We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful winery grounds to walk. Reservations required”
Review of Frog's Leap Winery

Frog's Leap Winery
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Rutherford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Frog’s Leap was founded by John Williams in 1981. Started on a shoestring budget even the name itself was ‘borrowed’ by combining Stag’s Leap, where John started his Napa Valley winemaking career, and the Frog Farm, where the early vintages were made. The winery was relocated in 1994 when John and his family moved Frog’s Leap to the historic Red Barn in the heart of the Rutherford appellation. This grand and welcoming building was built in 1884 as the Adamson Winery and sits amongst some of our 200 acres of estate grown vineyards. Over the past 30 years Frog’s Leap has earned an enviable reputation with our unique combination of a whimsical label, sincere dedication to sustainable principles and our small, handcrafted production of wines. Over the years to come we look forward growing and learning more about ourselves, our wines and how we can share it all with honesty and genuine hospitality.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Wonderful wine and lovely grounds to walk around. Be sure to walk out back towards the sounds of the chickens for another serving area with tables.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank clbenson855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"back porch"
in 38 reviews
"red barn"
in 10 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 73 reviews
"laid back"
in 29 reviews
"crackers"
in 31 reviews
"organic farming"
in 7 reviews
"wine country"
in 20 reviews
"fruit"
in 27 reviews
"cheese plate"
in 14 reviews
"great wine"
in 35 reviews
"napa valley"
in 35 reviews
"beautiful grounds"
in 24 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 24 reviews
"seated tasting"
in 12 reviews
"great tour"
in 17 reviews
"different wines"
in 17 reviews
"tasting experience"
in 19 reviews
Filter

45 - 49 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

This is an Instagram worthy place, not for the wine. It's also a reservation only place, they're pretty rude if you walk in without.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank REveline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Wrap around covered balconies allow you to sit outside, but still sort of inside and enjoy the wine while you gaze at the scenery! Seth was our tasting guide, and he was amazingly knowledgeable about the wines and the winery, but also presented it in a friendly, fun and interesting fashion. WIne tasting is about the experience as well as the flavors, blends, and aromatic notes. Thus, no matter if you like the wine or not, your experience here will be fill with Rutherford Dust. Many posters inside highlight the parcels of land, who owns them and where the grapes go, as well as the Rutherford appellation and where it all goes. A really lovely experience.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank Lestertheinvestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

This was our last vineyard visit and after 2 packed days I was worried we’d seen the best that Napa Valley had to offer. However, we were pleasantly surprised by Frog’s Leap which not only had some excellent wines (particularly a Chardonnay) but also an allotment which you could wander through whilst enjoying your wine.

A perfect way to end our time in the Napa Valley.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank Alia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Had a nice tasting flight in porch area, overlooking the gardens. Comfortable tasting rooms - enjoyed great Zinfandel, cab franc, Cabernet Sauvignon. The cheese plate had some peach preserves made on premise - That was delicious and available in their shop. Need an appointment and tastings start at $25 unless you are a member of their wine club.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank norinec2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frog's Leap Winery also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
Rutherford, Napa Valley
 
Rutherford, Napa Valley
 

Been to Frog's Leap Winery? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing