We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, questionable attitude to the environment ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Beachside Inn
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights en route to San Francisco. Considering the very high prices, the hotel appears fairly shabby in terms of paintwork. The room was OK but unspectacular, with the exception of the very comfortable bed. However, in the light of California's severe drought, it was irritating that, although a sign specifically advised guests to leave towels hanging on the rail if they didn't want them changed (which we duly did as we didn't), when we returned to the room we found a complete set of new towels and toiletries, although the others had hardly been touched. This was very poor and disappointing.
The breakfast was poor quality, made even less appealing by the shockingly wasteful use of paper plates and bowls and plastic cutlery. Saving on staff costs is apparently more important than the environment. Large chains like these would do well to change some of their more destructive policies.
The staff members were friendly and courteous.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank HattieR1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

Hi Hattie,
Your honesty is very much appreciated by the entire staff. Allow me please to clarify things just a bit. Our drought issue is huge here, and one of our new housekeepers we had found out didn't fully understand our linen requirements and had made numerous linen changes before we had the chance to correct her. Sorry you didn't enjoy breakfast but as you can see from our hundreds of reviews, most are extremely satisfied. But most importantly, please note that all our breakfast utensils are recycled daily as well as our plates and bowls made of fully recycled materials. We do our part as best as possible with in our operating constraints to help the environment. Thanks again for your honesty. It gives us additional food for thought. HJRobbins - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,009)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 183 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night (wish we could have stayed longer!). Great location, just a few steps from West Beach. Comfortable beds. Good breakfast. Only thing we did not like was the price; we booked short notice during the Spanish Days festival....

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank sylver1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

Hi there,
Yes the price during Old Spanish days or as we call it Fiesta Weekend is sort of akin to the Superbowl Weekend! And believe it or not, our pricing remained on the lower end of everything. Come visit now and feel relieved :) HJRobbins - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Booked at the Best Western Beachside for a overnight getaway for some wine and golf over the last weekend. Found the hotel on the site as a place with easy beach access and in the price we were looking for. I was a perfect spot for us as it was close to the Funk Zone and beach and had a great view of the harbor and the pier. Room was clean and there was a nice breakfast available before we headed to I the links. Nothing fancy, but the area has plenty to offer and this was a great spot to relax after a day in Santa Barbara

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Mccbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

Hi Guys,
Glad you enjoyed the Funk Zone and found our location perfect. There is so much more to do here so come back soon and visit now that you know where to find us!!
HJRobbins - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We had a great experience at this hotel. It is in a great location with a friendly knowledgeable staff. the room was comfortable and we slept great. We will definently be staying here again and I will be letting everyone know that it is a great place.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kenneth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

Wow! You're my new marketing manager. You're hired. Tell everyone!
Thanks Ken! I heard we'll be seeing you soon. I hope so!! HJRobbins - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

When you're at a gorgeous seaside town as Santa Barbara, hoping to enjoy the beach and water sports, you don't want to commute in and out of the boulevard strip. You want to wake up, smell the surf and walk out onto the beach whenever you like. This hotel offers just that. Great ocean facing rooms, good parking, everything you need within walking distance. It costs a few dollars extra, but for the real Californian beach experience, a location like this one is indispensable. It is well kept, clean and the staff is nice.

Room Tip: Ocean view and the far en of the corridors (for instance room 304) will give the best value for mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Terryfrom75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

Hi Terry,
You're making me blush and I don't even know you.
I guess and hope we'll see you again soon!
THANKS SO MUCH!! HJRobbins - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
490 reviews
6.2 km away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
3.4 km away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
2.5 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
0.1 km away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#28 of 52 in Santa Barbara
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Beachside Inn

Address: 336 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3855
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: ₹ 8,891 - ₹ 20,231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Beachside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Beachside Inn, perfectly located just across the street and a few minutes walking distance from the harbor, pier and beaches of Santa Barbara. From our fantastic location, you can also enjoy a beautiful walk to "downtown" Santa Barbara, and experience all our world class dining and shopping. And to make life even easier, the Santa Barbara beachfront/downtown electric shuttle is available at our front door if you're planning to have an even more relaxing day while visiting. Our 60 room hotel will be sure to offer you the quaint charm, which represents Santa Barbara's essence. But we also offer some of the most modern conveniences. From our very hi-speed internet, to a fabulous continental breakfast and the latest in air conditioning / heating systems, we are all confident you will have a memorable visit here in Santa Barbara all handled by our fabulous staff.We look forward to welcoming all of you to our wonderful littleescape by the sea in beautiful Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Best Western Beachside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beachside Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing