We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OUTSTANDING! COMFORTABLE! DELICIOUS! WARM! UNBELIEVABLE!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Robin's Nest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Robin's Nest
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Andreas
Certificate of Excellence
Big Bear Lake, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING! COMFORTABLE! DELICIOUS! WARM! UNBELIEVABLE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

These people are kind, pro veteran, and easy to talk to. The accommodations were absolutely wonderful - in fact, beyond imagination. The decor is warm and the various room styles were exciting to pick from, although every one had so much thought put into them. I stayed in the Ingenue room and fell asleep minus my normal sleeping pill and did not wake up until morning. A sip of port and a cookie from the parlor table sure didn't hurt for a night cap.

Bill cooked this gourmet breakfast that was to die for! And gourmet is no exaggeration! He has gathered a vast experience in culture and fine tuned even how he cooks eggs! A strawberry-banana soup (puree, I think) was a surprisingly delicious and welcome appetizer and his French toast... he'd be happy to tell you how he makes them. Something about adding apricot juice and crunched corn flakes, if I got that right.

There is a spa and even a large screen in the gorgeous yard where they hold outdoor concerts and movie showings. The included Wi-Fi comes in handy. We drove up the next morning to the Black Chasm Caverns for a worthwhile tour.

We found them in the AAA guidebook for Northern California and, though it shows the minimum at $100 a night, there are actually options as low as $85, as of our stay. Give them a call![----] http://www.robinest.com/ [----]

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank socalep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oh-No-Meester-Bill, Owner at The Robin's Nest, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
We couldn't ask for a better review from a professional travel writer. Wow! This kind of appreciation makes all the effort worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
31
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, CA
Level Contributor
196 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

We stayed a weekend for a nearby family reunion. The innkeepers, Bill and Karen go above the call for breakfast. Check out their web site for pic's of a typical breakfast. We had sausage and eggs with grilled tomatoes and french toast along with fresh fruit and fruit soup and cheese cake to finish it off.
The B&B is a lovely historic victorian in a nice setting of gardens, lawns, trees and patios/decks. It is on a gentle hillside with parking uphill from the house with maybe a dozen steps (gradual, not steep) so keep it in mind if you like or need level.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavenCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oh-No-Meester-Bill, Owner at The Robin's Nest, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Family reunions are great as everyone already knows one another which adds to the "family" atmosphere we strive for. Thanks for pointing out the fact that we're located on a hill (as is the entire town) and there are steps from the parking area to the entrance. Yes the steps are wide & shallow, but there are actually 15 stairs down from the parking are and 5 steps up to the main entrance. Not ideal for the mobility challenged but we have accomodated guests in wheelchairs on more than one occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2008

I took my parents to see the elephants at PAWS, and was so delighted to have gotten rooms at the Robin's nest, as they go fast since it is the premiere Inn to stay at while visiting PAWS. The owners Karen and Bill are so cordial and warm. The Robin's nest had all the charm of it's Victorian past. We were in heaven with the famous breakfast Bill and Karen whip up! I can't wait to go back! Get my room ready!

Karen Bonadio

  • Liked — The charm of this historic property , the friendliness of the owners and the great breakfast.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whirlygigLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oh-No-Meester-Bill, Owner at The Robin's Nest, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
PAWS and the owners Pat & Ed have become one of our biggest referers of customers which is fitting as we both love animals, especially Elephants (Karen) and Tigers (Bill). The enthusiasm of visitors to Paws is infectious so we look forward to Paws events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2008

I stayed in the Gardenia Room in connection with PAWS in June 2008. Extremely nice owners, a comfortable bed, shower to die for and very, very quiet -- even with the other rooms on the Main Floor occupied. The breakfast that everyone raves about is spot on the best breakfast you've ever had at a B&B. My room was a nice size, but if I was with someone else, I would ask for the Carousel or Mariner Room on the upper floor. Those are larger rooms and two people could really spread out in them.

Yes, I would stay there again and again.

  • Liked — Breakfast - hands down
  • Disliked — I can't find fault in anything.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank No_Camping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oh-No-Meester-Bill, Owner at The Robin's Nest, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thanks for pointing out our success in keeping the place quiet even for the main floor rooms. Fortunately there is sufficient room in the Inn and property overall that we can relocate socializing guests to alternate areas away from other guests that might be catching a nap or retiring early.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2008

100 year old Victorian with 17 foot ceilings in the main house make this a stunning place. We stayed in the carousel room which is filled with carousel horses and toy carousels and is located in the attic. NICE soaking tub and very comfortable stay.

Bill and Karen are a great couple and will give you lots of information about the surrounding areas. The breakfast was great but the other food selections in the area are very limited so expect to drive a bit to find your food choices. If you want a real personal adventure, head down to the local supermarket (Treats) and get some BBQ for the outdoor BBQ and have at it! We grabbed some marinated chicken, peaches and a baguette and went to use the BBQ and we were in heaven.

Internet access is provided by Wi-fi and is very quick.

They have an extensive yard with a very nice outdoor bbq/kitchen that is yours to use if you feel like it. The area has lots of sights to see because this is “Gold Country” so you won't run out of things and places to see. Many wineries in the area and lots of historic towns and buildings everywhere. Stay a few days and remember to bring your camera.

  • Liked — Wonderful old building
  • Disliked — Local food/restaurants are scarce
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BBlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oh-No-Meester-Bill, Owner at The Robin's Nest, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you. Yes, the town is limited in terms of upscale places to dine which is one of the reasons we built the outdoor kitchen center. It's important to note that even thought the better restaurants are 10 or more miles away, there is NO TRAFFIC so you can get there in under 15 minutes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Andreas
11.7 km away
The Historic Hotel Leger
The Historic Hotel Leger
#1 of 1 in Mokelumne Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
17.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites
21.3 km away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.2 km away
Mountain Retreat Resort
24.1 km away
Hotel Sutter
Hotel Sutter
#2 of 2 in Sutter Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
18.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Amador Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Robin's Nest? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robin's Nest

Property: The Robin's Nest
Address: 247 W. St. Charles St., San Andreas, CA 95249-1090
Region: United States > California > San Andreas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Andreas
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,497 - ₹ 10,691
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Robin's Nest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upgraded Victorian mansion with 9 guests rooms located on 1.3 acres of gardens. All rooms have private bathroom, shower, TV, Telephone. Some rooms have bathtub and/or fireplace. Cost of room includes plated gourmet breakfast. Our redwood deck includes a 100 inch outdoor surround sound theatre on which we play live concerts. We have over 100 concert DVDs and customers can also bring their own. Large off-road parking area with room for trailers & RVs. San Andreas is a quiet "sleepy hollow" town centrally located to tourist destinations including Wineries, Gold-Mining attractions, Caverns, Lakes, Redwoods, Golf, Antiques etc. connected by some of the best Motorcyling roads in America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Robin's Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Robin`s Nest Hotel San Andreas
Robins Nest San Andreas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing