We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Inn”
Review of Simpson House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Simpson House Inn
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We had a very nice stay at the Simpson House Inn and enjoyed learning about the history of the Inn. We also viewed similar beautiful 100+ year old homes on our walks throughout the neighborhood. The Simpson house
and grounds are really unique and it was a pleasure to experience a bit of history in Santa Barbara. Kerry and Christian were delightful employees during our two night stay. We hope to return next year!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank allann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 419 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

We have stayed at the Simpson House several times over the years, driving up from San Diego for a special weekend or event in Santa Barbara. We both completely love it there! The staff has always been so accommodating. The breakfasts delivered to your room to enjoy on your own veranda/balcony....awesome!

I will say that more recently, maybe the food is not quite as good as it had been in the past and the staff are still exceptional, but maybe a little less so than in years past, but we still love it. Our favorite room is the Hayloft.

They have lemonade, iced tea and cookies out everyday to enjoy while reading on the grounds or strolling the gardens. A really nice touch! They also put out a happy hour spread including wine and the food is an Egyptian theme, if I recall. I can't stand that type of food so I never have any, but my boyfriend says it's really, really good. It's still a nice touch, even though that type of food is not for me. Lastly, they have cookies set out at night for late-night sweet tooth cravings. Again, really nice touch!

Room Tip: There are rooms in the Main House and then cottages on the other side of the gardens. All the cotta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanDiegoJJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed in the smallest room in the main inn at a reasonable price and enjoyed all the same amenities as those who paid more --- a lot more in some cases. Actually all the rooms in the main inn are about the same with respect to being smallish. But that goes with being in a B&B in an actual old home. Other than that the B&B experience here is first class --- more like a five star small inn: great beds and pillows, turndown service, chocolats on the pillow, personalized messages, and a complimentary happy hour with wine and hot prepared snacks. The outside rooms and suites are all very nice, and probably worth it if you can squeeze your family in to one room. But for a couple ( except possibly newlyweds) it's more than you need and certainly more than you should spend. These rooms seem somehow out of sinc with the personality of the main inn -- they're like New England beach cottages.Stick with the rooms in the main inn, get a first class B&B experience, and keep a few bucks in your pocket for a nice dinner in a nearby ( walking distance) restaurant.

Room Tip: The smallest room has a private bath just outside your door but they provide robes and it's real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nairene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I think the Simpson House is still perfect, after all these years. I usually stay in the most modest room in the Inn, with the bathroom across the hall (belonging to the visitor in that room only). Since I read the reviews I can think of two improvements needed; one is better lighting for reading in the bed or the room. The other is that one item of the hors d'oevres was less than tasty. I've never had the pleasure of saying any one place was absolutely perfect (well, maybe one), but the Simpson House comes the closest for gracious, lovely, comfortable, guest-oriented hospitality with delicious food and accommodations I have ever enjoyed. It is refined, quiet, tasteful, and the veranda and grounds are beautiful and peaceful. I will return again and again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

There was a time when the Simpson House was perfect. The rooms where charming, the cocktail hour & breakfast were amazing and although quite pricy, well worth it. We went back time and again for a very special weekend away.
When my husbands big birthday was coming around our daughter flew in from N.Y. and we all met at the S.H. They put us in small rooms, hiked up the prices and cocktail hour was just okay. Going vegetarian did not improve the food but had it lacking in taste. We asked if we could be upgraded & they said no. Okay, but we noticed the place was pretty empty. Now we know way.
It was so elegant, now it's just an overpriced place to stay.

Room Tip: The better rooms will cost you more than they used to but the cabin style are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ZOE236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simpsonhouseinn121, Manager at Simpson House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

These guests should have been OFFERED an upgrade. If circumstances do not permit a full complimentary upgrade then we are happy to offer one at a nominal charge subject to availability.
After staying in the more spacious Carriage House at a special rate we understand that the accommodations in the Victorian Estate Home would seem small and pricey.
We have been an vegetarian Inn since we opened in 1985.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.1 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,080 reviews
1.1 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,254 reviews
1.2 km away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
452 reviews
2.5 km away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,332 reviews
0.6 km away
The Upham Hotel & Country House
The Upham Hotel & Country House
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson House Inn

Address: 121 E Arrellaga St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: ₹ 23,285 - ₹ 38,699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Simpson House Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Simpson House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson House Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing