We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of La Cuesta Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Cuesta Inn
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Very pleasant, a nice pub nearby and the apple farm served a decent evening meal. Pleasant 15 minute walk into the town centre. The room was very clean, reasonably well appointed and the staff very friendly. Nothing else to add other than a good place for a stopover.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnboy054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 261 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

Lived there at one time. Had 3 kids that went to college there; I understand the town. We have stayed in several different Inns
in San Luis Obispo when visiting. This town is somewhat limited regarding Hotel/Inn choices because the town is a college town/agricultural in nature. The town is charming and we have stayed at this place 3 times. Other places were dreadful to say the least, especially with bug problems, mold, inefficient staff, non smoking rooms that were disinfected with chemicals so strong, a gas mask might be in order.

La Cuesta Inn has a great staff, all non smoking rooms, pet free, rooms don't smell of chemicals, good value, clean rooms, is quiet, has a limited breakfast, BUT......the Apple Farm is right across the street which is a very popular place, accommodates
many people, is charming, good food, nice ambience. In this type of town, you cannot always have the perfect list of amenities. In traveling extensively throughout the world, I have a pretty high standard, but always try to consider the type of environment where I am visiting and sometimes I had to take a lower standard of living. In this college town, you cannot always expect to get the same types of rooms as you might in other places. I remain grateful for the cleanliness of this place, for other Inns have ruined our stay at times.

We have had many friends who gave us feedback that stayed in many different places in San Luis and, as you would expect,
each person/group has different standards/preferences. You need to decide what is most important on your own list.

Room Tip: For quiet: Ask for a room on 3rd or 4th floor, end of hall, away from freeway noise. Windows o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Stayed here for one night on an unplanned trip through San Luis Obispo. Having seen other positive reviews on TripAdvisor I suggested we check out La Cuesta to see if there was any availability and what the rate would be. Perhaps it was because it was a Sunday evening but the person at the front desk gave me an option of a King bed on the first floor or a Queen bed on the third floor, and then offered to take $20 off the room rate for the second option as a "walk in rate" without any asking from me.

The room itself was very spacious, clean, and best of all incredibly quiet - the walls seemed to be made out of concrete.

I also really enjoyed the bathroom setup - the room had a sink in the regular bathroom and then a second sink in the hallway just outside the bathroom, which is a big help for the guy when traveling as a couple!

I'd have been extremely happy with my stay at the original rate of $129/night, but at $109 it felt like a complete steal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I have spent 5 nights at the Inn. It's nothing really fancy, but somehow it has a comfortable charm. The rooms are nice and clean. The dining area is basic. For breakfast they have a waffle maker , hard boiled eggs , juice and coffee. I asked for a quiet room and they honored the request. Then I chose a room with a balcony instead which was less quiet. The balcony is useful for hanging towels and wetsuits. The staff is friendly at the front desk and cleaning folks. I would
like to recommend the Inn become more green. I would like to see paper plates and bowls instead of styrofoam plates and bowls. Then the plates and bowls could be recycled, so add a blue recycle trash can in the dining room area . THey do have paper cups that could also be put in a blue recycle can. In each room, I would also like to see a blue recycle trash bin.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLow4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed at la Cuesta Inn in July of this year. In a few words, meant to be objective and concise:

[] Room was by far the smallest we had during our whole LA/Vegas/SF trip. Small by US standards (OK by European ones...but this is still USA).

[] Hotel had no charm at all, although clean and well maintained.

[] Staff (reception desk; we saw noone else) was friendly but somewhat incompetent and bureaucratic. Lobby PC was not working, nor did the so-called customer-dedicated printer. 12+ hours later, nothing was fixed. Was like take it or leave it.

[] There was no dedicated breakfast room. Coffee, bagels, waffles were provided in the hotel reception small lobby, pretty weird. People sat where they could in the said lobby (3 tables), plus in a sleeping room, close to the reception, where the furniture had been replaced by a few breakfast tables. Pretty weird either.

[] At $149+Tax=$165+ (!), the most expensive room we had, including Orange County hotels, not known to be particularly cheap. For something pretty average overall. A $70 room at most in other areas.

We will therefore not return, nor do we recommend this inn to other travelers. It's not "bad", but we guess the area offers much better, fancier, more welcoming and more reasonably priced alternatives.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AIR74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.5 km away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
739 reviews
0.2 km away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
644 reviews
0.1 km away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
907 reviews
4.2 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,263 reviews
6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#8 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cuesta Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cuesta Inn

Address: 2074 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2618
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: ₹ 8,203 - ₹ 13,138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Cuesta Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cuesta is a boutique style hotel offering comfortable accommodations, conveniently located close to downtown, Cal Poly and the Performing Arts Center. Free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and complimentary parking. Complimentary DVD library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Cuesta Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cuesta Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel La Cuesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing