We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Days Inn San Simeon
Nearby Hotels
US$ 128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 66
US$ 63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 San Simeon(San Simeon)
US$ 69
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sea Breeze Inn(San Simeon)
US$ 75
US$ 73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Simeon Lodge(San Simeon)
US$ 87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Silver Surf Motel(San Simeon)
US$ 69
US$ 62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 293
US$ 201
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 332
US$ 245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (645)
Filter reviews
645 results
Traveller rating
111
236
181
71
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
236
181
71
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanhearst castlefree breakfastocean viewbig surroad tripwould stay here againno elevatorconvenient locationrestaurant next doorsecond floormotelcerealcoastmicrowavemilesdiner
Filter
Updating list...
539 - 544 of 645 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This hotel is quite minimal, and might even really better be called a motel. We chose Days Inn because we'd had excellent experience with the Victorville and the San Diego ones in the past. Compared to those, this Days Inn is not really on a par with them, but it is priced right for what you get. Now, this review is colored by our usual habit of staying at high-end resorts through our vacation time share club, and it has spoiled us, I admit it.

The bed was okay, the pillows were quite lumpy, and the bathroom had an unfinished paint job (the walls had been painted and then someone had roller-coated the trim, but hadn't wiped the trim paint where they missed off the walls). The bathroom was very small indeed, with a regular, residential type bathtub (the other Days Inns we have stayed at had whirlpool baths), but there was a nice little makeup and sink area just outside it. The TV was an old school CRT one, not too large, but it was okay for the size of the room.

The walls were quite thin, and the room we stayed in had a door which apparently opened into the room next door (it was locked), making the two into a suite. There was an elephant in the room above us, and every time he moved, it was literally as if he was stomping on the floor as hard as possible. I thought about going up there and saying, "Dude, really?" but I didn't do it. Still, they quieted down at a reasonable hour and we had no trouble sleeping there.

All in all, the room was clean - spotless, even - and the front desk manager was very accommodating and friendly. They provided a nice continental breakfast and the room it was served in actually had tables and chairs at which to eat it. Also, they have a deal with the BBQ restaurant next door - 20% off when we were there for guests of the Days Inn. I'll write a separate review of the restaurant (Leo's, I think it's called), but that was a great deal. This hotel is definitely a great value at the price they charge, and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice weekend getaway or a visit to Hearst Castle (that's what we were there for).

Room Tip: An upstairs room might be quieter if you're a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I’m really curious about the folks who had positive experiences at this establishment, as I cannot possibly imagine that happening. I can say unequivocally that this is the worst, most disgusting hotel I’ve ever stepped inside. The fellow at the front desk was cordial enough, but because the front desk is a separate building than the hotel you do not get a chance to see what you are about to walk into. When we stepped inside, the first thing we said was that the décor is eerily reminiscent of the Bates Motel – not a good start. The carpets in the dimly lit hallways were filthy. We opened the room (it was a studio room with a pullout couch) hoping that it was just the public spaces that needed attention. Not so. The fixtures in the bathroom were rusty. There were crusty yellow stains on the pillows and the sheets, which made us suspect when the last time anything had been cleaned. The couch was humid and foul smelling, completely unsuitable for sleeping on. We also noticed that the bathroom had not been cleaned in any way, shape or form – for the sake of respect I will save the descriptions for private discussion. After this gruesome inspection we promptly exited and demanded a refund. It was difficult to extract the money back from the front desk, who insisted they charge a fee to reclean the room. What a scam! We were in there for less than 15 minutes. Under no circumstances should you stay here. My personal opinion is that this hotel should be fully renovated or otherwise condemned and closed. With all the other options across the street, do not waste your time.

Room Tip: Do not stay here. Best tip is to stay elsewhere.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JayApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The price was best we found. Uzma went out of her way to help in every way, including opening the car door for me, was very pleasant. Room was clean and comfortable. Would recommend this motel to anyone in need of a room. I would stay there again and again.

Room Tip: Choose this one!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnSS, Owner at Days Inn San Simeon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

thank you for your valuable comments. Please visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We drove to San Simeon to see Hearst Castle and decided to stay the night. For the unbeatable price of $79, we booked a room to accommodate two adults and three kids, breakfast included. There were hotels on either side of PCH. Days Inn is on the side farther from the beach, which probably explains the price. The room was clean, recently renovated, and quiet. The front desk recommended Big Sur California Cafe for dinner (with 10% off with Days Inn room key). Breakfast was actually decent. There were no hot items, but there was a make-your-own waffle station. It was surprisingly delicious. The pastries, though, were not as fresh as they should be and the coffee was not good. The best part of the stay was the sunset. We drove (although you really could walk, but we did not want the kids to be dodging PCH traffic) across the street to San Simeon beach. It was gorgeous. The location is worth it! There is also a flock of seagulls in the parking lot (plus or minus?...)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HvKidsWillTrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnSS, Owner at Days Inn San Simeon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Thank you for your stay. Do visit again !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

Let me start by saying that the breakfast was a GREAT amenity. We are a family of four going to Hearst Castle. We needed a decent place and this worked just fine. The beds were not very comfortable, the wifi didn't work but it was clean and had a nice patio with no chairs. Good for the money. We consider staying again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Funtimestogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnSS, Owner at Days Inn San Simeon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We really value it !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews