We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What did we miss?”

Grgich Hills Estate
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 206.00*
and up
Napa Valley Wine Train with Gourmet Lunch, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Tours
Ranked #5 of 26 things to do in Rutherford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Grgich Hills Estate is an iconic Napa Valley winery, consistently producing world-class wines. Vintner Hall of Fame inductee Miljenko "Mike" Grgich first earned world-wide recognition when the Chardonnay he crafted won the 1976 Paris Tasting, beating the best of France. Mike then partnered with Austin Hills to open their family-owned-and-operated winery in 1977. Committed to natural winegrowing and sustainability, we farm our five estate vineyards without artificial fertilizers, pesticides or herbicides, rely on wild yeast fermentation and use our passion and art to handcraft food-friendly, balanced and elegant wines.
California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“What did we miss?”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Reading the other glowing reviews of Grgich I feel like we missed something when we visited last Sunday. We stopped by for a 2 for 1 tasting (normally $15 each) and had no trouble getting a spot at the bar. We did not take a tour. Dominic was out server and was only marginally interested in helping us. The couple next to us had purchased a more expensive tasting and received much more attention. Overall the wines did not impress us, but palates are very personal. There are so many great wineries in the valley, I don't think we will return to this one.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LovetoScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenM300, Public Relations Manager at Grgich Hills Estate, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for your visit. We’re very sorry to hear you did not have great experience. We work very hard to care for our guests but obviously we let you down on your visit and we’ll use your comments to improve.

We hope you’ll visit again.

Ken Morris
Grgich Hills Estate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    68
    40
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great tour!”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Everyone is raving about Linda. While I am sure she is great, Melissa was my personal guide. She was great!

I have been to many wineries in Napa and Sonoma, but Grgich is my favorite great tasting wine grown right by great people who care about the environment.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank brigmang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenM300, Public Relations Manager at Grgich Hills Estate, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thanks for your visit and your review. We hope to see you back soon!

Ken Morris
Grgich Hills Estate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this wine from roots to fruits!”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Find out about organic biodynamic farming and enjoy the best tasting wine I have ever had. It was dinstinctive not only from regular wine but organic as well. This wine is a whole new level! We went back a few hours later for a tour. Overall, it was a great experience.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenM300, Public Relations Manager at Grgich Hills Estate, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Andrea,

Thank you for your visit and sharing your reivew on Trip Advisor. We're glad you had a great experience and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach Californina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It is the best”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Incredible wines, incredible history. The cabernets are among the best in Napa

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank blackbeltinshopping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenM300, Public Relations Manager at Grgich Hills Estate, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thanks for your visit and for your review. We hope to see you back soon!

Ken Morris
Grgich Hills Estater
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good wines”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I am impressed that this winery is organic and biodynamic the way that they make their wine and the owner's story of how he made to where this winery is today

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank gregg t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenM300, Public Relations Manager at Grgich Hills Estate, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you for your visit and your review on Trip Advisor. We hope to see you back soon!

Cheers,

Ken Morris
Grgich Hills Estate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grgich Hills Estate also viewed

Rutherford, Napa Valley
 
Rutherford, Napa Valley
Rutherford, Napa Valley
 

Been to Grgich Hills Estate? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing