We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clearly one of the best wineries in the valley. ”

Ehlers Estate Winery
Ranked #14 of 122 things to do in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the best off the beaten track visitor experiences in the Napa Valley, Ehlers Estate produces beautifully structured Bordeaux varietals from their estate vineyard located on the renowned loamy bench soils just north of the town of St. Helena. Bold, authentic, terroir-driven wines, 100% of the vineyards are certified organic and biodynamic. Known for their Cabernet Sauvignon "1886" -Winemaker, Kevin Morrisey. Call the winery ahead to reserve your tasting.
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

Yep. You need a reservation. Barn intimate.The winery is a charitable foundation for cardiac research. Great story there. As locals in particular we LOVE all their wines. Cab, Cab Franc, 1884!, Sav Blanc. Staff is wise. Friendly. Approachable. Join their wine club. You won’t be disappointed and all your friends will want to come too. But shhhh it’s kind of a local secret of sorts.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Bret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny L, Wine Club and Events Coordinator at Ehlers Estate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you for sharing the #ehlerslove. We're always pleased to hear from our local guests. Please continue to spread the word and visit often. . . we promise to keep things friendly and approachable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cardiovascular research"
in 12 reviews
"comfy couches"
in 3 reviews
"old stone farmhouse"
in 2 reviews
"napa private tours"
in 2 reviews
"wine club"
in 11 reviews
"tasting room"
in 16 reviews
"bouchon bakery"
in 2 reviews
"great wine"
in 11 reviews
"charming place"
in 2 reviews
"sauvignon blanc"
in 6 reviews
"napa valley"
in 9 reviews
"fell in love"
in 3 reviews
"cab franc"
in 3 reviews
"visited napa"
in 2 reviews
"wine maker"
in 3 reviews
"over the top"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful setting"
in 2 reviews
Filter

12 - 16 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2018

Ehlers is truly an organization in a class by itself. They don't talk about this and won't share this unless you ask, however they are foundation owned and profits go to heart research. The wine maker, Kevin Morrisey, is excellent at his craft. Maria Neuman, Kevin Jobe and Jenny Lair made our group of 7 couples feel like family during our visit with them. They could not have been more kind and helpful during our visit. As if that weren't enough, the wines are exquisite.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny L, Wine Club and Events Coordinator at Ehlers Estate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

We were honored to have hosted you and your esteemed guests. . .it was an absolute pleasure sharing our wines and our story! We look forward to welcoming you back. Please let us know when we can do it again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

I've been here twice and both times had such a lovely experience. The hosts are friendly and knowledgeable. The wines are amazing! Joined the wine club too

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Pam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny L, Wine Club and Events Coordinator at Ehlers Estate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are proud of our wines and our amazing hospitality team and are pleased to have shared both with you! We hope you're enjoying your recent club shipment and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

I’ve been here twice now and had a blast both times. The wine is amazing as is the service. The hosts are great at giving you a great experience the first time we were there we were hosted by Bradley who was amazing, we had so much fun with him! I can’t remember the name of our host when we were there in November but we had an equally good time with him, jokes were cracked laughs were had and great wine was consumed and bought. If I have a great third experience I may have to join their wine club

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank annathorell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth S, Manager at Ehlers Estate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words about Bradley and our hospitality team. We are so thrilled you have had two wonderful experiences. We look forward to hosting you again soon and would love to have you as a wine club member.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2017

This was one of our stops on our tour. We ran a little over at the previous winery so she called to let them know we were running behind and they gave us a bit of a hard time, but still let us in. It was a Tuesday afternoon. That was a little off putting. Once we were there and sitting in the comfy couches it took a turn for the better. The building is gorgeous. I'm a history buff so anything with character is up my alley. The art work displayed was really gorgeous and inspiring (since I too am an artist). Our host was a little short at first but warmed up quickly and did a good job. We also enjoyed the wines. By that point I could've spent the afternoon on the couch drinking the entire day but had a couple more places to hit on our list.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank jenhaught
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ehlers Estate Winery also viewed

 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Ehlers Estate Winery? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing