We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people, nice common areas, stuffy small suites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Pleasanton, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice people, nice common areas, stuffy small suites”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here during the SLO Marathon this past weekend. The suites are well located, the staff wonderful and attentive and the common areas were welcoming. We needed extra pillows and they were at our door instantly. They opened the cooked to order complimentary breakfast area at 4am so runners and supporters could eat before the the 6am start. Wonderful service! The location was also very good, near downtown (walkable for us).

That all said, the suites are small and stuffy. The air conditioner sounded like a B-52 taking off (okay I have never actually heard one take off but it was so loud we couldn't use it while sleeping).
Having the windows open was not an option due to traffic noise. I am used to the Embassy Suites with the bathroom between the bedroom and the sitting/second sleeping area. Our daughter and friend had to traipse through the bedroom to use the bathroom,

I would stay here again but not with 4 people and not during hot weather.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheri1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. I apologize for the noisy air conditioner. I appreciate you letting us know about it. When the AC is running properly is should make very little noise. I will have Engineering Department check it out and replace it if necessary.

Great to read that you were here for the Marathon. Our other guests that were here told us that it was a great event. Many of them told us that they appreciated that we opened breakfast early the morning of the event. We wanted to give all the participants the opportunity to “fuel up” before the event.

Nice to see that you will be staying with us again.

We look forward to seeing you again,

George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    223
    53
    14
    6
See reviews for
305
199
23
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights during summertime, booked a suite for two people on the first floor. Room was very big and spacious with each room having a TV and DVD player, but our DVD player didnt work so the technician came and fixed it, only later the DVD player stopped working again, but not a BIG problem, just got unlucky. Complimentary breakfast was awesome and delicious. The bar at the lobby was also a cool place to hang out and meet some new people. very friendly staff and really good service. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoGev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Thank you for telling us about your stay at our hotel and posting your review on tripadvisor. I was sorry to hear that you had difficulty with your DVD player. I am glad that our Engineering staff quickly responded to your request to fix it. There are times when the DVDs that we provide complimentary in our DVD library get scratch and have difficulty playing. Knowing you had difficulty with your DVD helps us to know which DVDs to remove due to scratches. Great to hear that breakfast was awesome and delicious. We always appreciate hearing from our guests and knowing that you had the opportunity to meet new people during your visit make us feel good about the services we are providing.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are able to visit San Luis Obispo.

Thank you,

George New land
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We came to San Luis Obispo to look at Cal Poly on a central coast college tour. We were so impressed by this hotel. Not only were there freshly baked chocolate chip cookies upon our late arrival but there's a free drink happy hour every day as well. What a welcome! Pool and jacuzzi were great, heated, relaxing. We were there over easter weekend and on easter sunday, the lobby staff had hidden eggs all over for the kids! We took advantage of free shuttle service around town. They will drop you off and bring you back for free! The room was wonderful, we had a suite. Free DVDs, fridge, and microwave. Laundry on premises as well which is a HUGE plus when you travel with teenagers! Great stay, would def stay again!!!

Room Tip: We had a suite with two double beds and a pullout bed in the couch. Worked out great for four of us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
We appreciated reading that you were impressed by our hotel and that you provided a review of the Quality Suites on tripadvisor. Nice to see you got a great welcome with complimentary chocolate chip cookies and complimentary drinks at our manager’s reception. Many of our guests tell us they really like having the shuttle service to downtown, I am glad you were able to use this amenity during your visit. Thank you for letting us know that the suite was wonderful and that you would definitely stay again.

We look forward to use seeing you the next time you are able to visit San Luis Obispo and Cal Poly.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This is our #1 recommended hotel for families in San Luis Obispo. The rooms are spacious, with a completely separate bedroom and living area, which has a separate bed for the kids. The made-to-order breakfast is outstanding, with a large comfortable dining room overlooking their large pool and hot tub. With two teenage boys along, it's a huge value to have an all-you-can-eat breakfast with plenty of delicious options. The staff are all very helpful and friendly, and the grounds are immaculate. The beds are very comfortable and the hotel rooms are quiet. The free happy hour and inexpensive barbeque at night are really nice extras. We've stayed here many times and have never been disappointed. It's an easy walk to downtown SLO and a quick drive to campus.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GetawayGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for making us your” #1 recommended” hotel for families in San Luis Obispo. I have traveled with teenage boys as well and can appreciate how you described what “a huge value” our complementary breakfast is for our guests. It was nice to see that you stayed here many times and have never been disappointed. We have great Associates and they do their best to make sure all our guests enjoy their stay. It was good to see that you are able to walk downtown and visit the campus while you were here.

We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you,


George New land
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed here for one night while checking out Cal Poly which is nearby...a couple of miles. The hotel/motel is an aging property that has been updated somewhat, but has reminders of its age such as creaking floors. I recommend staying on the 3rd level to avoid the sounds above you. The bed was comfy and there was room to spread out in the suite although it was not as large as I imagined. A pocket door separates the living area from the bedroom area. There is another pocket door to the smallish toilet/tub room. I do not like pocket doors! Space-saving I guess. Most hotels use them now. There was a microwave and empty frig. for your own drinks and snacks. The free breakfast was served in a dedicated breakfast room which was near the pool and would be nice for an outdoor dining experience on a warm morning. They served omelettes, burritos, bacon, sausage, potato wedges, mini Belgian waffles. The free Happy Hour was great in the Cantina. We enjoyed the Firestone microbrews...there was also wine and some munchies. A bargain BBQ was offered in the pool area for guests to purchase...very reasonable! This place is convenient to many restaurants within walking distance. Splashes is about 2 blocks away and has seafood and burgers and a bakery...something for everyone.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room to avoid noise above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Freedomrings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and putting it on tripadvisor. We opened the Quality Suites hotel in November of 1986. From the time we opened we have made many updates and gone through many renovations. We have great location in a great town. The owners and Associates that work here have a lot of pride in our hotel and we will continue to invest deeply to make it the best hotel in town. We want to continue to make sure we give all our guests the best experience possible while they are visiting San Luis Obispo. We appreciate that you took the time to describe all the amenities we provide here at the Quality Suites. It was great to read that you enjoyed the Firestone microbrews that we provide at our complementary beer and wine tasting reception. We try and use local vendors and products whenever possible.

We look forward to seeing you again next time you are able to visit San Luis Obispo.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.4 km away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
613 reviews
0.5 km away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,380 reviews
0.5 km away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,599 reviews
3.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,194 reviews
3.5 km away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Property: Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Address: 1631 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2929 (Formerly Quality Suites Central Coast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,437 - ₹ 21,519
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring complimentary breakfast, complimentary beer & wine tasting reception, and a downtown San Luis Obispo location, The Quality Suites San Luis Obispo awaits you with a combination of beautifully appointed suites and an array of area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Quality Inn San Luis Obispo
Quality San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing