We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Stopped for gas...and ended up having lunch here. Glad we did!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tenth Street Basque Cafe - CLOSED

Tenth Street Basque Cafe
Cuisines: American, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Tenth Street Vineyard Cafe
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stopped for gas...and ended up having lunch here. Glad we did!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Compliments of the chef - started with home made bread and olive spread. Very delicious. For lunch, my boyfriend had steak sandwich and I had salad and paella dish. We both had very large glasses of ice teas. Overall very good food and cute atmosphere. Everything came to about 30 dollars and was well worth it. There are no menus, just what the chef prepares. Our portions were all very healthy and we were both stuffed on our way out. :)
Will come back again!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kritika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    8
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't find a positive thing to say about the place.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Having read the reviews, we were very excited about our evening at the Tenth Street Cafe. The food wasn't worth it, the drink wasn't worth it, and the service definitely wasn't worth it. We have eaten at Basque restaurants around the country and this definitely was the worst. The menu was uninspiring and the quantities were sparse (one small chicken thigh per person with noodles for an entree). The Chardonnay wine served was awful which is a hard thing to do given the great wineries in the region. The servers put food out and disappeared for extended periods of time. Time between seating and entree was 90 minutes with small tapas served about every 10 minutes. We ended the evening still hungry and very disappointed.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryM014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Templeton, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So fun and so tasty!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

This is my favorite restaurant around here. I would love to go more often. Everything I have had has been so good! We like to go for special occasions like Father's Day and anniversaries.

Visited August 2010
Helpful?
Thank cleofk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An absolute must.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

An evening at the Tenth Street Basque Cafe is an absolute MUST for anybody in the Central Coast looking for a great homemade meal served by very friendly people in an incredibly fun environment. And the ringleader of this party? Chef Dallas. Don't want to make a trip to San Miguel just for dinner? Hey, I understand, but suck it up and get there. Locals, visitors, it doesn't matter. Is it really Basque food? Who knows, and when it's this good, who cares. God knows how many (awesome) courses over three hours with countless bottles of local wine and a party with old (and very likely new) friends. Pass the bota bag Chef! I'm in.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrianL67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A fun experience, but could be improved.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

We so wanted to love this place. We wanted to have an experience similar to great visits to European chef choice restaurants. After wanting to eat here for some time, we decided to try it with some relatives visiting us as it seemed great for a group enviroment.

The food did start out great with excellent appetizers and tasty soup. Unfortunately, from there it went downhill. The salad was mediocre and unfortunately the paella which I expected to be fantastic was just a bland chicken and rice dish with no seasoning except for the delicious sausage. It was the worst paella I have ever had. The dessert thankfully brought back the standard to a higher level. It was a very tasty bread pudding with fruit.

Given the mixed food quality, I think we still would have loved this place if the atmosphere was what we anticipated. Unfortunately when we arrived, we were seated next to the kitchen. The kitchen noise was so disruptive (they were washing dishes very loudly by hand only a few feet away on top of the kitchen noise), we could not really have a conversation with our group and the others at our table. It was difficult to hear the person next to us. By the end of the night, we all had throbbing heads from the noise and just wanted to leave.

Overall, this was a good value, and we would go back ONLY if we could be seated in the main dining area or outside patio. The "overflow" tables were really unacceptable without a noise barrier between the kitchen. Perhaps we were there on a poor food night because most people seem to have had a better experience. The chef the night we went was not the owner so perhaps standards were reduced. We do hope the problems are addressed as we would love this to be a fabulous place.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelMookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tenth Street Basque Cafe also viewed

San Miguel, San Luis Obispo County
San Miguel, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Miguel, San Luis Obispo County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing