We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Magnum Tours

Magnum Tours
Ranked #2 of 16 Tours in St. Helena
Attraction details
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I began emailing with Jim, owner of Magnum about 8 weeks prior to our arrival. He asked questions to find out what we were interested in as far as wine/vineyards were concerned. He set the entire day up for us, including all appointments at vineyards.
Our driver MIke was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. He had the car stocked with water as well as plastic utensils/wine opener/cooler. All of our tours were expecting us and we were the only ones there since we opted for smaller, more boutique wineries where appts were necessary. We had a great day and Jim is very accommodating to your needs in order to make sure that you have the experience you are looking for

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Stacey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    3
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“THE best way to see Napa!”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Brian, our driver, was amazing -- always making sure we were having a great time but also making sure we were fed and hydrated on our vineyard tour! He also always made sure that there would be room for us at a tasting and completely treated us like royalty. He had flowers for us from every vineyard when we got in the limo. He was awesome. The owner of Magnum had some great recommendations and set up a great lunch with the winemaker of Tres Sabores. I totally recommend using Magnum to get around safely and worry-free from vineyard to vineyard. Tres Sabores was amazing for lunch. We also loved Duckhorn. Lunch from Dean & Deleuca was great too. Thanks Brian & the guys at Magnum Tours!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank rocket50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Falls way short of expectations”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Tour started with a 45 minute ride to a location just 15 minutes away. Owner stated that he was working on an itinerary all week yet driver showed up with no planned itinerary and said he would "wing it" . After 6 hours and only 2 wineries and listening to the driver berate the larger more famous wineries, telling my wife she needs to drink more wine to shut up, and telling us that some of our favorite wines are "crap" is pretty lame.

Dropped us off at a lunch place that was guaranteed to take at least an hour. When you are paying a driver 75 per, that doesn't make a lot of sense. Also driver took us to his "best friends and drinking buddies winery" yet they were sold out of everything and only offered replacement wines.

Overall 6 hours 2 wineries and $500 is a complete waste of time and money.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank ToddB714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
90 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!!”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Jim and his team are terrific! We have used them multiple times and most recently for our surprise engagement trip. They helped arrange everything to the T and took us to our favorite boutique vineyard spots. If you are even thinking about using a car service in the valley, these are the guys to go with while you are there.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank JMSinMEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best Tour/ Limo Company in the Napa Valley”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

A+ service from jim Dolen and Magnum tours. The drivers are great and i have used them several times. They offer excellent itinerary planning, professional, courteous and knowledgeable drivers, Always willing to to the "extra mile" for his customers - look no further, it doesn't get any better than Magnum tours and Jim Dolen

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank fido1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magnum Tours also viewed

 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Magnum Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing