We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fun and educational” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cat House

The Cat House
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Rosamond
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is a small non-profit exotic feline breeding center about 1 hour north of Los Angeles which houses over 70 exotic endangered cats.
CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fun and educational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My 8 yr old daughter is a big fan of felines so we had to make a stop here. We were in Lancaster for a soccer tournament and made the 30 min drive up to the feline conservation site in between games. I was pleasantly surprised! The cages are super close to the sidewalk--we saw many of the cats active and more about when we went mid-day. We could usually spot the ones that were sleeping as well. Several volunteer type tour guides were available to answer questions and give us insight into the how the site works. If I could go again, I would call ahead and see when they feed the cats--I think it would be more interesting if we went when the cats were more active. We spent maybe an hour on site. There was plenty of shade and benches for resting. The gift shop was quite extensive considering the size of the facillity. They took credit cards as well. I would go again!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMum2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    14
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Granada Hills, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Facinating up close experience with exotic cats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

It was great to be so close to these beautiful cats. The Cat House is doing a wonderful job for these cats.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank BLDERRICO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Exotic Feline Breeding Compound”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

A small but very well ran zoo of exotic cats. They have cats ranging from the small Pallas cats to Tigers. Some are being bred to increase the species others are rescues from owners, the movie industry and other sources. Nice variety of cats from most of the world.

Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing what they do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

EFBC is just amazing. They house over 80 small and big cats, including tigers, and yet they are a nonprofit organization running straight off of donations from the public. All of the people who work there are volunteers except for 5people. They work hard there keeping their cats healthy and happy and take pride knowing they are number one for breeding and being known WORLD wide for their breeding success. There is always someone there to answer any questions about anyone of the cats that live there and they are just filled with all kinds if random interesting facts about them too! A must see!

Helpful?
2 Thank Ammii18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A small, but really interesting attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

The Cat House is one of the few animal attractions at which you can get VERY close to the big cats! I was trying to find something to do with a teenager that was visiting us in that area, and since he is an animal person we decided to check this out. It is a small facility, and won't take you long to see, but if you've never seen the yellows of a leopard's eyes up close, it's worth going. Be sure to ask questions to the volunteers working- it's a more interesting visit if you get a little history about the cats and the facility. They also have a few special events each year that cat lovers would really enjoy. It's $5 for adults, they have a small gift shop, and it's a good way to support a cause and spend an afternoon. Lots of information on their website at http://www.cathouse-fcc.org/

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank maejordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cat House also viewed

Rosamond, California Desert
 

Been to The Cat House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing