We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better for couple than group, great bar service ”
Review of Esquire Grill

Esquire Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Esquire Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #66 of 2,251 Restaurants in Sacramento
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 13th St.
Transit: K Street Light Rail
Description: Inspired by classic American cooking of times past, The Esquire Grill brings a modern, yet timeless dining experience to downtown Sacramento. The restaurant, designed by San Francisco architect Michael Guthrie, is located on the ground floor of the 26-story Esquire Plaza Building and adjacent to the Sacramento Community Theater and Convention Center. The menu includes a selection of grilled and spit roasted meats, fish, and poultry, as well as appetizers, salads, and house made desserts. A full bar, extensive wine list, and private banquet facilities are also available.
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

Came with a large group on a Tuesday and found the service a bit lacking. Waiter made it clear he wasn’t happy splitting the check. Food was very good however. Came back on a Thursday as a couple and sat at the bar as the dining room was full because of a show at the performing arts center. This experience was excellent. Even through the bar was packed the service by the two bartenders was excellent and they were really hustling. Those guys were super efficient and we had great meal and drink service. My steak was perfect and my companion raved about her pork chop.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank therealmjfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2018

We tend to end up here during each trip to Sacramento. Our reservation tends to always fluctuate and they always roll with us and make sure to get our group seated. Food is good and they have a great wine selection

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank SeanSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

The Paragary group and off shoots has always but out really good food and still does.

It's always reliably good with a couple of great dishes and I never go away disappointed. There's a lively bar scene with fun happy hours so always a good option.

Some of the menu items are great ,some just good and specials are also usually really good.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

My husband and I went the Esquire grill for our birthday celebration. We could only get reservations at 5:00 p.m. and had tickets for 8:00 p.m. show at the theater. We told our server Christina, we were in no hurry and she served the courses perfectly. We started with the roasted Winter squash soup which was lovely. Then we shared the warn goat cheese plate, it was so good! Roasted pear, warm goat cheese, pine nuts and served on a crostini. Beautiful flavors. For our main course we had the Wagyu Beef Bavette Steak which was cooked a perfect medium rare. We had a side of mushrooms that were perfectly cooked and suited to the steak. We finished the dinner with chocolate bombe for dessert, perfect bite with the ice cream. We shared each dish and it was a perfect amount for the 2 of us. Over all we felt our evening at Esquire was quite nice. We spent over 2 hours enjoying the meal and watching the restaurant fill with many people who were out just to enjoy the evening. I would highly recognized the Esquire grill for a lovely evening out.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank JanisD923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018 via mobile

Service was awful. We were never asked if we wanted second round of drinks (including water) We had to ask for bread, which arrived cold and stale and mustard was apparently beyond the kitchen’s capabilities. If you want to be ignored in a dark, loud, dungeon this is the place.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Esquire Grill also viewed

 

Been to Esquire Grill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing