We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Time”

Review of Tranqui-La

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Santa Barbara, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Luiza F
Fortaleza do Tabocao, TO
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Time”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We love our stay in Tranqui-la!
The house is very comfortable, charming and has an optimal energy!
Kitchen is wonderful and fully equipped.
My only consideration is the absence of curtains, which takes away some of our privacy.
Our season was fantastic!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and location
Liked least: Mattresses and absence of curtais.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindseyLS
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
“Something for everyone!”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed here with a mix of adults and young children. This house offered something for everyone! The adults enjoyed an array of amenities from fully equipped kitchen (even a state of the art espresso machine!), incredible views, comfortable bedding, and amazing sound system all while the kids where have a blast in the pool and playing any one of the many games that was supplied in a closet full of toys and fun for the kids! This house is far enough away from the hustle and bustle to wind down and relax but close enough for a quick drive to shopping, beach, zoo, and many others that surround this beautiful area. We would stay again in a heartbeat!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B
Gilroy, California
1 review
“Awesome Tranqui-La”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This house with its tremendous hilltop views of the Santa Barbara harbor and coastline was the perfect setting for my wife's surprise 60th birthday party. Our family thoroughly enjoyed all of the amenities - huge, spacious kitchen, fantastic music sound system, hot tub, pool, etc. The modern architectural design, wide-open balconies, made everyone feel comfortable and relaxed. Just a real special place.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport
Reviewed 19 January 2013 for a stay in November 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PASCAL H
Suresnes, France
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 673 helpful votes
“STUNNING & BEAUTIFUL WITH ODDITIES”
Reviewed 15 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We had dreamed looking at the online pictures when we booked, and we were not disappointed when we actually got there. Photos barely make it justice. Obviously inspired by Frank LLoyd Wright, this house is absolutely beautiful. Breathtaking. Huge, think massive, especially in the perspective that we were only a party of 3. We spent our first hour walking the house in circles to find a crashing point. High ceilings, commanding views, filled with light. Luxuriously appointed.
It can accomodate 8 people, although I would only think proper for a family with kids. The master bedroom is way better than the 3 others, and 2 are really for kids. It seems difficult to share this house in all fairness with friends, or taking turns in the best bedroom ...

We usually wtay at the Four Seasons Biltmore in Montecito when we are here, but it was fully booked, and amazingly, the only 3 nights available in August at Tranqui-La were those we needed. At $975++ nightly, it also turned out cheaper than having 2 rooms there, and we had all that space, and no kid from fellow guests to jump and scream in the pool. We ate out all the time. We felt we had a whole hotel to us.

It is a fabulous place for a great vacation. Downtown SB is minutes away, with convenience shopping everywhere. The ocean is right there. But who would really need to go out, when renting wuch a place.

Still there are a few oddities in that house, where you would think no expense has been spared :
all cooking utensils were cheap to start with, and have been thoroughly used, as previous reviewer remarks. A house this class would deserve no less than All-Clad. Today, they should only be called garbage.
only four loungers by the pool. No design or brand here, they just seem right out of a cheap RV at a boot camp.
From a decor perspective, some interior designer dumped 3-4 pieces of furniture (dining room, TV room, ...) from a european flea market. Probably from the late 1930s, with cheap marquetry. They are horrible, always have been, and totally out of place there. Strange, as the rest is beautiful.
Sound system in the house is difficult to work out, including the TV. Last minute savings have been made here. Heard of B&O, with all controls in a button ?

Cleanliness was absolutely perfect. But same as previous reviewer, the pool seemed kind of dirty when we arrived, and littered with kid toys. Plus a number of facilities and appliances were not working (1 bathtub out of 2, 1 dishwasher with 3 inches of water sitting in the bottom, ice machine, water buildong up in the main bathroom shower stall). We called, and called again, and nothing was fixed. No one from management managed to talk to us, although honesty has it they made it up when I got back in Paris.

Major gripe, but I hear this will be changed : no drapes/curtains/shades anywhere in the house. This means waking up at dawn. This also means limited intimacy, as anyone from your party can get to your window. This is a design option from the owner, which the agency decided to keep silent at the time of our booking. If you need black-out to sleep, as we do, then you are in a bad place. If we had known before, it would have been a no go for us. But we had to make do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Design, view, style.
Liked least: No curtains
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing