We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too noisy”
Review of The Eagle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Eagle Inn
Ranked #2 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The breakfasts are good, but the downstairs room we had was noisy. I think the place is overpriced compared to the nearby competition.

Room Tip: Stay away from the downstairs rooms, if you're going to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Sorry to hear you found the hotel too noisy. If only you would have requested a room upstairs. They get less foot traffic and would probably have been better for you. Or for real seclusion, you could have stayed in one of our fabulous "casitas" that are located in a seperate area behind the main building. Next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,457 - 1,461 of 1,943 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

We loved our stay at the Eagle Inn. The place is charming, the breakfasts were fantastic! We were able to get to everything very easily. We felt all the staff was very accommodating. Our room was a little small, but the price was good and we had everything we needed. Very homey atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovinhomebarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I agree wholeheartedly with Susan M -- "Great place, great value!" comments. We are very active and it was great to be able to walk a few blocks to the beach or up State Street to the 'farmer's market' that was going on or to the historical buildings in the area. Very nicely maintained rooms and the champagne and strawberries were a big plus! The Spreebird price was really reasonable. Great way to experience areas that you might not otherwise have considered or even known of. This property was one of those GEMS. Basic room was nice size.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mgmt2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We had arranged to meet family from back east, spend a day with them and return home the next day. They had booked a room at the Eagle Inn and since it made sense to stay at the same place, we booked a night there. We figured even if the place wasn't great, it would be convenient. IT WAS PERFECT!! Just the right size (31 rooms I think), a short walk to the beach but far enough off the main drag to be quiet, breakfast was a perfect day-starter, room was very comfortable, staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating, free wi-fi and parking - just simply the perfect place for us. We will go back this summer and spend two or three nights. Cannot imagine a better place to stay in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikefromglendale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We used to live in Santa Barbara but somehow didn't know about this lovely inn. We recently went back for a visit by train--the Eagle Inn is within walking distance of the train station, so we thought we'd try it. What a gem of a place! In the early evening we walked to the beach and Stearn's Wharf (very close), watched the sunset, had a wonderful dinner at a restaurant facing the beach and got a free dessert courtesy of a coupon from the inn. The next morning enjoyed a delicious home-made breakfast, plus espresso. I know there are more expensive rooms, but we found the basic room quite comfortable and quite reasonable, given the location. We plan to stay there again when we visit.

Room Tip: Some rooms have little patios where you can have your breakfast served to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
451 reviews
0.1 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
818 reviews
1.3 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,332 reviews
0.1 km away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
746 reviews
1.5 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagle Inn

Address: 232 Natoma Ave, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range: ₹ 10,614 - ₹ 25,045 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eagle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle Inn is a romantic quiet boutique hotel located just 2 blocks from the beach. We are a ten minute walk to downtown and The Funk Zone and all of the activities and attractions Santa Barbara has to offer. We have bikes, free, for you to use, and offer free parking and serve a complimentary, tasty cooked breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Eagle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing