We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Montecito Inn
Nearby Hotels
Santa Barbara Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$ 301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$ 265
US$ 239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$ 283
US$ 251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Ramada Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$ 213
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond El Encanto(Santa Barbara)
US$ 661
US$ 621
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$ 365
US$ 348
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kimpton Canary Hotel(Santa Barbara)
US$ 356
US$ 323
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$ 223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 616
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Simpson House Inn(Santa Barbara)
US$ 437
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,142)
Filter reviews
1,142 results
Traveller rating
516
354
147
81
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
516
354
147
81
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscharlie chaplintower suitebutterfly beachhonor barcharming hotelcoast village roadrooms are smallcontinental breakfastcomplimentary bikesmountain viewshops and restaurantsceiling fanthe santa barbara areastreet noiseshort walk to the beachbed was very comfortablethe main street
Filter
Updating list...
992 - 997 of 1,142 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2012

This old hotel with its rickety elevator and Charlie Chaplin décor exudes charm. We took advantage of off season rates and stayed in a suite. The suite was apparently created from two small rooms, as it had an entrance and a bathroom at either end. It’s a real treat not to have to share a hotel bathroom, but it was a little noisy at night and in the morning.

The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The free continental breakfast was adequate, but not as good as in prior years.

The hotel is located in the heart of Montecito Village, which hosts a plethora of interesting restaurants and beautiful offices.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alswed44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Montecito Inn is a lovely small hotel at the main corner of Montecito which is adjacent to Santa Barbara. It is a reasonably priced hotel in a very expensive city. While the rooms are not large or resort-like, they are perfectly adequate. For those who have rooms in the back be prepared to hear the highway, but we find that we get used to that and it was not disturbing. All in all, we have now gone there a couple of times and would go back again.

The place was build by Charlie Chaplin and friends so it tries to capitalize on that a bit. I understand why they do that. It adds some history to the place but not much else. They offer a simple free breakfast at the adjoining Montecito Restaurant, which is good. Parking is only $8/night.

Room Tip: If you care, ask (and pay for) a room that does not border the back of the property so as to avoid the noise from Highway 101 behind it.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DetroitLouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Our stay at the rustic Monticito inn was a huge dissappointment. We were in room #310, which is in the back of the hotel. It was way to noisey (101 freeway), in need of a remodel, and just basic maintenance. It was obvious the bathroom window had been repaired, as there were screws sticking out every direction, but it was off it's track and did'nt work. We can except how cramped it was because of the age, but not having hot water is unexceceptable and irritating. The sitting chairs were tatttered and the TV was a joke (old and grainy picture), the refrigerator was on the floor in the way, and the place needed some painting done. There were other issues like the weird fireplace and the elevator. The pool area and lobby areas are nice, it is in a great location and the service was very good.The owners need to have problems addressed, so customers can have a quality experience at this historic property. We would'nt stay another night and Omar gave us a 30% discount off our previous night. He referred us to the Hyatt down the road (also an older property, but nicely remodeled). THE RATE WAS INEXPENSIVE, BUT THE VALUE WAS POOR. I am not a complainer and can except some small problems with a hotel stay, but 3 other customers were in the lobby complaining of various problems with their rooms too! Good luck if you get the wrong room.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are slightly quieter, no joke about the back and highway 101. Be prepared for hot water issues.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mediumbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I stayed here because I was recommended by a friend who stayed. I thought it was be a nice place and love Charlie Chaplin so I liked that connection. My room was cute and spacious and had a beautiful view of the mountains. You could walk to many places and it was not far from the beach. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Book a mountain view!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimtravelgirl1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Great place to stay with great value. A bit of noise, but hey, the price is right and rooms perfectly acceptable.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathleenblurock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews