We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better this time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 San Jose Convention Center
Ranked #60 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Last stayed here in April 2009. This time it was better-- the room was larger and quieter. If I have any complaints they would be few and minor: the lack of travel-sized shampoo bottles; the sink's faucets were backwards--cold was hot, and hot was cold. Water pressure was very strong, but towels were very skimpy. You'll need more than the two supplied.

But hey, this was a very inexpensive and clean room, with a kingsized bed (with a selection of 2 puffy pillows and one flat one), chair, table/desk, and a tub and toilet in a separate area which was well ventilated. There was also a fridge, microwave, free wifi, and a tv. This particular room was #203, so it was fairly close to the street, but even so there was not too much traffic noise. I know we had neighbors because the place was sold out, but we didn't hear a sound. Great walking distance to the Pavillion--about a half-mile, and very well-lit at night. Great used bookstore across the street.

Bring your own alarm clock if you need one.

We would definitely stay here again if we need to come for another concert. Easy access from the highway, and easy to get back on the highway also.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the manager's office; it made a big difference as far as the noise level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

Three different slimy looking (based upon very careful and quiet peephole viewing-we were terrified of being assaulted), at varying time during the night, pounded on our room looking for "Angel." The large group of partying folks (high probability of being prostitutes, cackling to sell their wares from the balcony above) did not rest all night.

The hotel room was not clean. I was terrified to take my shoes off. We had luckily just finished a camping trip and slept (at least did so in between folks knocking on the door) on top of the bed in our sleeping bags. If we had known the noise wouldn't stop and that our room had previously been the home base of a prostitute, to which men would be seeking the services of all night, we would never have stayed.

When we left, we contacted the hotel manager, who refused to refund our money. They "graciously" offered us 50% off of our next stay at that individual hotel only (not among the chain, as this one is a franchise and independently owned). You couldn't pay me to stay there again. Beware!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. Do not stay at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LunaReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

So initially I was annoyed that I paid $15 more than I did in Sunnyvale, but boy is it worth it. Ceramic tile in the bathroom refrigerator, nice bedding and clean spacious lobby with warm staff. I suppose when I want to splurge again I will definitely stay here again (and it was ten minutes away from my job).

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Asha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

This is the third time that I have stayed at this motel because of it's central location near downtown San Jose. This will also be the last time. I paid for 2 separate rooms (one smoking and one non-smoking) for about a week. From the first day the odor of marijuana was very strong in the hallway of the upper 2nd floor, where we were staying. There were prostitutes coming and going in the parking lot during the entire the week. The odor of marijuana was almost a constant presence and it was very strong and concentrated near rooms 219 through 224. Both of us had complained many times to the staff and were told that it was hard to track down these offenders. A guest traveling with me had a headache for about 2 days from the marijuana smell. This motel was over priced, front desk service was generally bad, the rooms adjacent to us were noisy up until about 3:00 am and the rooms were rather old and unsanitary. No refunds or discounts were offered to us at check out time for these very bad conditions. The maids however were very pleasant to deal with and we both felt very sorry for them in that they have to clean up the messes these sort of people leave. This motel seems to attract a lower and more criminal class of people. I would strongly advise against staying there.

Room Tip: Be advised that people smoke in the non-smoking rooms. There is heavy marijuana usage at this Motel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigcowboy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Totally fine for the price. Not pretty, but Clean.

Nice neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrewing88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 km away
Arena Hotel
Arena Hotel
#33 of 75 in San Jose
373 reviews
2.3 km away
Pacific Motor Inn
Pacific Motor Inn
#29 of 75 in San Jose
375 reviews
1.3 km away
AC Hotel by Marriott San Jose Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Valley Inn
Valley Inn
#48 of 75 in San Jose
28 reviews
2.0 km away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.2 km away
No photo provided
Flamingo Motel
#37 of 75 in San Jose
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Jose Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Jose Convention Center

Address: 1041 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126-3142 (Formerly San Jose Sports Arena Travelodge)
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: ₹ 8,715 - ₹ 11,772 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Jose Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 San Jose Convention Center is located off I-880 at The Alameda/SR 82, and close to the convention center, sports arena, and a short distance from the airport. Enjoy our modern rooms, seasonal outdoor pool, and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 San Jose Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Jose Hotel San Jose
Motel Six San Jose
San Jose Motel Six
San Jose Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing