We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay at a great place downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Ranked #13 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Paradise, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good stay at a great place downtown”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights for a romantic getaway. We stayed in the starwood preferred guest floor and had good service. The room is up to starwood expextations and we had a good time. Only problem was we came back to the room at four pm to find it not cleaned.they apologized and sent up some fresh towels.great stay in general.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thedzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    372
    128
    45
    42
See reviews for
115
139
62
534
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at The Sheraton Grand, Sacramento, about a year ago. While there I ordered room service one evening from Morgans. On the menu was a sea scallop dish that was served on crab risotto. I ordered it and it was one of the most wonderful dishes I have ever eaten. The flavors and textures were perfectly matched.

I returned to Sacramento and The Sheraton Grand this week and was hoping the sea scallops were still on the menu: they were! Of course, I ordered them again and they were excellent. My colleagues and I went back the next night and following morning to eat again at Morgans as our dining experience was so good the first evening. I particularly enjoyed the southwestern eggs benedict featuring polenta cakes (instead of English muffins) and pulled pork.

The staff is attentive, friendly, and knowledgeable. Kudos to Chef Michel! His blend of flavors appeal to all five senses. I can't wait to eat at Morgans on my next trip to Sacramento!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
160 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

we got a very nice corner room on the 24th floor with a nice view over the city. lot's of hd channels. wifi costs something but i don't remember how much. there's free wifi in the lobby.
parking is expensive.

i was not so happy about the fact that they charged us the internet although we used only the free internet in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank das_ubersoldat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy, California
Level Contributor
533 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This is an excellent hotel for events at the Convention Center or for a tour of the Capitol Building. It is, however, not in a good walking distance to Old Sacramento or other areas west. The neighborhood is not all that great. Area is not loaded with open places to eat on weekends. Having said this, it is an excellent venue for an event and is self contained.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maconthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Pros:

Less than 5 minute walk to Covention Center
Less than 5 minute walk to State Capitol
Downtown near numerous resaturants
Great gym

Cons:

Popular, often sold out, book early
Pricey
Valet Parking is nice but slow
Restaurants in hotel are average

The Sheraton Grand Sacramento is in the heart of downtown Sacramento. Though a taxi from the airport is often more expensive than renting a car, you won't need a car if you're doing business at the Capitol or other parts of downtown Sacramento. The Convention Center is across the street, there are half a dozen quality restaurants within 5 minutes, and the staff at the hotel is exceptionally friendly and helpful.

The rooms are pretty basic, but are well appointed. Not being able to turn the television is a little odd, but otherwise the rooms are updated and well appointed. The bathroom has a standard tub/shower combination and single vanity.

The gym is great for a hotel of this size with ample cardio machines and weights. The in-hotel restaurant Morgans is fine for breakfast, but I wouldn't have other meals there. The lobby bar is okay - could use more draft beers and surprising for California a better wine list.

Valet parking used to be great, but now they can't bring cars out in advance so your car won't be waiting in advance.

The front desk and bell staff is top notch. If you're a frequent guest, they'll take great care of you especially when the hotel is sold out which is often.

Overall, this is a great hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: The rooms are all about the same and reasonably quiet. There are ice machines on the floors that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiger02trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
0.4 km away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
1.5 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
1.1 km away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
5.6 km away
The Westin Sacramento
The Westin Sacramento
#14 of 81 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Property: Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Address: 1230 J St, 13th and J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814-2907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#11 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,405 - ₹ 28,253
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown Sacramento, you'll find the city's best shopping and restaurants within blocks of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sacramento
Sacramento Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing