We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wish we'd stayed longer.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wish we'd stayed longer.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed here November 2011 as the midpoint on the drive from San Fran to LA.

Aussie tourists driving a big Nissan minivan (nicknamed the pig!). The quality suites was just perfect after a day of twists and hairpin turns down the coast.

Arrived just on happy hour, made to feel very welcome. A comfortable room and excellent pool. The staff very happy to drop us off at a local restaurant and pick us up again after.

After stays in various big cities around the country San Luis was a nice contrast, I later heard it described as the most Californian town in America. I wish we had made time for another night or two.

Room Tip: Happy hour worth attending. Staff will operate a courtesy service to local restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimmyjames182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Thank you for telling us about your stay at our hotel in posting your review on trip advisor. We wished you would have been able to stay longer as well. It is always good to hear that you arrived just in time for our complimentary beer and wine tasting reception. That has been mentioned as one of our favorite amenities amongst our guest. We think San Luis Obispo is a great town and it was nice to see that you found it enjoyable as well.

We look forward to seeing you again and hope you reserve two or three nights here the next time you're able to visit.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    209
    51
    13
    6
See reviews for
286
190
23
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Live Oak, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

At this point, we've stayed here numerous times, all including groups of family and this time friends, too. We love the atmosphere and how useful the room set-up and community spaces are for numbers of people there together. The breakfast room is spacious with a very nice variety of food and drink. The patio/pool area is comfortable for sitting or visiting with heaters at night. The cantina offers a great 'manager's' reception that people we've been with have really enjoyed. The lobby is even spacious and cozy for sitting at the same time. The rooms are clean with refrigerator/microwave/sink in the living room portion and the pull-out sofa. The location is good between freeway and downtown; that is a short drive or good walk (more than a few blocks, but manageable for many). Too many restaraunt choices to mention.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie32634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for conveying your most recent stay with us on tripadvisor. It is great for us to see when our guests come and continue to visit numerous times. Seeing guests continue to visit makes us feel good about the experience that we are providing. One of the most rewarding things for us is to see family and friends enjoying each other and their stay at our hotel. We have been told by many of our guests that are public areas worked very well for gathering of family and friends. It was nice to hear that you continue to enjoy the many amenities that we provide.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to our hotel.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Had never stayed in a Quality Suites hotel before. If the San Luis Obispo hotel is indicative of the chain, we will absolutely be staying in others.
The room was clean and odor-free. Grounds well kept. What we like best, though, was that there are separate sleeping and sitting areas that can be closed off from each other. This is ideal if one person wants to sleep while the other does not. Both rooms have flat-screen TVs. This layout is a great choice for couples who may want to keep different hours or have different choices in entertainment while in the room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_K_From_Eugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel. It makes us feel good to know that you enjoyed your stay and will be coming back. We appreciate the description you provided of our hotel, it helps other guests know what to expect when they visit the Quality Suites in San Luis Obispo. It was good to read how well the layout of the suites worked out well for you and the people you are traveling with. We have heard from many of our guests our suite layout helps provide them more choices while they are staying with us.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are able to visit SLO.

George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

We frequently stay here twice a month as of early 2010 and We have yet to be dissapointed, Maintenance is quick to respond, Cleaning services are quick and efficient, Employees are always very humble, The Gym is great, Complimentary breakfast is GREAT! We just recently stayed 3/3/12 and someone in our group misplaced a diamond ring we called back a week later once we noticed it was gone, not really expecting much but sure enough they called back the next buisness day early in the morning to let us know their cleaning crew turned it in! THATS FANTASTIC!!!!! how many genuine people do you know that would do that these days , not knowing the person it belongs to, we are very greatfull and at our next visit we will be meeting the employee and giving her compensation! A Good Deed Never Goes Unnoticed!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danielle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Thank you for ”noticing our good deed” and for taking the time to post your experience with our hotel on Tripadvisor. We have very good and honest associates here at the Quality Suites. I was pleased to read about your experience with our associates and how they got the lost ring back to your group.

We look forward to seeing you again on you next visit to San Luis Obispo.
George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, British Columbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We were so pleasantly surprised by this hotel/motel. We had a king suite on the ground floor (a word of warning - if you are noise sensitive you'd be better to book on the top floor), however the room was huge with a separate bedroom area with lots of counter space. The lighting was good and the amenities were superb. The pool and hot tub area are lovely and the included breakfast is served in a large dining room poolside or you can load up a tray and sit by the pool or take it back to your room. Free drinks are served in the bar from 5-7 (yes, free!) and a poolside barbeque for guests if available where prices range from $2 for a smokie to the high of $6 for a steak sandwich - all meals including salad. Sit in the bar with your free drinks, order up your barbequed dinner and enjoy your stay! Walking distance to downtown. The only complaint was that the front desk staff person we spoke to wasn't well informed and told us there were no hikes in the nearby mountains when we asked (there are lots).

Room Tip: If noise sensitive ask for a top floor room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bicycle9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for telling us about your stay while visiting our hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the many amenities we offer. Many of our guests choose to walk downtown however; we do offer a complimentary shuttle service to downtown as well. One option a lot of our guest choose is to walk downtown and then called for the shuttle to be picked up. You are correct, there are many great hikes very close to the hotel. I have done many of them myself and I will inform the front desk on the hikes that I would recommend.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are able to visit San Luis Obispo.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.3 km away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.5 km away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
3.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
5.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
3.0 km away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Property: Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Address: 1631 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401 (Formerly Quality Suites Central Coast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,930 - ₹ 18,921
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring complimentary breakfast, complimentary beer & wine tasting reception, and a downtown San Luis Obispo location, The Quality Suites San Luis Obispo awaits you with a combination of beautifully appointed suites and an array of area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Quality Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Quality Inn San Luis Obispo
Quality San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing