We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel just off the interstate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Sandman Motel
Ranked #26 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersBronze level
UK
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Motel just off the interstate”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

It certainly has a motel feel to it. My first room felt like a dark cell but the reception staff soon found me a much better room which was also away from the road - thanks. My second room was very large, clean and quiet.

Access to the internet on the computer available at the hotel was limited.

Close to Old Town which can be accessed via a lovely riverside walk.

The breakfast room was dark and breakfast was very basic but at least it was free!

An Ok place to stay providing you get the right room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1gruesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    287
    94
    55
    26
See reviews for
197
195
52
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

In need of some R&R, and wanting to return to Sacramento for a longer visit, I went on a hunt, of not only Trip Advisor, AAA, and phone calls to various establishments, to find the perfect place to stay. I chose Best Western Sandman Motel. It is located less than 1 mile from Old Town Sacramento. The motel had private access to a great bike/walking path along the Sacramento River. We walked this path each day we were there, enjoying not only the sounds of the river, but wildlife as well, including a seal and Canadian geese. Our room was located on the second floor with fantastic views, away from the parking lot and the freeway noises.

The room had a king-sized bed, queen sofa bed, hair dryer, microwave, refrigerator and coffee pot. One thing I had always wished for I found in our room, a breaker bar next to the bed! I had a place to plug in my cell right next to me. Great addition to the room!
The room had a separate dressing area with the sink, closet and full length mirror apart from the bath and toilet. The bath included not only a shower but a full tub. The room was well stocked with towels, coffee, tea and condiments.

The motel also provides a great breakfast for its guests. Homemade waffles, hard boiled eggs, juices, coffees, teas, cereal (both hot and cold), fruit, yogurt, breads, bagels and muffins. It was a very well maintained breakfast area, neat and clean. The hostess was very accommodating to the guests also, making sure we found what we needed.

The pool and spa area were also very welcomed. This area was well maintained. Towels were available for use. And, a bathroom was in the spa area, very convenient for parents!

Another plus that is offered by the motel is free shuttle service to and from the Amtrak station. We were picked up within 10 minutes of our arrival and dropped off promptly when it was time to depart.

I only have thanks and praise for Dean, GM, his front desk staff, Angie, Nancy and Savay for all their attentiveness to our needs and to Judy, head of housekeeping for the wonderful job her staff does.

The Best Western Sandman Motel is a definite must and I will return the next time I am in Sacramento.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dancingeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This motel is clean, attractive, and well-cared-for. It has a private access to the River Walk along the American River which is beautiful in the evening when the sun is setting. It is a great way to walk to the California Railroad Museum, less than a mile away by the river walk (a must-see attraction, by the way).
This motel has a free continental breakfast that is OK, but not as complete or well done as some we have seen in our travels.
WiFi is free, but each device has to have a login & password generated by the office, kind of an annoyance, but it does provide more security than WiFi which is open to everyone, as many establishments offer.
There is a nice Mexican restaurant across the parking lot.

Room Tip: There is one row of rooms that only allow pets. So people with pet allergies can be assured of getti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmynster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Quiet, easy off freeway. Clean, serviceable rooms. Breakfas included. No complaints here. Avoid room 118. It's next to breakfast bar, so some noise outside and through wall in the a.m.

Room Tip: Avoid room 118 if you sleep in. Next to breakfast room, so some noise in a.m.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1947res
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Great place to stay, walking distance to Old Sacramento, easy freeway access, quiet, nice staff, big breakfast included, easy access to river walk.

Room Tip: Ask for river side for nice sunset view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.4 km away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#15 of 81 in Sacramento
499 reviews
1.3 km away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.5 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
15.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
#37 of 81 in Sacramento
282 reviews
0.1 km away
Comfort Suites Downtown Sacramento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sandman Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sandman Motel

Property: Best Western Sandman Motel
Address: 236 Jibboom St, Sacramento, CA 95811-0197
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#7 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#13 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#17 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,651 - ₹ 9,889
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Sandman Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Sandman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandman Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing