We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great visit!”
Review of San Anselmo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Anselmo Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 San Anselmo B&B and Inns
Point Reyes Station, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another great visit!”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We have stayed here several times for weddiings, graduations, get aways and always have a relaxing time and good breakfast. Comfy rooms, easy parking, cozy decor! Staff always courteous and helpful - offered us a discount when I checked in mid-week.

Room Tip: The big family/suite room in the front top floor facing San Anselmo Avenue has a street light outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loretta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    31
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
41
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I was so disappointed by the San Anselmo Inn after reading the great reviews. During my recent stay, I had only a few minutes for breakfast because I had to run to make a meeting. When I asked a member of the staff for a piece of foil or napkin to take something to go, she told me, "No. We don't do that here." She spun around and headed towards the kitchen. At first I thought she was joking, but she wasn't!

I travel a lot (all over the world) and I've never encountered such an unaccommodating reply from an innkeeper. The other guests who witnessed this exchange were also surprised and remarked as much to me.

Just the week before, I mentioned to the night manager at a big hotel chain that he didn't need to tell me about breakfast since I would be leaving long before it would be served. As I checked out the next morning, he had a little bag of provisions waiting for me. He even apologized there wasn't more, but it was the best he could do. I didn't expect anything that special from the San Anselmo Inn, but really didn't think I was asking too much to take something to go. I did after all suggest an easy solution: a piece of foil. If they were afraid I would take too much, they could have packaged up a roll for me.
When you combine the lack of parking (you will need to wait for on street to open up when you check in during the day; you park in a bank parking lot a block away after business hours), the pillows that are hard as bricks, and the surly reception from the staff (that days later has still left a bad taste in my mouth), I have to say my experience with this Inn was very negative. It's back to hotel chains for me I'm afraid.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deer1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marble Falls, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the lovely San Anselmo Inn. Our room was very quiet, clean and well furnished, with original art and European prints and many thoughtful amenities. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the colorful dining room was truly outstanding. We would love to come back and remember our stay with a smile.

Room Tip: I asked for a room with a private bathroom includ.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip61411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

The San Anselmo Inn is just 30 minutes from Point Reyes and offers better value than most of the accomodations closer to the park. I booked the $99.00 room that shares a bath but was upgraded to a larger room without extra cost when I arrived. The owners and staff really went out of their way to make my stay pleasant. The town of San Anselmo is a lovely and safe place to stay. A bookshop, good restaurants, and nice market are nearby. The continental breakfast in the morning was excellent.

Some travelers may find the parking (in a lot a block away from the hotel) and the light in the room (the Inn is downtown amid bright streetlights) inconvenient. Also, the Inn is an older and more 'European' style hotel with a small bathroom, which may bother some travelers.

All in all, I can't say enough about what a nice experience I had at the San Anselmo Inn!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruinsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

We booked through Hotels.com, and nowhere did it mention we were booking a room with a shared bathroom. When we arrived, however, we found out that what was supposed to be a romantic weekend would include sharing a hallway bathroom with another room. This sort of killed the romantic mood. Staff was apologetic after checking the hotels.com website and admitting it says nothing about the shared bath, and they gave us a room with a private bath for the first night, but we had to move back the 2nd night. Two staff people also kept insisting it "really wasn't so bad" and that the shared bath room was a "great deal". That may be true, but sharing a toilet just wasn't what we had agreed to pay for, and making me feel like a primadonna for wanting my own bathroom didn't make me feel better about the situation . Come the second night of our stay, my husband turned to me and said "I just want to go home". Moral of the story - call to make sure what the room includes before booking. If we had known, we would've stayed somewhere else with our own bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank stefLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAwatch, Manager at San Anselmo Inn, responded to this review, 15 November 2010
First of all, we're sorry your experience here was not a good one, our goal is for all of our guests to be comfortable and content during their stay with us and if there is a problem we make every effort to accomodate the needs of a guest. In this case, due to the fact we were fully booked, we were only able to provide you with a room upgrade for the first night of your stay, which we did at no extra charge. Unfortunately, sites like hotels.com take the liberty of listing our property,though we have no formal agreement with them, and simply describe the rooms as "starting at $99". Our Hotel has 15 rooms, 2 of which share a bath in the hallway priced at $99; however, we also offer suite sized rooms, rooms with king sized beds, as well as rooms with queen or double beds, all priced accordingly. A tip for all travelers using travel sites to book a room is to visit the property's site for room amenity details & photos. As you can see from our other reviews, many guests do enjoy their stay with us here at the San Anselmo Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Anselmo
4.4 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
4.3 km away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
5.5 km away
Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
North Bay San Rafael
North Bay San Rafael
#6 of 8 in San Rafael
86 reviews
6.2 km away
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
804 reviews
10.3 km away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Anselmo Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Anselmo Inn

Property: San Anselmo Inn
Address: 339 San Anselmo Ave, San Anselmo, CA 94960-2647
Region: United States > California > Marin County > San Anselmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Anselmo
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,047 - ₹ 13,760
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Anselmo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a historic, turn of the century building, in the quaint and charming town of San Anselmo, our Inn offers the very best in hospitality and personalized service. We provide the comfort and modern amenities that insure your stay in the San Francisco Bay Area will be memorable and satisfying and a generous breakfast buffet is included with your room. While our staff is at your service to plan side trips, tours to the wine country, or other exciting adventures, business travelers will also find the casual, quiet atmosphere and central location ideal for productive work days, and our proximity to great dining within walking distance, the perfect place to relax. Homemade chocolate chip cookies served fresh every afternoon!Free wi-fi and free overnight parking. Try our VALENTI & CO, our new restaurant by Chef Duilio Valenti, born and raised in Milan, who brings to San Anselmo the cuisine inspired by the love of his homeland and the incredible quality of our Northern California wholesome ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your San Anselmo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing