviews
2.5 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,108 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
524 reviews
0.5 km away
The Upham Hotel & Country House
The Upham Hotel & Country House
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheshire Cat Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheshire Cat Inn

Address: 36 W Valerio St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range: ₹ 15,230 - ₹ 29,553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheshire Cat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheshire Cat Inn features two stately Queen Anne Victorian homes, an elegant coach house with two suites and four two bed-roomed cottages, all surrounded by lush flower filled gardens and patios. The Inn is situated just one block from Santa Barbara's main shopping street, which is full of attractive courtyards and alleys. The Old Mission is an easy 20-minute walk in one direction and the beach a brisk 40 minutes in the other. Each one of the sunny guest rooms and cottages is unique, with an individual charm and ranges from the elegant to the whimsical. Some are larger split-level junior suites with private balconies, some have in-room Jacuzzi s and fireplaces. This romantic Santa Barbara inn also features flat screen LCD/DVD, ironing boards and refrigerators. There is free Wi-Fi and parking. All rooms have private baths and direct dial telephones. The rates include breakfast and local wines and hors d'oeuvres daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cheshire Cat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheshire Cat Hotel Santa Barbara
Cheshire Cat Bed Breakfast
Cheshire Cat Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing