We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Rustic feel, friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wine Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Wine Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Rustic feel, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My husband and I spent three nights at the Wine Country Inn. We got a really good rate via sniqueaway.com. We had just come in from Hotel Drisco in the city, where we were undeniably spoiled, and so my initial impression of the inn was ok. It seemed a bit run down, and I knew because of our special rate, we were going to be placed in a room that had not yet been renovated. Upon entering the room, I saw the carpet, and the old school bathroom (Stand up shower) and I almost went back downstairs to ask for an upgrade, as their cottages and other renovated rooms, have beautiful hard wood floors, and are much more to my liking decor wise - I have never been a fan of carpets in hotels, especially not B&B's. My husband pointed out that we were not going to be spending much time in our room and to just give it a shot. I agreed and we walked down stairs to join the happy hour the hotel offers their guests at no charge. Once I got a glass of wine, and sat down and started talking to the staff, it was all good from there. It's a family owned business, and you can feel the sense of community they are trying to create with their guests through these happy hours and free communal breakfasts in the morning. The beds were really comfortable, the rooms clean enough, but what I enjoyed most was the service. Janelle was our DD for two nights, and gave us awesome food recommendations. Of course, my favorite little surprise of the trip, Bob!! I fell in love with him and if you were/are lucky enough to hang out with him, he is a very very special part of The Wine Country Inn. I would definitely stay in this B&B again, however, in a renovated room. In an area that has a lot of "commercial" feeling resorts and hotels, the Wine Country Inn offers you an authentic wine country experience.

Room Tip: Ask to be in a renovated room when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tleecouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    773
    143
    37
    23
    4
See reviews for
65
713
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

My husband found the Wine Country Inn online, and we loved our three days there. The hotel has lovely rooms, a generous breakfast and a beautiful pool, where I spam laps one morning. Local wineries pour wines every afternoon, and the owners put out appetizers to go along. We had lovely pre-dinner conversations with guests and really felt like the staff cared about our experience at the hotel. They even stock headphones in the room if you are bothered by the noise from the adjacent winery!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phillytraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman Oaks
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

I've said it before and I'll say it again, I love the Wine Country Inn. All the rooms I have stayed at (3 times) are spacious, comfortable, charming and spotless! The staff goes above and beyond to make your stay so very pleasant, they truly care! The free restaurant shuttle is an added bonus! I will be back soon!

Room Tip: If your budget alloes, go for the cottages!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winedinetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
349 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

I rarely, if ever, return to an inn or hotel on the theory that the world is too big not to try something new. This Inn, however, is likely to be an exception for me! We arrived late on a Friday night during a torrential rainstorm. We were greeted by a friendly staffer. Our room, a private bungalow, was huge and equipped with a fireplace. Although it didn't generate a lot of heat, it helped throw off the chill in the room until the heat kicked in.
I awoke the next day and walked out to our private patio overlooking acres of luscious grapevines glowing in the morning sun. I was so happy to see during my morning jog that the WCI is situated in between two fabulous wineries. Duckhorn on one side and Freemark Abbey on the other.
Breakfast was delicious with options from healthy to decadent. Evening wine and appetizers in a cozy living room like setting.
We opted for the package that included in room massage and mud bath. Lisa, the masseuse, really worked me over! One of the best 90 minutes ever!!
The room was clean. Bathroom was huge. Loved the shower with three heads. I wanted to stay curled up on the large window seat forever but I finished my book - and it was time for more of the Valley's finest.
Free shuttle to town is a nice touch too. Very nice and romantic.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Live2traveldaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, CA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

The staff at the Wine Country Inn sincerely want your stay to be memorable. They greet you warmly, serve wine and substantial hors d'oeuvres every evening, feed you a bountiful breakfast, and offer helpful suggestions about activities. The public areas are comfortable and invite conversations with other guests. Special events, such as honeymoons and anniversaries, are celebrated with romantic surprises.

Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Our king room had a fireplace, small balcony, comfortable reading chairs, and lovely views over the vineyards and hills. A hot tub and pool are a short walk from the main building through terraced gardens. Free WiFi is available.

Our only disappointment was that the promised ride to dinner was canceled because several staff members called in sick.

Room Tip: Specify fireplace, whirlpool tub, or view if any of those is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
18.6 km away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
5.0 km away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
18.0 km away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 km away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
31.6 km away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
8.5 km away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 1 in Rutherford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wine Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wine Country Inn

Property: The Wine Country Inn
Address: 1152 Lodi Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-9713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,676 - ₹ 40,863
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wine Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself I romance at the Wine Country Inn, an exquisite wine country retreat. Enjoy country estate-style accommodations tucked into five acres of gorgeously landscaped tranquil gardens, within minutes of Napa Valley's best Wineries. 29 warm, spacious guest rooms, most with terraces. Luxurious king and queen sized beds with finely woven linens, plush duvets and comfy pillows. A delicious, bountiful wine country breakfast served in the cozy charm of our Winery House dining room or al fresco overlooking the vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Wine Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wine Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing