We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service with a smile!”
Review of Montecito Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montecito Inn
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service with a smile!”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Our family recently stayed at the Montecito Inn for Parents Weekend at a local college. The service by the front desk staff and the valet attendants was perfect. No complaints.

As for the comment of snobs - we didn't see it. I watched the valets and front desk staff treat everyone fairly - from the BMWs and Jaguars that arrived to the (less expensive cars which I won't name). All were treated with great courtesy.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coffeemama6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    285
    116
    56
    34
See reviews for
184
421
33
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The Montecito Inn is useful to know about because it is a nice, clean, stylish hotel on the charming, upscale Lower Coast road of Montecito, about 10 minutes from State Street and the beach.

The hotel is well managed, clean and comfortable but is not a luxury hotel. Because it is an older hotel the rooms are smaller and the bathrooms are cramped. There is no air conditioning in the average room. There is a minibar with a refrigerator in each room. In my opinion, it is located too far from the beach to use as a beach hotel.

The front rooms overlook the street and offer a mountain view along with some traffic noise. There is no other view. The back rooms over look a roof and the neighborhood; one side overlooks a street and another the buildings next door.

There is not much interior public space but there is a pool area where people like to congregate in good weather. Space around the lobby fireplace is mostly taken by diners waiting for the Montecito Café known for very good food at reasonable prices. There is also a nice bar.

There is a rickety old elevator, which may annoy some people that I found charming.

Breakfast is provided by the hotel and included in the room rate but it is a very poor continental affair, perhaps the worse such breakfast I have had. Valet parking is indoor. The hotel is said to have been built in 1928 by Charlie Chaplin the silent and sound movie comedian.

Occasionally there are very good rates which is why it should be remembered. We would stay there again but it would not be our first choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voxpopla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed a night in this hotel for business. Great character and interesting history, nice period furnishings, comfortable bed, very quiet ceiling fan that helped to circulate air in the room, and very good complimentary breakfast. Downside is no convenient plug to power up your devices (only found one free plug in the whole room, except for a plug in the tiny bathroom). Also in my third floor tiny bathroom that faced the street, the shower window was only frosted halfway up, so I could see people out the window across the street when I was showering which meant they could see me (my shoulders and head anyway) lathering up. Turned off the bathroom lights and showered in the semi dark for some privacy. Also due to bad acoustics of the historic hotel, the road noise was considerable as were the intimate sounds coming from the couple in the room next to me.... I'd stay in this hotel again though, but would take some earplugs next time!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jefsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I tried to book two rooms for 6 people, I person heard this over the phone just hang up the phone immediately. I guess he was assuming I was saving money to jam more people into one room.

I called back 3 times, they either don't answer or put me on hold.

Avoid this place of pathetic snobs at all cost.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryL33020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_Copus, Director of Sales at Montecito Inn, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Our hotel greatly values group bookings and has the accommodations to meet the needs of this reviewer. There is no reason we would have just hung up the phone and not booked his reservations. We would never disrespect any potential guests. We wish to welcome everyone to our hotel and provide them with the best service and accommodations any traveler can expect from a luxury hotel. The call must have lost connection and when he called back, our staff was busy and he was put on hold. However, we do apologize for the inconvenience this reviewer experienced. We pride ourselves in our professionalism and friendly service. Guests continue to come back because they know they can expect attentive service and to be taken care of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
212 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Great inn, super cute, comfortable with every amenity desired. the perfect location to walk around town and enjoy the Montecito community. Rooms are lovely, queen bed, sitting area, Nice TV, adequate bathroom, bright, highly functional. Price is very reasonable for the area, out the door $165.Daily parking is free, overnight $8. 24 hour coffee bar and tea, as well as continental breakfast provided with stay. Gym was excellent, plenty of cardio equipment, weights, stretching area, Television. the location and the area is one of the cutest I have seen in the country. Restaurants were excellent, Lucky's, and Tre Luna were excellent, a little pricey but high quality.

Room Tip: I chose Mountain view and close to the gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlm456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
5.7 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
3.0 km away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
4.7 km away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#30 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
5.3 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
2.7 km away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecito Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Inn

Property: Montecito Inn
Address: 1295 Coast Village Rd., Santa Barbara, CA 93108-2791
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,716 - ₹ 77,722
Hotel Class:4 star — Montecito Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montecito Inn was built in 1928 by screen legend Charlie Chaplin as an escape to paradise for his closest friends. Enriched with influences reminiscent of early Santa Barbara, guest rooms are a reflection of the Montecito Inn's proud history and tradition. Bedrooms decorated with classic patterns and furnishings in warm earth tones and bathrooms adorned with hand-painted ceramic tile create an elegant ambiance. The Montecito Inn offers the perfect blend of classic style, comfort, convenience, and personalized service. Wake up in the morning to a continental breakfast served in the hotel's restaurant, the Montecito Cafe, or have it delivered to your door. Enjoy lunch and dinner at the Montecito Cafe, a local favorite, which boasts an exquisite California Nouveau cuisine. Other fine dining is also available only a walk away. Relax by the pool and Jacuzzi, or walk only 2.5 Blocks to the beach. Also enjoy the day in Montecito, one of America's most beautiful seaside communities, with boutique shopping. Featuring 61 Elegant Guest Rooms & Luxury Suites, the Montecito Inn offers all of the quality, service and elegance that Santa Barbara has to offer. Our staff is waiting to help satisfy your every desire. Today, the escape is yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Montecito Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing