We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location for exploring Sacramento”
Review of Cal Expo RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sacramento
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cal Expo RV Park
Reviewed 6 June 2017

We stayed here 4 nights in a motor home. There is a paved RV parking area and gravel lot with sites - the majority are pullthroughs. The paved area looks nicer, but the sites are not very level - we saw several motor homes with front wheels off the ground. They put us in the gravel lot because we tow a 20-foot cargo trailer. It was surprisingly quiet at night (and during the day for that matter). Sites are very close together though. We chose this place specifically so I could get some training miles on my bicycle - it's right on the American River Bike Trail which is wonderful. The RV park is easy to find (follow the signs to RV Park) at the end of Ethan Way. The staff is nice and the place is clean. Restaurants and shopping are very close, some within walking distance. And the free wifi was great!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2017

We stayed Thursday through Sunday while attending an event at the Convention Center. We were a little apprehensive about Sunday's checkout time being too early for us, but for $10.00 extra you can get a checkout time of 4:00 pm.. It worked perfectly. We didn't have a chance to use the laundry or shower facilities, as we just used our own. Staff were very friendly and the park was clean and we felt secure. The lots are level and there are trees-it feels better than just a parking lot. We had electricity, water and sewer hookups along with free wifi. For $130.00 we stayed 3 nights and got great sleep. Couldn't get over the quiet. It was wonderful. Things may have been different if there was a large event going on at Cal Expo, maybe we were just fortunate, but plan on coming again next year.

Room Tip: For $10.00 you can get a late checkout 4 pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 1horseshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

This RV Park is not a destination campground; it is a parking lot with hook-ups. You only stay here for the location to events and attractions. We stopped here in our 40ft motorhome because we were getting work done on it in the area and it suited our needs. Road thru the park was easy for big rigs, no close trees or sharp turns. Half of the park is gravel and many sites are not very level but they are long with room for slides and awnings for us big rigs. For $40.00, you get a parking space with full 50amp hook-ups, internet, laundry, bathrooms and that is it. There are no fire pits, grills, or picnic tables, this is not a place you set out chairs and enjoy the view. Because the park sits next to the Jedediah Smith Memorial Trail, a very popular bike path, they have a problem with bike theft. There is security at night and they do warn you when you check in about having a proper bike lock but it is a problem. Sprint phones worked well and their free WIFI was very good. Individual shower/toilet/sink rooms were clean but require a $20 deposit in cash for key, no exceptions. The park is well off the highway so there is little road noise, but don’t just rely on your GPS as it will send you to the expo center itself. Call the park and get directions, it is to find.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bobncamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

There are a limited number of RV parks in Sacramento and despite that this would still be a great place to stay. Every site has full hookups with easy in and out. It is very quiet and right next to the American River Bike Trail. The grounds are patrolled by Sacramento Police Dept and we feel very safe here. There are two RV areas separated by the size of your rig. There are showers and a laundry available. There is a children play area and a dog park. The sites are mostly on asphalt with some trees at the back of smaller RV (less than 26') area. The water tastes very good and the free wifi is fast and secured.

Room Tip: Don't try to come during the State Fair. All sites are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsMT1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

I've stayed here several times. Nothing fancy however clean, quite and friendly staff. I had a special request and the manger was able to accommodate me! Great location to explore Sacramento. Right out the gate is access to American River Bike Trail.
Park is also close to theaters, shopping and restaurants.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
5.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#3 of 83 in Sacramento
1,804 reviews
6.5 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
5.4 km away
The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 km away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
10.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
#38 of 83 in Sacramento
294 reviews
6.1 km away
Holiday Inn Sacramento Downtown - Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cal Expo RV Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cal Expo RV Park

Address: 1600 Exposition Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95815-5104
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing