We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sculptures” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rombauer Vineyards

Rombauer Vineyards
Ranked #10 of 113 things to do in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our St. Helena Winery, set high on a tree-covered knoll just off Silverado Trail, features a lovely porch with stunning views of the Mayacamas Mountains, a garden with over 100 varieties of plants and flowers, whimsical works of art collected by Koerner Rombauer and wine caves. We offer tastings by appointment from 10 a.M. To 5 p.M. Daily.
Mary Esther, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sculptures”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

I mainly chose to visit this winery due to their location and gardens. Didn't try any of the wine but enjoyed walking around looking at the copper sculptures gracing the grounds. The building is located on the side of the hill and the grounds flow down. Really beautiful place to visit.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank usmalum79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    59
    33
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
200 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Best Chardonnay in Napa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

First of all you don't need an apptmt at this winery which makes it a little busier but more convenient. Their Chardonnay is to die for as is their Reserve. I told them it was my favorite Cal Chard, which it is and they gave me all sorts of cute Rombauer little toys. They have a garden to walk through as well. Busy tasting room. I don't drink too much red and they were flexible about the sampling flight. Great place.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank tripindicular1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Chardonnay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Rombauer Chardonnay is the most amazing, buttery, oaky, over the top chardonnay and really, it's all I'd drink if I could afford it. This was my first visit to the winery and it is very pretty. The grounds have a small very pretty garden area with several picnic spots. The cost for a premium tasting (3 or 4 red wines plus the delicious chardonnay) was $25. Although I'm not a huge fan of red wine, these red wines were delicious, as so many expensive reds are, in my opinion. My daughter opted for the $10 tasting and liked her choices a lot also. The tasting glasses are given to you to take home.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank DayTripper1959_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cloverdale, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Wines in Beautiful Napa Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Rombauer wines are world renowned but their tasting room is quite low key. The fees for tasting are high but more and more typical for Napa. The wines (Chardonnay, Cabernet and Zinfancdel) are most excellent but the real reason to go to the winery are the grounds. High on a hill off the Silverado Trail, the gardens and walking paths are filled with flowers and flora of all descriptions as well as whimsical metal scuptures. Great quick picnic spot. Worth the trip.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great garden, beautiful wine.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Loved the venue, especially the terraced gardens and the wine was, as it always is, scrumptious!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank YubaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rombauer Vineyards also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Rombauer Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing