We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful ambiance”
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
2 reviews
“Wonderful ambiance”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed in one of the updated rooms this time. Comfortable, attractive -- more sleek but still very homey. Polite and friendly service. Very well kept up property, nice flowerbeds.
Great baked goods in the restaurant. Menu limited, but food is good though a little pricey.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank lovetile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We are glad you were able to experience one of our renovated rooms. Our goal is to keep the Apple Farm charm but provide more contemporary decor. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    408
    116
    50
    27
See reviews for
349
700
46
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stayed here during Thanksgiving week a while back and it was decorated for the holidays in the most wonderful way! There is a large gift shop which features holiday items, and another cider wheel house with more treasures. The lobby of the hotel is beautiful, the restaurant is excellent and the breakfast is amazing! The grounds are just gorgeous. You can stay in the main hotel building, or the smaller building in the front. The main building is much more decorated and Victorian and adorable. The one story front building is nice if you have kids and need to be near your car for things, and also they have a couple of joined rooms in the front building which are perfect for families. If you're just a couple, I'd recommend the main building where the lobby is and the grand decor. This is the perfect place to stay, especially during the holiday seasons. Wonderful, a little pricey, but worth it. And very close to the adorable downtown Higuera Street area and Cal Poly. If you want to stay here for any Cal Poly events, book WELL in advance, especially Parent's weekend or Graduation.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building if you want the full experience of the decor -- and the creekside is best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moretravel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Apple Farm! We are glad you had the chance to stay with us during Thanksgiving. The holiday season is magical around here! We start decorating months in advance and the Apple Farm turns into a winter wonderland. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the holiday cheer! Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your next visit at the Apple Farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We recently spent another anniversary in San Luis Obispo at the Apple Farm Inn. We've stayed in the inn several times over the years, in both the main inn and the Trellis Court, which is the smaller, less pricey annex. Both are decorated in country Americana with lovely wallpaper and canapy beds. Fresh cookies are given at check-in, and coffee, etc. are always available in the reception area. Each afternoon enjoy the complimentary wine/hors D Oeuvres reception down near the creek and old mill. The property is beautiful with hanging baskets of flowers blooming everywhere. Staff members are always friendly and helpful. We like to eat at the Apple Farm restaurant where they serve good, homey food and amazing pastries. Be sure to spend time in the lovely gift shop while you wait for your table, although guests at the Inn can make advance reservations. Visit the farmers market, antique stores or other downtown shops and drink coffee or eat at outside tables. All are within walking distance of the Inn. A lovely few days!

Room Tip: Look for internet specials in the Apple Trellis Court and ask for a first floor, king room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hapytraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you for reviewing our property. We are so happy you decided to celebrate your anniversary with us! It sounds like you and your spouse thoroughly enjoyed the special occasion. We are glad you were able to partake in the guest wine reception and enjoy a few meals in the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This was my second time to stay at the Apple Farm. On this trip I realized it's really nothing different than the other major hotel chain. Sure the rooms are charming with 4-post beds and flower wallpaper. But, the rooms are SMALL, and bathrooms even SMALLER. There is so much furniture in the rooms it is difficult to keep bags and misc travel stuff organized. Oh, and I can't forget the TV. It was OLD, OLD, OLD... So old the picture was blurred. One more thing, Hwy traffic. If you're a light sleeper try to get a room in the main building, which will cost more money, or choose another hotel. The bed was comfortable though. If you don't care about the "fluff" then then this place is really nothing special.

Room Tip: Inside the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Apple Farm. We are disappointed to hear that your stay with us did not exceed your expectations. We work very hard to provide our guests with an experience that cannot be found any where else. From our complimentary guest wine reception to cookies upon arrival we strive to make our guests feel at home. In regards to your room, you stayed in the Trellis Court which is the motel section of the property with smaller rooms and bathrooms. The Main Inn offers more spacious accommodations and larger bathrooms. Many of our guests do not mind the size of the Trellis Court rooms but in the future, you may be happier in one of our rooms in the Inn. We hope you will come back to stay with us again so we can show you what truly sets the Apple Farm apart. Thank you for your feedback it helps us continuously improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
temecula ca
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

We blindly booked as a destination hotel for our 10 th annv. We requested a creek side room. When we arrived our room was ready for us. Suite 315. What a well appointed and beautifully romantic room! The soft colors were soothing..decor quite charming and the bed oh so luxuriously comfortable. We enjoyed the window open by the sitting area of the room. You could hear the rushing water of the creek and frogs singing you into slumber. The fireplace was lovely, and bathroom large. We appreciated the fresh flowers on the mirror vase. The staff wad exceptionaly helpful. The cider and coffee and snacks in the lobby were a wonderful touch. We never made it to the complimentary wine reception . Beautiful grounds....felt like you were a guest in a grand home

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank furluvcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Apple Farm. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay! Happy 10th anniversary; we are so happy you could celebrate this momentous occasion with us! One of our main goals is to make our guests feel at home. We are glad you felt this hospitality while you were here. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Obispo
0.1 km away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
622 reviews
0.5 km away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
718 reviews
3.4 km away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
391 reviews
4.2 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,206 reviews
15.4 km away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Property: Apple Farm Inn
Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2695
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,917 - ₹ 23,970
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing