We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
327
25
7
0
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
25
7
0
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews east beach homemade breakfast great hosts great location owner greg a great overnight stay baked items sparkling pool banana cake hardwood floors absolutely stay here again an extra night walk in closet place to stay every morning comfortable beds short walk to the beach
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 367 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2018

My husband and I were fortunate to spend 5 nights recently at the Pacific Crest Hotel. We couldn't have been happier with our room (queen upper level--nice patio space, though public--and even a lovely view from our large window of the Pacific Ocean a block away!). The recently renovated hotel was super comfortable with a breezy, beachy aesthetic, great bedding and sparkling clean throughout. Don't be put off by the (what some might see as "dated") mid-century modern style of the motel ---it has a unique Santa Barbara style charm, is fresh and inviting, and the feel more of a family-run Bed and Breakfast---definitely not a "chain" hotel experience. It is apparent that the hosts/owners are very-hands on, and care very much for their inn, and the comfort of their guests. We were welcomed warmly and felt that our needs were being looked after all during our stay. We used the pool on more than one occasion, and found it to be so clean, with a great water temperature---very enjoyable! Greg, our host, very nicely greeted our son and baby granddaughter who came for a poolside visit one day, and made them feel very welcome---which we appreciated! We also appreciated the wonderful breakfast provided every morning---it was light but plentiful, with wonderful coffee, fruit, and delicious homemade breads such as strawberry, cinnamon streusel, and a banana cake that was out-of-this-world! Every day we were there, there was Irish soda bread with great butter, and an egg and cheese dish as well. Guests could eat their breakfast at small tables near the pool, or take it back to their rooms. The entire staff was wonderful---attentive and friendly.
As far as the location, it really couldn't get much better (short of being right on the beach---but given the location 1 block away, we thought the Pacific Crest was a very good value). We enjoyed daily walks along the beach---it is a beautiful walking/biking path that runs for a couple of miles down to the harbor. The hotel also has bikes to rent! We also enjoyed visiting the Santa Barbara zoo which is a short walk, and is one of the nicest zoos we have visited---it is not huge, but has plenty of animals to see, and is also like a Botanical Garden. It is also just a short distance to downtown Santa Barbara with so many restaurants, museums and shopping.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Pacific Crest Motel, highly recommend it, and we look forward to returning on our next visit. (Hopefully, Jennifer's banana cake will be on the breakfast menu!)

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank laura714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg and Jennif... M, Owner at Pacific Crest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

WOW ...what a review :) Thank you Laura. We are so pleased you two found us and had a great stay. We strive to make certain that all our guests are comfortable and have a wonderful Santa Barbara experience.
Thank for being so kind and passing your experience on to others on TripAdvisor.
We really hope you can come back again soon. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

My husband and I spent four night in late February at the Pacific Crest Hotel. We would love to return!

The Hotel is a mid-century style building located only a block from East Beach. The property has been in owner Greg’s family … I believe continually. It is immaculately cared for, and very light and airy in feel. The bedroom and bathroom were not huge, but certainly adequate and very nicely appointed. Our stay included a weekend; even so, we were never bothered by noise from either the street or other guests.

The owners Greg and Jennifer live onsite and are very involved and concerned that their guests are well treated. When we mentioned that the wi-fi in our otherwise wonderful room was weak, he had the providers come the next day to attend to this problem.

The breakfasts!!!! Jennifer is a super baker. Greg said that her baked goods had been awarded 1st place in … I believe …. the Santa Barbara County Fair. Her breakfast offerings certainly rank #1 for us! Greg’s oatmeal blend is delicious, especially on cool mornings. They also serve their own proprietary-blend coffee crafted by the local Santa Barbara Roasting Company. There is no indoor seating for breakfast (other than one’s own room) but even on cool mornings in February we were comfortable eating outside.

We loved our stay (can you tell?) and hope to return!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg and Jennif... M, Owner at Pacific Crest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you very much Suzanne. We really glad you two had a wonderful stay with us here at the PCH. As the owners we do take a lot of pride in our property and do all we can to assure the comfort of our guest.
Thank you so much for finding us and passing it on to TripAdvisor future guests. We hope you can return again soon. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

The service was a cut above! We were welcomed warmly by the owner, helped w/our luggage, and walked to our room, where the heat had been turned on for us prior to our arrival! The room was lovely - newly redone, great natural lighting, VERY clean, cute, comfy bed, and nice, QUIET neighborhood! The location couldn't have been more perfect for us. We arrived by train and walked 1 mile to the hotel, along the ocean! Greg, the owner, was very friendly and accommodating. Daniel made our trip extra special by being so kind, and genuinely caring. We very much enjoyed our stay because of him, and can't wait to go back. The most pleasant surprise of all was the Continental breakfast, which consisted of all homemade items by the owner's wife - a chef! everything was delicious! You won't find this kind of service or attention to detail anywhere else in Santa Barbara!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Venture758384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg and Jennif... M, Owner at Pacific Crest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

You two are so wonderful... THANK YOU. We received your internal review as well. Thank you so much for staying with us. We're very happy you did. We're glad you had was nice stay with us at the PCH and truly look forward to the day you come back and stay again.
Thank you again and take good care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

Everything was exemplary with one minor hiccup: I had to call the front desk at 4pm to get cleaning staff to refresh the room on the second day of our stay despite having the 'please tidy' sign on door for all of the afternoon. Otherwise, the room and staff were wonderful. Very helpful staff. Pool was heated and great to use in the middle of February. Room was comfy. Location is excellent: just a short walk to East Beach.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johnaE8780ZU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg and Jennif... M, Owner at Pacific Crest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thank you for that great review. We're so please you found the PCH and enjoyed your stay with us.
We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and service, as well as our clean comfy rooms.
We hope you make it back this way and stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

It’s a pretty cool trick that these guys are pulling off: running a two star beach motel like the Ritz Carlton.

Our stay began with a warm greeting from the owner, who proceeded to escort us to our room and personally show us all of the details.

While the suite is small, they have filled it with top quality furnishings and decorations; the bathroom has new fixtures, and the water pressure and showerhead are excellent. The price includes a very nice breakfast.

The location, just a block from the beach, couldn’t be better.

Well done, and a great value.

We’d definitely stay here again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank El_Pelicano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg and Jennif... M, Owner at Pacific Crest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

No tricks :) Just good old fashioned care and service. We love our place and our guests.
Thank you for noticing. We're glad you found us, and had a great stay at the PCH. Clean comfortable rooms... always. People come to Santa Barbara and pay good money and want a nice place to stay... they should get one.
Thank you for the wonderful review and we hope you come back our way again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews