We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum and YUM!!!”
Review of HALL Rutherford

HALL Rutherford
Ranked #13 of 26 things to do in Rutherford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: HALL Rutherford offers guests a truly world-class winery experience to include a tasting of HALL’s most regaled wines along with an intimate tour through the property and caves. The winery’s 14,000 square feet of caves were designed and built by hand by Friedrich Gruber of Gutenstein Austria. The caves are finished with handmade Austrian brick recovered from sites in and around Vienna and showcases select works from the Halls’ art collection. Deep inside the caves resides a dazzling reception area for private tastings and entertaining. The room’s spectacular chandelier, designed by Donald Lipski and Jonquil LeMaster, is dressed in hundreds of Swarovski crystals.
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yum and YUM!!!”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Some wine makers just have the touch that turne grapes into liquid gold!! I was blown away buy their professional service and stunning wines.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Boerozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    14
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Hall make seriously great wines. Greg did a wonderful job touring us around the winery and hosting our tasting. Joined the wine club and bought extra wines to boot!

We don't drink a lot of new world wines, but Hall seriously impresses. If you only have the opportunity to visit one or two wineries in Napa, don't miss Hall!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank RoamingTexan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle River, Alaska
2 reviews
“Favorite stop on our Napa vacation”
Reviewed 10 September 2011

The Hall winery in Rutherford was the favorite stop on out tour. In a town that proclaims that "Cab is King", this is where the crown resides in our opinion. Every part of the tour, from the amazing view in the visitor's center, to the fantastic works of art all the way down to and in the tasting room, and of course, the wines - were tops. We had zero interest in joining a "wine club" that just about everyone offers - but this wine changed our minds. After enjoying it, we decided we must have this wine in our arsenal at all times! Thank you Hall!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank DanJenMahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
613 reviews
331 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Crazy great views and cabernets”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We are Hall Wine Club members but we had never visited the Hall Rutherford Winery. We made reservations. The wine tasting was free for Hall Wine Club members. The winery is up a private narrow winding road off the road to the Auberge du Soleil. The views from the winery are stunning. The winery is small. The highlight is the cave with art leading to the tasting room with the most incredible chandelier. The wines were excellent.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank charles6346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Amazing view, delicious wine, and the art...!”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We enjoyed a tour and tasting at the Rutherford location this week. The wines were fabulous, the views were heavenly (get there a few minutes early, and enjoy the Sauvignon Blanc on the patio looking out into the valley) our tour guide, who was also a chef, was very informative and clearly had a tremendous amount of love and respect for the Halls - something that made the wine taste even better. Our tour guide had a wonderful dry sense of humor, and did his best to deal with late comers without inconveniencing the rest of us. It's hard to deal with a tour group when several participants are quite late, maybe a little feisty from a previous tasting appointment, and argumentative - varying on a scale from playful to bordering on antagonistic. So, kudos to Gregg for dealing with all personality types - we definitely had a mix! But in the end, everybody enjoyed themselves immensely. The tasting room is spectacular, and I'm sure I'm not the first person to obsessively admire the one of a kind commissioned chandelier. Works and photos can't appropriately describe the beauty of this piece. It was worth the winding road up the hill just to see this. More than anything, the bit of advice to give anybody heading to Hall in Rutherford - print out and follow there directions. There is a reason why they send it to you... this way, you won't get lost, you won't be late.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank CourtneySC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed HALL Rutherford also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
Rutherford, Napa Valley
Rutherford, Napa Valley
 

Been to HALL Rutherford? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing