We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Upham Hotel & Country House
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I'll be back”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I'm late in writing this review but...I was a guest at the Upham in early Nov 2011. I was by myself and stayed in a charming one room cottage. It was a comfortable room for one, but would have accommodated two. The grounds were lovely and the central garden inviting, so I enjoyed breakfast on the Inn porch each morning. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I'm not a big eater, so I found the continental style breakfast more than satisfying. All the food groups were offered and I appreciated that there was fruit available all day. Though I didn't partake of the afternoon wine and cheese, due to various other commitments, I did note that it was a nice offering. The proximity of the Inn to the central downtown area made playing tourist very easy.

If you prefer the impersonal modernity of a Hilton-style hotel, the Upham isn't for you. For me, I'll definitely be staying there again on my next visit to SB.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    184
    68
    26
    11
See reviews for
69
334
20
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Encino, California, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This warm and welcoming small hotel was the perfect retreat for my wife and me with six of our closest friends. The grounds are beautiful and the public rooms were a wonderful place to gather for the included breakfast, for wine and cheese in the late afternoon and for games in the evening. While the rooms (least expensive) were small, it made little difference to us as we just loved the ambience of the overall facility. The front desk personnel were friendly and helpful. It was also such a treat to be a short two block walk from State Street, the main drag of Santa Barbara, with an almost endless selection of excellent restaurants and delightful shopping opportunities. I could not recommend this hotel more highly.

Room Tip: We styed in one of the cottages on the grounds. There are also rooms upstairs in the hotel proper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We just returned from a weekend away at The Upham. The place is very cute. The rooms are small but nice. The innkeepers work hard to give it a rustic feel. They have a breakfast each morning with cold treats, yogurt, fruit, juices, oatmeal and baked goods. The wine reception each night is from 4-7pm and includes red and white wine as well as cheese and crackers.

The Upham is walking distance to State Street - tons of restaurants, shopping and nightlife. We also did the Urban Wine Trail which is about 2 miles from the hotel and highly recommend it for the day.

Room Tip: They do not have water bottles in the vending machine but will provide you with a refillable glass c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margee h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We're relatively local and needed a place to stay while we went to a concert. The Darcy Room was perfect for our one evening. It is a clean, updated room. We would have enjoyed the balcony if we had spent another day. The location is excellent and very close to our favorite restaurant, The Hungry Cat. The breakfast buffet was enough for us even though we had ordered the special quiche. Thank you for a wonderful evening!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanMc2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

The Upham is a lovely hotel built in 1871, and the cozy lobby, parlor, and breakfast areas are a throwback to great-grandma's time. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is only two blocks from State Street and 5 to 10 minutes walking to the Old Santa Barbara attractions. There is plenty of parking on their hotel parking lot.

We had a room upstairs, which required one flight of stairs up, and then several steps down to the room. This room is not suitable for anyone in a wheelchair or someone who has difficulty walking. I don't think there was an elevator to the second floor.

Our suite was adequate for two people. Although the room had obviously been modernized over the years, it was filled with period furniture. Everything was very clean. The room had a small refrigerator and a TV inside a cabinet, and there were windows on two sides of the room, giving it lots of natural light. Interior wood shutters could be closed to block out the light.

The kingsize bed was very comfortable with nice linens, a down cover, and down pillows. Although the pillow case was freshly laundered, I did find my pillow to have a musty smell as if it had been stored in a damp closet.

The bathroom was very clean but small and had an old fashioned claw-foot bathtub with a shower inside it. Taking a shower was a complicated affair and probably not recommended for elderly or disabled people. Also, access to the bathroom was 4 steps up from the bedroom. During the night that we stayed there, the toilet flushed every half hour, keeping my husband awake. We reported this to management the next day, so I assume they have fixed it.

The hotel offers a nice do-it-yourself breakfast of various breads, bagels and muffins, as well as cooked oatmeal, boiled eggs, fruit, juices, coffee and tea. It is better than the usual continental breakfast in some of the other hotels, and will hold you over until lunch time.

The hotel also houses Louie's California Bistro. We did not eat there, so I cannot vouch for the quality. However, our room was right above the restaurant kitchen, and the noise from the kitchen was very noticible until almost 11 p.m.

Pluses: great location, cute hotel, nice grounds, very clean
Minuses: noise from kitchen, relatively expensive; I would have given it 4 stars without the noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElleLaJolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.7 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
2.2 km away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
1.1 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
2.1 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
3.5 km away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upham Hotel & Country House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upham Hotel & Country House

Property: The Upham Hotel & Country House
Address: 1404 De La Vina St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3027
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,225 - ₹ 27,214
Hotel Class:4 star — The Upham Hotel & Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian treasure in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara, the Upham Hotel and Country House is the oldest continuously operating hotel in Santa Barbara, Southern California. Constructed of redwood with sweeping verandas, the 58-room 1871 landmark is surrounded by an acre of gardens and combines the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with the convenience of a full-service hotel and conference facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Upham Hotel & Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upham Hotel Santa Barbara
Upham Santa Barbara
Upham Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing