We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Cute small Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montecito Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montecito Inn
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
socal
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cute small Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Went away for the weekend with the wife for a weekend getaway. Hotel was small but cozy. Room we had was very small. Bathroom was also very small. You could hear your neighbors very clear at night. Short walking distance to a couple of restaurants and shops. Great customer service and nice views of the mountains. Also a short walk down to the beach. Nice free continental breakfast every morning. Will return back in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickrae60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    202
    85
    39
    28
See reviews for
107
286
23
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Our family of four stayed there and loved it. The bellman are all very helpful with information and accomodations. There are free cruiser bikes with baskets to check out and we made great use of these. It is a very short bike ride to Butterfly beach across from the Four Seasons Biltmore. There is a path along the waterfront in Santa Barbara where lots of healthy, active people are playing volleyball, riding surreys, skateboarding in an enclosed skate park, flying kites or just enjoying the beach and great weather. This hotel is not cheap, but our parking, bikes, and continental breakfast were included. The pool area is small, but the water is warm, compared to many outdoor hotel pools. The front desk offered us Charlie Chaplin dvds to watch, so we ordered room service dinner and ate at the table in our room. Then we all climbed on the four post bed and settled in to watch old movies. The kids slept on roll away twin beds. There are wonderful boutiques and restaurants on the same street as the hotel. I recommend Jeanine's Bakery for brunch or lunch. Fresh and delicious. There is a pharmacy across the street, which is convenient in case you need more sunscreen like we did! We have stayed in other hotels in Santa Barbara and I would stay at the Montecito Inn again. We found the train noise to be less noticeable here than at the Biltmore, the Hyatt or Fess Parkers. If you want to be close to State Street, this is not the hotel for you. It is in the sleepier Montecito area, and we loved that. It is easy to get around and I highly recommend biking here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cba2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

The room was very cozy and the bed was super comfortable. HOWEVER, when the train came whizzing by at 3 am, it scared the Bejesus out of my husband and I. I think the front desk should give guests a head's up on the train track being right next to the hotel. Other than that, enjoyable stay. P.S. The car valets were the best!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GigiFromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

I booked a room for two nights at the Montecito Inn several months back. This isn't an inexpensive hotel, but I was intrigued by the history and thought that a quiet inn within walking distance of some nice restaurants would be a nice way to end our California vacation. We were first placed in a room at the end of the hall which faced the afternoon sun and the highway. It was over 80 degrees in the room, and when we searched for the A/C control, we couldn't find it. We called the front desk and learned that there is no a/c in rooms other than suites. They had a few box fans left that we could borrow. That being unacceptable, we were shown to another room overlooking the kitchen exhaust vents which was no cooler. After a quick check to see if another hotel was available (and was), we decided to just check out. The manager asked if I wanted him to prepare a bill. For....what, I asked? I was informed that we were inside the 7-day cancellation period and would forfeit one night. When I asked why they did not advise travelers that there was no air conditioning, he said that was up to marketing. They showed us to a third room, which had a mountain and front street view. Although it was smaller, it was much cooler. I got the impression that moving guests to multiple rooms happens quite a lot. Understand - during a warm summer day, you have to leave the windows open. We decided to stay when we were promised a move to a suite the next day. I should mention that the bathrooms in the old section are tiny - as in european size. The next morning, we met the breakfast boss. He was compulsive about arranging the muffins and pastries, especially if you moved something. He would hover over you while you toasted your bagel, and to our astonishment, would pick up your bagel with his hands and bring it to your table on a napkin. No joke. My wife's eyes nearly popped out of her head. We sat and watched as he arranged and rearranged the pastries - even when no one had come into the room for a while. They block off a portion of the hotel's restaurant to use for the continental breakfast, and if the few tables not blocked off aren't enough, then guests just have to take their breakfast back to their rooms. So - we moved to our third room which was the suite. Totally different environment. Huge bathroom, huge bedroom, huge sitting room with fireplace and 2 tv's - and a/c. Like you are in a different hotel. I get the quaint feel of an old hotel, and really like experiencing places like this. But I do think that the 7-day cancellation policy traps a lot of people (we weren't the only complainers at the front desk...) who would otherwise opt for a room with air conditioning. We were told that 99% of the time, the weather in Santa Barbara doesn't require a/c. I understand that, but not on the days when you do need a/c...which is when I was there. We just needed to know so we could make a better decision.

Room Tip: Book a suite. Don't leave your bagel unattended. Try the cafe for dinner...excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GeorgiaBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
233 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We booked a standard room. It looks charming and is comfortable. What isn't great is that the television is old, old, old with poor reception, even though they must have cable because they claim they have HBO. Further, in our room, there is no booklet or instructions regarding the hotel including but not limited to amenities, emergency procedures and tv channels. Further, there is it air conditioning except a few rooms and they don't inform you of that. Although there mate a beach breeze, you hear highway noise and there is no cross ventilation.

Room Tip: Ask and pay for luxury room or you don't get air-conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bitler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
4.7 km away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#14 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
5.3 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
5.7 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
6.1 km away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
6.3 km away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecito Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Inn

Property: Montecito Inn
Address: 1295 Coast Village Rd, Santa Barbara, CA 93108-2791
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,582 - ₹ 26,757
Hotel Class:4 star — Montecito Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montecito Inn was built in 1928 by screen legend Charlie Chaplin as an escape to paradise for his closest friends. Enriched with influences reminiscent of early Santa Barbara, guest rooms are a reflection of the Montecito Inn's proud history and tradition. Bedrooms decorated with classic patterns and furnishings in warm earth tones and bathrooms adorned with hand-painted ceramic tile create an elegant ambiance. The Montecito Inn offers the perfect blend of classic style, comfort, convenience, and personalized service. Wake up in the morning to a continental breakfast served in the hotel's restaurant, the Montecito Cafe, or have it delivered to your door. Enjoy lunch and dinner at the Montecito Cafe, a local favorite, which boasts an exquisite California Nouveau cuisine. Other fine dining is also available only a walk away. Relax by the pool and Jacuzzi, or walk only 2.5 Blocks to the beach. Also enjoy the day in Montecito, one of America's most beautiful seaside communities, with boutique shopping. Featuring 61 Elegant Guest Rooms & Luxury Suites, the Montecito Inn offers all of the quality, service and elegance that Santa Barbara has to offer. Our staff is waiting to help satisfy your every desire. Today, the escape is yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Montecito Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing