We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel for OK price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn San Simeon
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“OK hotel for OK price”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Quite good place for decent money.
Room was large and mostly clean, but the devices inside have seen better days. They worked OK, but looked oldish. It was a little worse in the bathroom, but nothing really annoying or scary. No bed bugs or dirty bedsheets, it was OK. We had a neighbors with small baby next door which cried till late midnight and at 6:30 AM on the morning again, but were too tired to ask front desk to change our room- we stayed there for just one night. Ocean-view rooms are rather "Highway plus a little bit of ocean- view" rooms, definitely not worth of spending few dollars extra, so watch out for this "offer". Housekeeping staff start cleaning very early and are very noisy on corridors, so we could not sleep late, especially after "baby cry" woke up at 6 AM.
Generally this place can be OK if you are lucky. If not... sorry. ;)

Room Tip: Forget about "ocean view" rooms- there is a highway between hotel and the Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McLoud1666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    217
    161
    64
    42
See reviews for
221
245
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This hotel is quite minimal, and might even really better be called a motel. We chose Days Inn because we'd had excellent experience with the Victorville and the San Diego ones in the past. Compared to those, this Days Inn is not really on a par with them, but it is priced right for what you get. Now, this review is colored by our usual habit of staying at high-end resorts through our vacation time share club, and it has spoiled us, I admit it.

The bed was okay, the pillows were quite lumpy, and the bathroom had an unfinished paint job (the walls had been painted and then someone had roller-coated the trim, but hadn't wiped the trim paint where they missed off the walls). The bathroom was very small indeed, with a regular, residential type bathtub (the other Days Inns we have stayed at had whirlpool baths), but there was a nice little makeup and sink area just outside it. The TV was an old school CRT one, not too large, but it was okay for the size of the room.

The walls were quite thin, and the room we stayed in had a door which apparently opened into the room next door (it was locked), making the two into a suite. There was an elephant in the room above us, and every time he moved, it was literally as if he was stomping on the floor as hard as possible. I thought about going up there and saying, "Dude, really?" but I didn't do it. Still, they quieted down at a reasonable hour and we had no trouble sleeping there.

All in all, the room was clean - spotless, even - and the front desk manager was very accommodating and friendly. They provided a nice continental breakfast and the room it was served in actually had tables and chairs at which to eat it. Also, they have a deal with the BBQ restaurant next door - 20% off when we were there for guests of the Days Inn. I'll write a separate review of the restaurant (Leo's, I think it's called), but that was a great deal. This hotel is definitely a great value at the price they charge, and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice weekend getaway or a visit to Hearst Castle (that's what we were there for).

Room Tip: An upstairs room might be quieter if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I’m really curious about the folks who had positive experiences at this establishment, as I cannot possibly imagine that happening. I can say unequivocally that this is the worst, most disgusting hotel I’ve ever stepped inside. The fellow at the front desk was cordial enough, but because the front desk is a separate building than the hotel you do not get a chance to see what you are about to walk into. When we stepped inside, the first thing we said was that the décor is eerily reminiscent of the Bates Motel – not a good start. The carpets in the dimly lit hallways were filthy. We opened the room (it was a studio room with a pullout couch) hoping that it was just the public spaces that needed attention. Not so. The fixtures in the bathroom were rusty. There were crusty yellow stains on the pillows and the sheets, which made us suspect when the last time anything had been cleaned. The couch was humid and foul smelling, completely unsuitable for sleeping on. We also noticed that the bathroom had not been cleaned in any way, shape or form – for the sake of respect I will save the descriptions for private discussion. After this gruesome inspection we promptly exited and demanded a refund. It was difficult to extract the money back from the front desk, who insisted they charge a fee to reclean the room. What a scam! We were in there for less than 15 minutes. Under no circumstances should you stay here. My personal opinion is that this hotel should be fully renovated or otherwise condemned and closed. With all the other options across the street, do not waste your time.

Room Tip: Do not stay here. Best tip is to stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Simeon hotels

Kingman, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The price was best we found. Uzma went out of her way to help in every way, including opening the car door for me, was very pleasant. Room was clean and comfortable. Would recommend this motel to anyone in need of a room. I would stay there again and again.

Room Tip: Choose this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnSS, Owner at Days Inn San Simeon, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
thank you for your valuable comments. Please visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We drove to San Simeon to see Hearst Castle and decided to stay the night. For the unbeatable price of $79, we booked a room to accommodate two adults and three kids, breakfast included. There were hotels on either side of PCH. Days Inn is on the side farther from the beach, which probably explains the price. The room was clean, recently renovated, and quiet. The front desk recommended Big Sur California Cafe for dinner (with 10% off with Days Inn room key). Breakfast was actually decent. There were no hot items, but there was a make-your-own waffle station. It was surprisingly delicious. The pastries, though, were not as fresh as they should be and the coffee was not good. The best part of the stay was the sunset. We drove (although you really could walk, but we did not want the kids to be dodging PCH traffic) across the street to San Simeon beach. It was gorgeous. The location is worth it! There is also a flock of seagulls in the parking lot (plus or minus?...)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HvKidsWillTrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnSS, Owner at Days Inn San Simeon, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you for your stay. Do visit again !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.2 km away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,678 reviews
0.2 km away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
512 reviews
0.3 km away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Quality Inn San Simeon
Quality Inn San Simeon
#10 of 10 in San Simeon
262 reviews
4.5 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.3 km away
San Simeon Lodge
San Simeon Lodge
#2 of 10 in San Simeon
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn San Simeon

Property: Days Inn San Simeon
Address: 9280 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9748
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,717 - ₹ 15,313
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn San Simeon 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Simeon Hotel San Simeon
California Inns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing