We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milpitas, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed in a room with whirlpool tub. the room was very nice and very clean. Hotel was quiet, did not hear noise from other guests in rooms or hallway. Staff was friendly and professional, suggested where to park to be closer to room. Used pool and spa, very nice, towels were provided at the pool. The only comment I have is that the booklet in the room about the hotel and signs at the hotel differ, two examples booklet said coffee available 24/7, sign in lobby said only morning and evening, pool hours in the room 7 - 11, sign at pool said 8 - 10.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alolewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lrrid262, General Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Your kind comments are wonderful to receive. I am so glad your stay was enjoyable and that it met your needs. I have shared your response with the staff and everyone was extremely pleased to hear your compliments. Your observations regarding our guest directories are much appreciated and we are working on making the necessary changes. I hope your future travel plans allow you to stay with us very soon. Thank you for your patronage and loyalty to Marriott.

Sincerely,

Lindsey Ridgeway - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    163
    72
    13
    13
See reviews for
160
102
19
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

I've always had a decent experience at Courtyard hotels and this one is no exception. The desk service was friendly and they even gave me a dining voucher. There is only one restaurant within convenient walking distance (a diner with huge portions), but a shopping center and a Target are pretty close by, and the hotel is right next to a freeway entrance. The room was the same good quality and spaciousness that I've seen in other Courtyards, the large lounge and fireplace was better than average, but the laundry room could use more machines - they were occupied when I wanted to use them.

Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank technicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lrrid262, General Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Your comments are greatly appreciated! I am so glad that our hotel was able to meet your requirements as well as upholding the Marriott reputation. Our goal is to provide the best customer service to our guests so they walk away with the same feelings you have shared in your review. Thank you for staying with us and I hope you are able to return to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Lindsey Ridgeway - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Booked on Priceline and got a good deal. Checked in easy and was offered a fresh cookie. The staff were all friendly and helpful although the breakfast staff were a little slow which was a very minor annoyance. The room was clean and well equipped, everything worked and I didn't notice any weird odours at all. I used the gym and it was clean and had everything I needed for a decent workout.

I'd definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grinner55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lrrid262, General Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
I want to thank you for you kind comments regarding our hotel! I am always happy when a guest shares a positive experience. Your observation about the breakfast service was shared immediately as it is something we work very hard to maintain. I hope you return to our hotel when you are in the area again and that your loyalty to Marriott continues.

Best wishes,

Lindsey Ridgeway - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

The room is huge, the decorating is nice, the flat screen t.v.s are great, but what is this smell? We got here two hours ago and we're exhausted so we aren't going to try and change rooms right now, but however you describe it, body odor or dirty socks, it's not good.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnieMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lrrid262, General Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for you generous comments regarding our room amenities. We strive to make our guests stays as comfortable as possible. I understand your concerns regarding the odor issue you experienced upon arrival. We have found that the smell will subside after a period of time as it never stays in one place for too long. That is why its origin remains a mystery. We are still working hard at finding the cause and will do so until we have an answer. My wish is that you will give us another try when you are in the area. We will do everything we can to accommodate your needs.

Sincerely,

Lindsey Ridgeway - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed in room 228 I believe and on the second night of an extended stay I checked out. I'm not overly sensitive to smells but this room had a strong BO smell. The room seemed very nice and clean but I couldn't take it. They wanted to charge the cancellation fee but did waive it after a few minutes. One of my co workers moved out the day before for the same reason. I should also add that my new hotel has free drinks in the evening and a complimentary breakfast. Neither of these are offered at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brock155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lrrid262, General Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I want to assure you that we are following up on the smell in the rooms that you mentioned. We have already brought teams out to inspect the air quality in and outside of the sleeping rooms. Unfortunately nothing concrete has been determined. We will stop at nothing until the issue is solved. I hope you can give us another chance in the future to meet your expectations.

Thank you,

Lindsey Ridgeway - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
5.7 km away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
706 reviews
6.0 km away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
611 reviews
2.0 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
579 reviews
6.1 km away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,366 reviews
6.2 km away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Luis Obispo

Property: Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Address: 1605 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7214
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,047 - ₹ 23,643
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott is San Luis Obispo's newest hotel and is conveniently located near Cal Poly and is 7 mi to Pismo and Avila Beach. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo is 4 mi to San Luis Obispo County Airport with easy access to all area attractions and landmarks. Our San Luis Obispo hotel has a distinctive architectural style where you can enjoy the warmth of the California sun. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo has a customer-focused guest room design combining both comfort and functionality. Our San Luis Obispo hotel offers spacious rooms, complimentary wireless internet, as well as a fitness center and an outdoor heated pool with jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Marriott
San Luis Obispo Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing