We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$134
View deal
Booking.com$134
Hilton$134
Hotels.com$134
Priceline$134
Travelocity$134
Traveluro$171
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (997)
Filter reviews
997 results
Traveller rating
576
250
91
42
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
576
250
91
42
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk los angeles monterey park diamond member restaurants and shops within walking distance convenient location downtown la easy access complimentary breakfast per day wedding housekeeping chinatown freeway california
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 997 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2022

My client flew in to attend meeting - and I drove in from Coachella Valley - great staff - very clean room - I frlt I had a mini vacation - the staff from check in to checking out on my two day stay where excellent- -

Date of stay: April 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank kchan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom Kubo, General Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2022

Dear kchan46,
We appreciate the great review and very excited that in person meetings and events are coming back. We will be sure to share your comments with our amazing team! Thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Thank you,
Tom K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2022 via mobile

The only reason we booked this hotel was lack of choice - Super Bowl weekend.
Good people, expansive lobby and within walking g distance of shopping and food. But hotel offered mediocre food, and so so beds. Nothing was done when I brought to their attention that there was mold in the shower enclosure!!!!!

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TeheranbornCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom Kubo, General Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2022

Dear TeheranbornCanuck,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for staying at our property during Super Bowl weekend. Our goal is to ensure the best possible experience for every guest and we are sorry that we didn't quite meet your expectations. We will be addressing your concerns with our team. If there is any additional information that you would like to share with us, please contact the hotel and one of our team members will be happy to assist.
Thank you,
Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2022

Located in the heart of LA’s Chinese district. Front desk team were very welcoming.

Rooms were comfortable, very sizeable with lounge area, 2 large screen televisions and quality linens. As with other Hilton establishments during our trip we noticed the reduction in bathroom towel stocks.

Whilst we understood the room cleaning on request only policy due to covid I seriously frown upon having to give 24h notice for service. Replacement towels were obtained from the housekeeping trollies. Pre-covid you would have been awarded points in lieu of room make up.

Gold member benefits as experienced at other establishments during our trip are being eroded, this included a credit towards breakfast as opposed to complimentary breakfast.

Parking $9.95 per night.

The property is smart looking on first impressions but is currently being allowed to deteriorate. The bedroom door security latches are without protective plates which has caused damage to the woodwork of every door I passed by on the corridors.
Our bathroom had clearly suffered a leak resulting in damaged ceiling & woodwork which sadly included in some clearly visible fungal growth.

Cleaning, I noticed that most hotel room doors were scuff marked as I walked past and sadly our bathroom shower area suffered the attentive cleaning required to prevent serious mould build up around sills.
I did explain this on our departure to the front desk and showed evidential photos (happy to provide via PM if anyone wants to see) I suggested the room was not relet without serious attention. Whilst I was listened to I received zero follow up and this property was the only Hilton from our trip that didn’t invite me to complete an e-questionnaire hence this review after waiting 2 weeks.

I understand the pressures that covid has presented the hospitality industry however this impressive building should not be allowed to deteriorate through lack of staff/maintenance. The eye is currently off the ball which is a shame.

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank fordwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom K, General Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2022

Dear fordwater,

Thank you for taking the time to describe your visit in detail. We appreciate your Gold Hilton Honors status and we thank you for staying with us. We do apologize that the room you stayed in was not quite to our standards, when we receive any feedback up on check out or through surveys, we immediately investigate and make the necessary repairs. As for the Honors survey that you did not receive from your stay with us, unfortunately we are not in control at the hotel level as the surveys are sent randomly by Hilton.

You are absolutely correct when you mention that the pandemic has affected our industry and we do hope that the majority out there can understand that and know that we are doing everything we can to continue to provide a comfortable stay to all of our guests.

Thank you and if there is anything we can do to assist you, please let us know.

Tom K.
Hilton San Gabriel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2022

We stayed in this hotel this week , and extended our stay with Christine at the front desk, she was to advise Housekeeping . when we returned to our room are items had been bagged in a used bag and other personal items thrown away...we advise the front desk they admitted it was their mistake, when we ask for Tom the general Manager to resolve this we are told no management is on property and to file a police report. we have had stolen $500 of personal items from our room spent all day looking for a resolution...Do not stay at this hotel if you value what you leave in your room or expect management to stand by there mistake and make it right !!

Date of stay: February 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cwadewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom K, General Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2022

The hotel will respond to this review once the investigation is confirmed complete by insurance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2022

Hilton treats their Gold members horribly only quoting policies. They will not give credit for stays and if you don’t book through their app or website, they recognize no status at all. They don’t have any bell hops on staff to help with luggage. The hotel policies make no sense. Marriott Gold members are treated like true loyal customers.

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank cheng904
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom K, General Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2022

Dear cheng904,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Not to repeat what you were told during your stay, but since your reservation was made through a 3rd party (Expedia, Booking.com...etc), we were unable to award any Hilton Honors benefits. We do encourage all members to book direct with Hilton in order to take advantage of the great program. Here are the specific terms as stated on the Hilton Honors website (I apologize in advance for quoting the policy again):

"On-property benefits are not awarded in the following circumstances: Reservations booked through a non-Hilton-direct booking channel or a non-designated GDS, third party website or any other channel; Rates available on "opaque" websites where the hotel brand and specific hotel are not known until the booking is made, or Third party hotel packages or travel packages not booked through one of the eligible channels; Booking ineligible stays, (as defined in the Accrual of Points section) unless hotel contract has specific benefits included."

If I'm not mistaken, our competitor's membership terms are very similar when it pertains to 3rd party reservations so you may want to check on that. As for our bell service/porterage, we suspended the service at the start of the pandemic in order to better protect our guests and team members by minimizing contact. We are sorry that this service was not available during your stay and we hope to resume service when we feel it is safe again to do so.

We do thank you for staying with us and again, we are sorry that we were unable to break the rules of the program during your stay. If you have any additional questions, please contact us or Hilton Honors for assistance. We hope this addresses your concerns and hope this does not deter you from staying at other Hilton properties in the future.

Respectfully,
Tom K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews