We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“funky surf inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Calafia Beach
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Reviewed 21 May 2011

stayed there twice on the same trip, first time in one of the renovated rooms (the grey/slate kind of coloured one with the bubble chairs) and was really pleasantly surprised as wasn't expecting much other than a motel bedroom near to Trestles.

the lady on reception was really nice and welcoming & the middle bbq area and astroturfed picnic tables really brings everyone who wants to mingle out together.

second stay there we were in one of the normal rooms, which felt almost a bit disappointing following the first stay, but was perfectly fine as a room & equally clean. This time we ended up partying with another group of surfers in the middle area most nights & walking down to Calafia (10 minute walk) or Trestles (30 minutes) to surf during the day. Lots of restaurants, cheap and not so cheap and some bars within easy walking distance too.

Room Tip: ask for one of the themed ones!
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank upesciunesciu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Calafia Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2011

Sent from my iPad

Begin forwarded message:

From: John-David Longwell <jd.longwell@gmail.com>
Date: May 16, 2011 8:21:52 PM MDT
To: John-David Longwell <jd.longwell@gmail.com>




This is a reasonably priced little motor inn on the south end of San Clemente that harkens back to the pre-Interstate highway era when small, independent motels dotted the American landscape. It's been tastefully remodeled with a number of modern amenities, but retains several characteristics from that bygone era - especially in the bathroom where the plumbing fixtures are a bit antiquated and there is a lack of electrical outlets throughout.

With only a queen-sized bed and a small dresser, there was plenty of space in the room for my morning yoga.  The bed mattress was firm and I got a good-night's sleep.  The mornings are still quite cool in SoCal this time of year, so I turned on the wall heat radiator in the morning. Any seasoned traveler knows the pros & cons of those ancient beasts.

A few more pluses: I was pleasantly greeted at the front desk when I arrived and when I checked out.  There were also beach-cruiser bicycles and a barbecue available to guests.  There's a nice little breakfast place a couple of doors down and the motel is very close to San Clemente State Beach.

If I was going to stay a few days in this area, the Inn at Calafia Beach would probably not be my first choice, but it's a nice stop between Point A and Point B.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John-David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

This was the first stop for our family on a cross country trip to new York. We were pleasantly surprised when we pulled up. It isn't anything fancy, so if you are looking for that type of hotel, this isn't for you. It was clean and Dana was wonderful. She lives at the hotel and can tell that she does whatever she can to make the stay pleasurable. The only thing that I would say is the bed in the Zen room was a little hard. My kids bed was super comfortable and woke up saying how well they slept. I would recommend this hotel to anyone of our friends!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ejncs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

This Is the perfect surf inn. We stayed for one night and it was very Comfy. We stayed in the japan/china room.the bed was a little stiff but it was overall great

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christiannoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Free Wi-Fi, Free Cable/HBO
Hooked up outdoor grilling area!
Beach Cruisers, surf boards
Outdoor shower
Great location, centrally located in San Diego County.
Next door to a great restaurant/sports bar we tried and recommend: OC Tavern (great food!)

Room Tip: We stayed in a 2bdrm (#13) and we loved it.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank griselda3838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Clemente hotels
2.9 km away
Rodeway Inn San Clemente
Rodeway Inn San Clemente
#11 of 18 in San Clemente
105 reviews
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
0.4 km away
Americas Best Value Inn-San Clemente Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.4 km away
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
0.7 km away
San Clemente Inn
San Clemente Inn
#4 of 18 in San Clemente
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Calafia Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Calafia Beach

Address: 2341 S El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672-3256
Region: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Price Range: ₹ 4,886 - ₹ 8,421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at Calafia Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Clemente surf motel- less than a mile away from the beach but not crowded as other beach towns. Friendly and Helpful management. Every room has a fridge and AC/Heating units and is a little different . Outdoor shower, a kitchen sink and a microwave in central Gazebo area. Steps away from OC Tavern and other restaurants and entertainments. 16 room carpet free, beach motel with free parking, great hospitality, digital TV and outdoor seating. Cool, fun, retro motor lodge- clean and efficient. No, it's not the Ritz so please don't review us based on Ritz standards. We do the best we can with what we've got and most people really enjoy the property. We back up to the golf course and are a mile from San Clemente State Beach. Boogie board offered upon request. Close to Camp Pendleton, Trestles. About 30 min from LEGO land. Pet friendly rooms available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Inn at Calafia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing