We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What more could you want?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simpson House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Simpson House Inn
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What more could you want?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We returned to the Simpson Inn after 10 years. A warm welcome from friendly and professional staff, the lovely room, then the tasty evening hors doevres, a walk into lovely Santa Barbara, returning for hot drinks and such a comfortable night's sleep all contributed to the feeling of luxury and comfort. The room could not be better, comfortable, elegant and with every amenity you could possibly require - beautiful orchids too. We are from England and the country estate style house made us feel very at home.
The result - total relaxation and a feeling of well being. Well done Simpson House.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    38
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
44
395
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
la
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We had a very nice stay at the Simpson House Inn and enjoyed learning about the history of the Inn. We also viewed similar beautiful 100+ year old homes on our walks throughout the neighborhood. The Simpson house
and grounds are really unique and it was a pleasure to experience a bit of history in Santa Barbara. Kerry and Christian were delightful employees during our two night stay. We hope to return next year!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We have stayed at the Simpson House several times over the years, driving up from San Diego for a special weekend or event in Santa Barbara. We both completely love it there! The staff has always been so accommodating. The breakfasts delivered to your room to enjoy on your own veranda/balcony....awesome!

I will say that more recently, maybe the food is not quite as good as it had been in the past and the staff are still exceptional, but maybe a little less so than in years past, but we still love it. Our favorite room is the Hayloft.

They have lemonade, iced tea and cookies out everyday to enjoy while reading on the grounds or strolling the gardens. A really nice touch! They also put out a happy hour spread including wine and the food is an Egyptian theme, if I recall. I can't stand that type of food so I never have any, but my boyfriend says it's really, really good. It's still a nice touch, even though that type of food is not for me. Lastly, they have cookies set out at night for late-night sweet tooth cravings. Again, really nice touch!

Room Tip: There are rooms in the Main House and then cottages on the other side of the gardens. All the cotta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDiegoJJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed in the smallest room in the main inn at a reasonable price and enjoyed all the same amenities as those who paid more --- a lot more in some cases. Actually all the rooms in the main inn are about the same with respect to being smallish. But that goes with being in a B&B in an actual old home. Other than that the B&B experience here is first class --- more like a five star small inn: great beds and pillows, turndown service, chocolats on the pillow, personalized messages, and a complimentary happy hour with wine and hot prepared snacks. The outside rooms and suites are all very nice, and probably worth it if you can squeeze your family in to one room. But for a couple ( except possibly newlyweds) it's more than you need and certainly more than you should spend. These rooms seem somehow out of sinc with the personality of the main inn -- they're like New England beach cottages.Stick with the rooms in the main inn, get a first class B&B experience, and keep a few bucks in your pocket for a nice dinner in a nearby ( walking distance) restaurant.

Room Tip: The smallest room has a private bath just outside your door but they provide robes and it's real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nairene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Ranchos, NM
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

I think the Simpson House is still perfect, after all these years. I usually stay in the most modest room in the Inn, with the bathroom across the hall (belonging to the visitor in that room only). Since I read the reviews I can think of two improvements needed; one is better lighting for reading in the bed or the room. The other is that one item of the hors d'oevres was less than tasty. I've never had the pleasure of saying any one place was absolutely perfect (well, maybe one), but the Simpson House comes the closest for gracious, lovely, comfortable, guest-oriented hospitality with delicious food and accommodations I have ever enjoyed. It is refined, quiet, tasteful, and the veranda and grounds are beautiful and peaceful. I will return again and again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.1 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
1.1 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
1.2 km away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
2.5 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#3 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
3.6 km away
Pacific Crest Hotel Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson House Inn

Property: Simpson House Inn
Address: 121 E Arrellaga St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,730 - ₹ 39,309
Hotel Class:5 star — Simpson House Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Simpson House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson House Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing