We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
GREAT STOP!

Pulled in without a reservation and were paired with a couple happy ladies from Vegas and a SF... read more

Reviewed yesterday
191keithg
,
Lake Forest, California
Knowledgeable and friendly!

We stopped in for a tasting on day one of a three day first-time adventure to Napa Valley. Without... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
CheriV333
,
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Read all 613 reviews
  
Reviews (613)
Filter reviews
606 results
Traveller rating
351
150
58
29
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
351
150
58
29
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dancing bear white wine tasting our tour guide the reserve cooking class great wine wine club make reservations napa valley tasting room private tasting great tour wine educator pinot noir first stop barrel room club members
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 606 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Pulled in without a reservation and were paired with a couple happy ladies from Vegas and a SF couple. Una was our person that shared the wonderful wines to us. We first enjoyed Cakebread in the middle 80's and they have kept the wines EXCELLENT!

Thank 191keithg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago

We stopped in for a tasting on day one of a three day first-time adventure to Napa Valley. Without reservations, our wait was a short 10-15 minutes during which time we were able to sample our first pour - a nice, crisp white - while enjoying the sunshine on the outdoor porch. The tasting includes a small tour with a knowledgeable guide; ours was Griffin, who was amazing. Carrying the four wines in a small insulated pouch, Griffin allowed us time to enjoy each pour and then guided us into part of the barreling facility where he expertly explained the process and told us about the differences that new and old French Oak made in the wines. Great wines, great guide, great fun!
We did not visit the gift shop but one is on premises. Plenty of outdoor seating space with lovely water features.

Thank CheriV333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer L, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Cakebread Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

HI Cheri,

Thanks so much for sharing your experience while visiting us here at Cakebread Cellars with Griffin! We look forward to you visiting again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our hostess was Megan. She was really funny and kept the tour light. The white wines were amazing. We had a great time and will definitely come back when the new visitor center opens. If you are in the area and if you like white wines give Cakebread a try.

Thank JoseF98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer L, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Cakebread Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Jose,
Many thanks for your review of your experience here at Cakebread Cellars. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful property, and probably some of the best wine you will taste for the value. The tour is simple around the tasting room (they are building a bigger/better one currently), and made better by the very high level of customer service. Hard to beat this stop in Napa Valley

Thank Kyle_S_Houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer L, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Cakebread Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Kyle,

We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience with us. We hope you will be able to visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our first choice on a recent girls trip to Napa, and one of our favorites. We love Cakebread wines, and this visit further entrenched our love of the brand. We were warmly greeted at the door and made to feel very welcomed. We connected with our tour guide Michaela, and she made for a super enjoyable morning. She was friendly, knowledgeable and very hospitable. A tour of the grounds, garden, barrel room and a tasting of 5 stellar wines along the way. A perfect pick to start our trip!
Thank you Michaela, thank you Cakebread. Also some great swag in the gift shop. Love my coasters, wish I would have carted the wine box back...next trip!

Thank Jennrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer L, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Cakebread Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello our Canadian Friends!

Thanks so much visiting and sharing your experience with us. We hope you will visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited Cakebread Cellars on vacation recently and was blown away by the incredible service and their wines. Everyone there was friendly and welcoming from the moment we checked in. Claire gave us a tour of the grounds and was very knowledgeable about the winery, local area and flight of wines. I would highly recommend her if you're planning to visit for a tasting! Many thanks to Claire, Ashley, Megan, Chelsea and Matt for making my visit a great one!

Thank allison479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer L, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Cakebread Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

HI Allison

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. And for calling out the folks that you met while here. We will be sure to share with them as well.

Hopefully you are able to come visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

This was the first winery we visited during a one week tour of Napa Valley and its many famous wineries and it set the bar exceedingly high. From the warm welcome and patio tasting, to the tour of the gardens, vineyards and winemaking facilities, our hosts James and Bruce were more than generous in sharing their time, knowledge and passion. Well worth the visit and a tasting.

Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer L, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Cakebread Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

HI Steven,
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. We hope you will visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Friendly, welcoming and great wine tasting in the back where it was private. We enjoyed our selection of wine and the story of who Cakebread Cellars began!

Thank TrueReview8641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer L, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Cakebread Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Thank you for visiting and sharing your review of your experience.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

We had a large group and we did a tour and tasting. It was fantastic. The guide poured a tasting, would explain the wine, and then lead us around the property. We strolled the vineyards, the courtyard, production area, bottle room, even the garden. During the whole time we tasted 5 or 6 wines and keep revisiting them. We got to pick a few grapes from the vines and even a few tomatoes from the garden. This was my highlight from Napa. Our group purchased over a case of mixed wine and 4 out of 6 couples joined the wine club. Highly recommended stop! The $50 tasting is well worth it!

Thank Tony Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

We made this our first destination when we made it to Napa Valley. Our host, Una, was incredibly informative during our tasting and tour. She moved our group along at a good pace answering all questions and never making us feel rushed. Overall, a great experience if you are looking for education along with tasting.

Thank ImportR06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer L, Sales & Mktg Assistant at Cakebread Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Hi Rob,

Many thanks for sharing your experience here on Trip Advisor. We hope to have the opportunity to host you and your friends again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews