We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Boutique-style hotel right across from Capitol Park” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn off Capitol Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn off Capitol Park
Ranked #37 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Boutique-style hotel right across from Capitol Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I found the staff at the desk to be very helpful. I arrived before check-in time & was told I could wait in the tiny lobby or in the atrium, which is airy & bright, with comfortable seating. I chose to go out, & I received great advice about local eateries, coffee shops, etc. in the area. They held my bags & I walked around Capitol Park, which was lovely. Roses weren't yet in bloom, but I've seen the rose garden before, & it is spectacular! My room was actually a tiny suite, with a sitting area & 2 flat screen TVs. The bed & linens were VERY comfortable & everything was immaculate. I had a room on the 3rd floor, and it was quiet all night. But there was a noise issue for me in the morning: There is an exercise room in the area of the atrium & someone was on a treadmill or some machine that made a huge racket & was talking with someone else. The door to the exercise room was open, & the sounds actually woke me up at 6:30 a.m. & I am a heavy sleeper. I could not figure out what was making those awful sounds, until I got up & investigated. Not a lot of sound insulation in the rooms, I guess. Other than that, though, I enjoyed my stay - had free cookies in the early evening, enjoyed their atrium, got a map & good advice for eating & shopping, as I was on foot & a little nervous about being out & about at night. But all was well. An enjoyable experience overall.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms, away from the exercise room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chj54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCGeneralManager, General Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank you for your candid review. Our employees are our most valuable assets and we are very pleased when they are helpful to our guests and succeed in making our guest feel welcome. I appreciate you for taking the time to let us know where improvement is needed as well so we may continue to maintain our high standards.

Hope to see you soon on your next trip to Sacramento!

Maria Lara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    44
    17
    11
    7
See reviews for
15
35
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Great location, free parking, lovely atrium and comfortable, clean room. I read a few of the negative reviews but I found none of that. Even on New Year's Eve there was no noise problem. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and appointed with a small fridge and microwave. Everything about it was convenient. For a hotel so reasonably priced it exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

I cant believe i HAVE to give this place a 1STAR! I'm so disappointed. I understand that this hotel is located in midtown, very limited on space, however, it could've been better. So, we checked in on 9/16/11 around 4:30ish. We we're informed that there will be breakfast at 6am7:00 and will be served on the 2nd floor, then appointed upstairs to our room on the 2nd floor as well. Not a problem. The elevator was awkward to begin with. We get up to our room, 203, right in front of the breakfast and lounge area, awkward. The people in the lobby were rude, they just stared at us. The room, It was small, there was a fridge, a small desk, a "queen" bed, which was really only a full sized bed, and the usual 2 nigh stand and blah blah blah. Anyways, bathroom, standard. The evening went well, went to dinner and back in by 11pm. People were still in the lounge, and talking loudly. Rude! Tucked away into bed by 2am bc bed was uncomfortable. 7am, loud talking, laughing, and noises, people were up, having breakfast and moving metal chairs around on tiles, creating disruptions, and causing us to have to wake up. Finally, 730 rolls around, still loud right outside my door, I call front desk to ask the people to please keep it down. The girl said she'd be up in 10 minutes to ask them. Never heard a prompt from her. 8am, still disruptions outside my door. I'm upset by now. So I go downstairs and talk to the girl myself. I returned to the room, kindly, we were offered a late check out at 1230pm so we can nap. We finally dozed off, around 10am, and of course, we were awoken by housekeeping. Not at our door, but in other rooms, talking and, vacuuming, and with the vacuum cleaner banging against the walls! Whatever, we rolled outta bed, showered and left this dump. I will never recommend this place, and am now looking to see if I can get my money back. Last nights sleepless night was and is worse than having a newborn baby at home, which was the main reason for this escape. Stay away from this place. ONE MORE THING, NO WIFI. THEY SAID COMCAST SAID IT WAS ISSUES FROM HOTELS END, AND HOTEL SAYS IT COMCAST! Again.... THIS PLACE IS A DUMP!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beahbay823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmcourt2011, Public Relations Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Hello, thank you for your candor regarding your recent visit to the hotel. I am very sorry your experience was not a good one. Please call me, or email me, whatever your preference, as I would like to discuss things with you.

Best regards,

Matthew Silver

Royal Guest Hotels
916-455-4000 x 612
matt@royalguesthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Excellent spacious rooms with all amenities. Close to grocery store, good restaurants, park and convention center.

Better than any hotel down town Sacramento for the money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lexav30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmcourt2011, Public Relations Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Hello, thank you for letting us know about your visit with us. We look forward to serving you again the next time you are in Sacramento.

Best regards,

Matthew Silver
Royal Guest Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Came to Sacramento for a friend's birthday party at Mix Downtown. Inn off Capital Park was a perfect choice - within walking distance of the bar as well as other downtown restaurants and state office buildings. Small (but free) parking lot and the check-in desk make up the first floor of the hotel. Up the stairs (or elevator) you are in what appears to have once been an outside hotel that now has a roof over the center (making the center court an atrium). The room we had was small, but clean and comfortable. Did not have any problems with any types of bugs. Bathroom looked brand new. Air conditioner (a window unit) was a bit on the noisy side, but had no trouble sleeping through it. I did not have the complimentary continental breakfast, but it looked ok - some cereals, muffins, juice, etc. For the price (especially with a AAA rate) and the convenient location I would definitely stay again. Think Days Inn, not Hilton Garden Inn.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet morning, ask for something on the 3rd floor away from the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruise_Ship_Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmcourt2011, Public Relations Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Hello, thank you for your remarks about the hotel. It is our pleasure to be of service and we look forward to seeing you again on a future visit.

Best regards,

Matthew Silver
Royal Guest Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.7 km away
Quality Inn Downtown
Quality Inn Downtown
#44 of 80 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center
0.3 km away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
0.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 80 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
0.8 km away
The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
#42 of 80 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn off Capitol Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn off Capitol Park

Property: Inn off Capitol Park
Address: 1530 N St, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,956 - ₹ 15,577
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn off Capitol Park 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Inn off Capitol Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Off Capitol Park Hotel Sacramento
Hotel Off Capitol Park
Off Capitol Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing