We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
133
32
15
20
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
133
32
15
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rose petals across the street breakfast basket ocean view jacuzzi tub location is great bagels patio pier pacific
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2016

We spent three nights at Casa Tropicana and choose this hotel because of its close proximity to where family members reside. It is the perfect location directly across from the pier, beach, and train stop with a magnificent view from the common balcony. However, if you’re looking for full service accommodations, this is not the place to stay. It is more of a bed and breakfast than a hotel and too costly for the very limited services and amenities. The room furnishings were good-looking but there was limited surface area in the bedroom and especially the bathroom, no luggage stand, not enough lighting, no in-room safe or safe deposit box, no elevator, and no replenishing of bath products. The kitchen is an open/outdoor area and the last thing I want to do on vacation is make my own coffee. The Morning Basket which contained breakfast foods was not replenished to cover breakfast for Thanksgiving Day and Friday as we were told it would be because there is no staffing over the holiday. We advised the receptionist we were unable to charge our devices in most of the outlets and supposedly repairs were made but we still continued to encounter problems. Perhaps the excessive rate was location based.

Room Tip: No elevator so choose a room on the lowest floor available.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank dgs0915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Beautiful hotel. Amazing ocean and sunset view. We went there for a one night get away with plans to walk around the area. The place was so nice with a 180 degree ocean view, that we just sat in the hot tub drinking wine and watched a world class sunset. We went to bed in a beautifully appointed room to the sounds of the waves lapping against the sand. Talk about soothing!! In the morning we sat on our private patio drinking French pressed coffee, with was supplied, and read the delivered newspaper and watched the surf. It was an amazing mini vacation. We didnt want to leave. Rick, the owner was on site and welcomed us in. He and his staff could not of been nicer. My wife and I highly recommend the Casa Tropicana.

Room Tip: The penthouse with out door view hot tub was great. The room also came with Jacuzzi tub and double shower among other things.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We spent only one night at this hotel, and you can't beat the location for San Clemente. It's directly across the street from the pier. Our room was #7, with an "atrium view" -- as in not an ocean view -- but we were happy with it. The weeknight price was is the mid-200s, which is high, but not unexpected for a hotel room right on the beach. There's a communal deck for each floor with tables, chairs, chaise lounges, and also a communal kitchen area with fruit and French press coffee. They also had complimentary snacks and sodas in the room!! (Wine and beer stocked but not free) We hung out on the 2nd floor deck where the view was great. For dinner, we got pizza to go and brought it back to eat on the deck. The staff were very warm and friendly, though the front desk is unmanned after dark, so we had to make sure we didn't need anything after that time (There's an emergency number to call for big problems.) MetroLink and Amtrak trains come through quite often up until midnight and starting after 6 am; it's pretty cool to watch during the day, but could get old if you're staying for more than a couple of days, I suppose. Overall, it's a very homey little property with easy access to the pier, train station, and beach areas.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Maybe it was the warm, beautiful mid-August weather, or maybe the perfect setting overlooking the Pacific and San Clemente's iconic pier. Maybe it was the cool ocean breeze and sounds of waves crashing, or maybe it was the large patio that overlooks all the activity that a popular beach, pier and walking/biking path attracts. Or maybe it was just the warm, helpful welcome from the staff. Or maybe it was all of things that made our stay so pleasant, restful and enjoyable. As the kids say, whatever!

Room Tip: Wi-fi improves the higher you go. Ocean view rooms are nice, but best views are from the shared covered patio on each floor.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

We thought the views would be better than they were, the terrace wall pretty much blocked the view from the bedroom. Yes the suite is spacious but it was in dire need of updating (rusty blinds, cracked tile). There were lots of midges flying around so we kept the doors and windows shut. It is not a relaxing and peaceful night as the train runs right past the building and the horn is so loud it will most definitely wake you up (multiple times through the night). The ear plugs they provide are essential.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank CheshireLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews