We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Make sure to bring the kids!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History

Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History
Ranked #13 of 170 things to do in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Make sure to bring the kids!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

This summer, the Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History is featuring Dinomania and Butterflies Alive! both of which should be a hit with kids. A group of friends and I took our infants to Butterflies Alive! which was wonderful---the babies loved it. While we were there, group after group of schoolchildren were also visiting the butterflies as well as the special dinosaur exhibit. The giant T-Rex was a huge hit! Definitely worth a visit.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChristinafromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    65
    24
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place for a family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

This museum is great for family. We purchase the family membership for $80/ year for family of 4. We have unlimited admission to the museum and Ty Warner center (small aquarium) by Santa Barbara pier, and we also get free admission to hundreds of museums nationwide. The kids love the "museum backyard", they can play in a small creek, build things with bamboos and just run around... The exhibits are also educational and fun.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank goodtobargain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always enjoy this museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

This is a really nice museum and the grounds are beautiful. They've added some animated dinosaurs and prehistoric exhibits that we hadn't seen before. We saw more butterfies this time in the Butterfly Aviary...very nice. Wish they had food and drinks there instead of just vending machines. They're right in the middle of all the attractions and we hit lunchtime and had to leave to get something to eat. They may allow some picnic lunches though on the grounds. Don't miss this attraction, I'm going to bring the grandkids next time.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Triptaker3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“"The Backyard" is the BOMB for your kids!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

If you need a place to just take a picnic and chill out with the kids for a few hours...THIS IS THE PLACE TO GO!! Unlike the zoo, your kids will want to see exhibits but then head to the new "Backyard" where they can float wooden boats in the "creek", make mudpies, build a tee-pee, dig for worms, etc. etc. There are plenty of benches for parents to chill out on. Lots of lovely oak trees to shade you. Right now there is the most FANTASTIC dinosaur exhibit AND the butterfly garden. Go this summer!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ClawMarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Great Little Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

This museum of the history of Santa Barbara was a surprise. It is small but very well done with lots of great information about the land and early people of Santa Barbara. If you want to understand Santa Barbara's history, this is the very best place to visit.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank MRhoadesCambria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History also viewed

 

Been to Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing