We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lovely hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Canary Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Lovely hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

I was very pleased with my stay at Canary. The hotel was beautiful and the location was great. The staff was wonderful-friendly and knowledgable. I would most definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ms95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    209
    61
    17
    6
See reviews for
189
536
34
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

So happy that Canary is now part of the Kimpton family. I stayed here years ago and it was so so at best. It was a delight to walk into the lobby to the familiar Kimpton fragrance. Staff is typical Kimpton perfection. Desk staff Ivania, Beau and Wesley were all stand outs over the course of our stay. Valet boys were Also excellent. The room was spotless and romantic. Lather bath products were nice, retro matches to light in room candles was a nice touch (they ended up in my bag) Do yourself a favor and get a suite, the smaller rooms, though beautifully appointed, are small... And my biggest peeve ever, louvered bathroom doors! Wood and tile floors are flawlessly clean, but those damn doors transmit sound.... Fine if you're staying alone. Luckily we upgraded, after seeing our initial room, to a one bedroom suite which was lovely. Ask for an outside facing window as it can be a bit dark otherwise. Location is perfect. Basically on state street... Unfortunately, SB like Santa Monica has not dealt with the homeless and stoners on its main drag, luckily they're mostly harmless, but disruptive none the less. Rooftop pool was a killer setting with amazing views, but they rent it out to private parties which makes it awkward to sunbathe poolside when a wedding is taking place. Coast bar service was friendly, bar snacks were unimpressive. "ceviche" was a pile of raw fish in an unremarkable marinade. Overall, this hotel is excellent, typical Kimpton experience with amazing beds, pillows and staff. There's a reason I've become a Kimpton junkie, my partner understood that after this weekend.

Room Tip: Get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aguyinthe818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canary S, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear aguyinthe818,

We are loving you! Thanks for all the great comments, I will pass along to our super star staff! Really happy you stayed and hope to see you again soon. Glad you are a fan! Best wishes, Laura M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

Loved this hotel. Very cheerful and a large room. Very clean. Easy access to State street with lots of shopping and food choices as well. Loved it!
FYI its a Kimpton hotel if you would like to look for others in different locations!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schafer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

In town for one night in Santa Barbara. Choices are- old motels, some run down, some well kept and quite sweet- but still a motel, hotel Santa Barbara ( with no pool), a couple of large full service chains - doubletree, hyatt, four seasons, numerous B and B's and romantic charming inns but few options in the midsize, full service boutique hotel properties. This is why the Canary is such a find. It has a nice restaurant/bar, valet, room service, pool and lovely rooms/bathrooms with everything you need. Service, from valet to room service has been friendly and responsive. It's in a great location- walking distance to State St. There is a gym next door that you have free use of and a lovely day spa one block away. I just came back from there after a massage. I have not used my car since I got here.
Suggestions: there is not nearly enough light in the room. Don't think I could read an actual book in bed. Luckily I brought my iPad. The rooms need small tables to eat at. I am eating at the little writing desk but if my husband were here one of us would be eating on the bed.
Lastly, the room was expensive for what it is - but it is a one night stay over a holiday weekend and in SB - so it's kind of expected. Bottom line- I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

My wife and I stayed in a 5th floor superior guest room with 1 king bed for 2 nights. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was quite, despite being located on the corner of two main streets. We were on vacation, and a quite room was important. The hotel was centrally located in-town, very close to State Street, and within walking distance of several great restaurants and shops. The rooftop deck and pool were beautiful, and the service we experienced for both breakfast and afternoon cocktails at the downstairs restaurant/bar was excellent. My only constructive criticism that I could offer would be: (i) the size of my particular guest room (very small, and I would recommend a room category that is bigger); (ii) lighting in my guest room and in the bathroom were not great (more lighting fixtures of higher wattage would help, especially because of the canopy draping the bed and the fact that my room had one small window); and (iii) I did not think the concierge service was great (frankly, I do not even know if there was a concierge, and believe that function may have been performed by the front desk, which was helpful but I did not feel that I received the best advice on area restaurants and attractions).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowman321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.6 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
2.1 km away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
1.5 km away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
5.7 km away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#15 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Canary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Canary Hotel

Property: Kimpton Canary Hotel
Address: 31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,956 - ₹ 46,079
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Canary Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the most stylish place to land in Santa Barbara? Come to the Canary Hotel. Nestled near State Street’s galleries, shops and restaurants, this fun-filled, full-service boutique hotel is a short stroll from beautiful beaches and a quick drive to wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Kimpton Canary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canary Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Canary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing