We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great steak” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alex Madonna's Gold Rush Steak House

Alex Madonna's Gold Rush Steak House
Ranked #15 of 301 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 20 - US$ 98
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hwy 101 & Madonna Rd Exit
Transit: Bus stop at the entrance to the World famous Madonna Inn property.
Description: Located at Madonna Inn, the Alex Madonna's Gold Rush Steak House is a landmark destination for its whimsical décor and classic menu. Featuring outstanding oak-pit barbequed steaks, a superb wine list, world-famous cakes and pies, and outstanding service. The menu also features abalone, lamb, Australian lobster, chicken, and vegetarian entrees. The Silver Bar Cocktail Lounge serves an assortment of specialty drinks along with appetizers. Music and dancing nightly.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Our waitress had worked there 15 years and was still loving it! a warm and friendly atmosphere. Steak was great.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank masqmargie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    67
    36
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A place everyone should try”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Food is good, customer service is great. We went with a large group and the portions can be large, desserts are the best. We also went for dinner and the prime rib and filet mignon are out of this world. Worth trying if you have the chance

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank CaboGal1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Valley CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Don't need a steak knife!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

The steaks here are unbelievable! We've been to Harris steak ranch (which is well known for their great steaks), but they do not hold a candle to how this place cooks their steaks! I'm very picky on how my steak is prepared and this place nailed it to EXACTLY what I wanted! Other places I've been to feel the need to butterfly a filet mignon in order to get it to medium well/more towards the well side. Not this place! Spot on from the get go! Not even a need for a steak knife! The butter knife will do!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsLive4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EAT HERE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Madonna Inn and decided to get our whole SLO experience in that hotel. The pool bar tender told us the steakhouse was great because the Madonna Inn apparently gets their beef from their own ranch. Their beef is grass fed and free roaming.
I have to say, I'm from South America and I know my beef, and this was probably one of the best stakes I ever had. We both got the filet mignon and it was delicious! Add that to a great atmosphere and funky Decors and you have yourself a great place to enjoy a nice evening with your date. Loved it and recommend it 100%!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thelauffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Round out the Madonna experience with a meal here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

If you are going to stay at the Madonna Inn, complete the themed visit with a meal in the Steak House. The over-the-top decor continues in the main dining room. The service and food were great - but really it's the atmosphere. We had reservations on a very busy evening and were called in advance to come in an hour later so that we wouldn't have to wait for our table. It was considerate since we were seated immediately upon our arrival. Although the restaurant was packed with large groups, our waiter was very attentive and was in no hurry to rush us out.
The Christmas decor was splendid!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank bromeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alex Madonna's Gold Rush Steak House also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Alex Madonna's Gold Rush Steak House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing