We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and Friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo
Ranked #39 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

I stayed here for a work related trip and it was a comfortable room with a nice kitchenette that allowed me to eat in for many meals. I slept well, was able to bring my dog along, and they had adequate cardio equipment in the fitness room, so pretty much all the comforts of home. The internet connection was a bit dodgy a couple of the days, but got resolved. The location is close to downtown Sac. but is in a quiet area, which was nice for a quick walk to the nearby Starbucks. The complimentary breakfast was good - not the best- but good for being included with the stay. My only complaint is that it seemed the housekeeping may cut corners in their cleaning, during my 5 day stay, they replenished towels, but no real clean up of the room, a quick vacuum would have been nice. Overall though, it was a nice stay and I would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenesseOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    53
    17
    16
    6
See reviews for
42
12
10
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Draper, UT
Level Contributor
196 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

I really liked this place. The room, while far from 'deluxe', was comfortable and clean. The A/C worked well, too. Lots of parking for my 20' enclosed trailer, easy access to I-80.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaltaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorCal
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

All aspects of the hotel were fine except the beds. The beds are great if you like a very soft mattress, but if you need a firm mattress they are a bit of a problem. To be clear the mattress don't sag they're just very soft. The hotel says all the mattresses are the same and if so should probably consider adding some which are firm. I've a bit of a back problem and had to roll a bath towel and place it under my waist to keep my back from giving me fits in the morning. The technique worked well for the back but sleep wasn't as comfortable as it could have been.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Stayed here 8-10 nights per month for about a 2 year period. Really like that the rooms have a full sized fridge, stove, micro, pots and pans, dishes and utencils, toaster, coffee maker ...etc. Like my own little apartment. Costco, REI, Starbucks, Pizza, and Taco Del Mar next door. Arden Mall 10 min. away. Comp. breakfast with cereals, yogurt, breads, eggs, waffles, fresh fruits, cereal bars etc. was a plus. Staff are extra helpful. BBQ area next to the pool was great during the summer. Gets pretty busy during the State Fair, but the view of the fireworks from the parking lot is awesome. Loved staying here, but my company switched hotels on us.

Room Tip: Get a room on the front side of the hotel, as there are trains that pass every now and then.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daddy808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownePlaceSuites011, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment favorable about your recent stay at the TownePlace Suites Cal-Expo Sacramento. Your feed back is very important to us, we are happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us and I will pass on your comments to our Staff.
We hope to welcome you back to the TownePlace Suites Cal-Expo Sacramento!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

We happened to be staying at this hotel during the California State Fair (Fairgrounds right next door) and the parking was always a challenge in the evening because of the Fair-goers. The lot is not that big and it's definitely competitive.

The rooms are basic although the studio king room was a bit small. The wing chair was right up next to the bed and there is an odd configuration for the bathroom. The door swings open into the side of the bed. The refrigerator was full size and the kitchenette was well equipped. Due to a mix up, I did spend one night in a studio with 2 queen beds and it was much bigger and there was room to move around. I would recommend in general you request a room on the street side (not parking lot side) of the hotel. We had a number of rooms for our party and the street side rooms were bigger all around.

The hotel did offer a nice continental breakfast spread and if you were early enough (and the carnies weren't there) you could enjoy hard boiled eggs and fresh fruit along with the usual breads, cereal, and yogurt.

I used the washer and dryer and it was fine although one person in our party had her clothes come out with all kinds of stains from the machine. The hotel sent the stuff out for cleaning and everything came out, but be warned - especially if you don't have time to wait and see if they can have them cleaned for you. The pool is awkwardly located in the front parking lot and is very small so if there are a lot of kids or if you want quiet, it's hard to come by. In general the staff was really kind and attempted to be helpful. There was one gentleman at the front desk who didn't seem to know what he was doing, but we usually just waited until someone else came on shift to ask for assistance.

The only real down side to the hotel is we did have some things stolen while we were there by other guests. I think it's partly the transient element of the people who come during the fair. It was partly our fault (we flipped the prop on the door to step out for a minute and came back in less than 5 minutes, but someone came along and took our things).

Another person in our group mentioned having the door propped on the metal lock while waiting for someone else to stop by and some strangers started to come into the room - no knocking - and when they saw someone inside said, "sorry" and quickly walked away.

If you need a hotel with easy freeway access, this is pretty conveniently located, just don't stay here during the California State Fair.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the street side (not parking lot side) of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OpEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownePlaceSuites011, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Thank you for your review of the TownePlace Suites Cal-Expo Sacramento!
We appreciate that you took the time to provide feedback and I will pass on your comments to our Staff. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Your comments have been reviewed by the hotel’s management.

Please accept our sincere apologies, we hope you will continue to use TownePlace Suites as your lodging of choice, and look forward to welcoming you back in an effort to provide you the level of service you expect from TownePlace Suites by Marriott Cal Expo Sacramento.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 km away
Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo
0.1 km away
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
2.8 km away
Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Extended Stay America - Sacramento - Arden Way
2.7 km away
Lexington Inn & Suites- Sacramento Cal Expo
1.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo

Property: TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo
Address: 1784 Tribute Road, Sacramento, CA 95815-4402
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,039 - ₹ 14,837
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Real Living! I would like to take this opportunity to introduce you to the TownePlace Suites Cal Expo, Sacramento CA. The TownePlace Suites is conveniently located to all major destinations of Sacramento, including Sacramento International Airport, Downtown Sacramento, California State Capital, and Old Town Sacramento. We offer 117 spacious suites that come in four different floor plans, ranging from Studio Suites with one queen bed or two queen beds, One Bedroom Suites and Two Bedroom Suites. Each of our hotel suites is uniquely designed for the extended stay travel in mind with fully quipped kitchens and the welcome home feel. We provide a complimentary local shuttle service Monday-Friday,within a 5-mile radius, which would be a great transportation resource for your personnel. There is also 775 sq. ft. of meeting space that can comfortably accommodate 25-30 people as well as catering services available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing