We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad price considering the location!”
Review of Ala Mar Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ala Mar Motel
Ranked #49 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed 27 June 2012

A spur of the moment booking upon arrival in Santa Barbara. The staff were friendly and welcoming, the location perfect (on the sea front) and the room a good size.
Contrary to other reports, no sign of bed bugs and the room was pretty clean. Comfy bed and a lovely big flat screen tv.
Breakfast was basic and the terrace set aside for eating/sunbathing could do with a spruce up and there was litter lying around.
Overall not a bad place- great staff too.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

I went into this paying a top price for a popular weekend in summer. I went into this knowing there were many bad reviews on various sites online. I still kept the reservation because I'm super low-maintenance when it comes to what I expect and knew I wouldn't be in room but to sleep.

I arrived after a long drive from out of state. I had called just to confirm things as I drove an hour earlier. The young man at desk told me I needed to check in by 11pm for them to be there (?). I arrived at 9:30pm and was met with a locked office door and note that they'd be "back in 5 mints". After 10 minutes I started pacing around office and the office desk boy who is hanging out on cellphone near car says 'oh...I didn't see you" and comes back across parkinglot to check me in.

He asks if I'm paying cash, he let's pit bull dog out of a back room to roam around me, and I get the weird feeling there is somethink funky going on here...or do I actually smell somethink funky?!

Key to room is exchanged and I decide to not carry anything to room...but to just go check it. My dissapointment was multiplied by shear exhaustion...and I was so disgusted. My room was like an old dumpy thrift store, and smelled just like one too. The bedding was gross...old stained, very worn. Black mildew around grout on tub. An inch under the door is open with wind coming in under door (freaky...what else is going to creap in?!) But thebolt clincher...an old metal ket that opens the door from the OUTSIDE only with nothing...absolutely nothing to deadbolt door from inside. So, whoever has copies of key can come right on in.

I leave the gross room...and present to the office where the young man actually agrees to refund my debit card because I state it is UNSAFE. I believe he complied because the police officer now in office would have assisted me if needed. The multiple ambulances and police cars were another layer of this hellish experience, but the hotel may or may not be able to stop what goes on in rooms.

This hotel is not what anyone booking an expensive beachfront property expects....it is like a hostel or worse.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wd7375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This place is more Shabby than Chic! Run dont walk to another Hotel. The room smells like a fish tank! tiles falling off the walls, noisy, the hairdryer shot flames out the end. Furniture old and stained, pictures falling out of the frames towels 2 only (the size of hand towels) no wash cloths or hand towels, Hot room with no air conditioner or phone....Face it bad experience...I asked the staff for more towels and never got them. Expensive room for the quality. We wouldnt have stayed but it was graduation weekend at the college we were stuck!

Seriously stay away!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stoneyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I went from these reviews and booked the "nicest" room in the place. When we got there, the folks running the place were sketchy, but we checked in anyway. When we went to the room it had food in the microwave from the previous guests, it smelled and looked dirty and the ceiling fan in the room (there was one in the picture) was gone and the wires were just hanging there. There were no curtains on the windows above the bath tub. We immediately went back to the desk clerk and asked for a refund. He told us he couldn't give it to us and gave me the owners name and phone number. The owner wouldn't answer his phone and his voice mail box was full so I couldn't leave a message. I went back to the desk clerk and he gave me the managers name and phone number and it was basically the same story, except I was able to leave a message for her. No one ever returned my calls and I am now disputing the charges on my credit card. We ended up staying at one of the other hotels with a beach view and although we paid a little bit more, I felt it was a much better value. I don't know what these people who are leaving good reviews saw, but this place is completly scummy.

Room Tip: There isn't one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krista C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We strolled into town late at night looking for a place to stay over night not realizing where we were in Santa Barbara. They had vacancies and since it was so late we got a good deal. Front desk staff weren't the most professional, but there were nice. I know it's California, but was a little suprised to smell a strong "Purple Haze" kind of smell when I walked into the hotel office...thought it would have been from a guest room. Overall the room was very quaint and dated, except for the large flat screen tv and wifi. The decor was older, the beds are in need of being replaced and the bathroom shower head is good if your are 5'2" or under. But, the motel is right across from the beach and they have a great second floor open patio that was facing the ocean. When you take all of this into consideration I would rate this place average, if you are looking for a place to stay more than a few nights I would look somewhere else until they replace the beds.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mista D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 km away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,020 reviews
0.4 km away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#29 of 52 in Santa Barbara
405 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
#28 of 52 in Santa Barbara
519 reviews
0.4 km away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
797 reviews
0.4 km away
Days Inn Santa Barbara
Days Inn Santa Barbara
#33 of 52 in Santa Barbara
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala Mar Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Mar Motel

Address: 102 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3505
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: ₹ 9,045 - ₹ 15,032 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ala Mar Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location next to the beach and State St. We're a small boutique motel. Some rooms have private a jacuzzi. Most rooms have the beach view. We also have rooms with full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ala Mar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Mar Hotel Santa Barbara
Ala Mar Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing