We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
17
7
5
9
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
7
5
9
21
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

There is not enough parking for all the rooms. They told us to look around the corner and down the street for parking - in the middle of the night! Also cockroaches in the room and an awful smell that never went away. I would spend a little extra and stay somewhere else.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank dawnbush2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

dawnbush2018,

I do apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced due to our parking and for the unfortunate incident that you experienced regarding the visit of unwelcome cockroaches in your guest room. It is our goal to impress you and exceed your expectations with every visit, and it is disheartening to learn that we did not fulfill this ambition during your recent visit. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention so that we can make sure no future guest experiences the same inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

We had no service to book online so pulled up and booked a room which was great. Situated on the edge of the sequoia park.
Slightly smaller room for a family of four but was very clean and comfortable. Room rate was very reasonable. No breakfast inc but restaurants are close by.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Beccy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandy C, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Dear Beccy ,


We are so glad to know that you had a good time with us and thank you so much for appreciating our efforts of providing you with clean and comfortable accommodations in a reasonable cost. We would love to have you back and we do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

We stayed here in Nov 2017 - as part of a couple travelling in LA.

The hotel is cheap - but that is about all it has going for it.

Upon arrival - the person ahead of us trying to book a room was arguing with the manager - as they wanted $40 more than the advertised rate - as a result this person left.

Unfortunately we had a booking which we could not cancel - so we were stuck in the place.

Firstly the good points - there was TV which worked OK, a fridge which was OK, and a microwave which was OK. We had rooms 130 and 131 - which had been partially renovated - new floors - but the rooms needed re painting

The bathroom had a step in bath - with a hand held for people with disabilities and had a non slip mat in it - the bathroom light had the cover removed with exposed wiring - an electrical hazard. Some rooms had an ironing board and iron - we did not have one. There was no tea/coffee making facilities.

One of the selling points for us when making the booking was that the hotel provided breakfast - this is a blatant LIE. The so called "breakfast room" was a table and 4 chairs in the reception area - see photos - for a hotel with 70 + rooms no one got "breakfast" - the only things available were tea/coffee, cereal and juice - but the reception area was not open until business hours (08 00 +). THIS IS AN OUTRIGHT LIE THAT BREAKFAST WAS "PROVIDED" - to try and get you in! I have never seen such blatant outright lying.

The manager of the hotel was not friendly or helpful about any issues we raised.

Problems we encountered were numerous and included - we had room 131 on the ground floor - which was right on Magnolia Ave:

The hotel buildings are timber - and not sound proofed - as a result you could hear all the noise from adjoining rooms (toilets, shower etc.) and you could hear everything going on upstairs in room 231. As the rooms were not sound proofed the traffic noise made sleeping hard.

Our room was fitted with an individual AC/Cooler/Heater - but it was so noisy that you could not keep it on at night - so you were left with the choice of closing the room up to stop the traffic noise (hot) or opening the window and getting no sleep.

As we were there for a few days - housekeeping was non existent - you had to make up your own bed, although the trash(rubbish) was removed daily and towels left - towels so old they were dirty they should have been thrown away. The towels were dirty thin and appeared they had been used for years and years - we asked for new towels and got them and they were no better.

Now for the bed - our bed was so OLD that the springs had worked their way out of the mattress - it was lumpy and hard to sleep on. The pillows were atrocious - I would not have my worst enemy sleep on them. During our stay - we had Cockroaches - in the bathroom and we found them in the bed one nigh crawling over our legs - the place needs a complete fumigation.

There was "guest laundry" - one clapped out washer and one clapped out dryer in the back of the garage at the end of the building - we found a coin operated laundry in the shopping complex where ROSS/BIG 5 Sporting goods are - opposite Tyler Mall on Magnolia Ave.

In summary PLEASE do not stay here - just up the road is DAYS INN (which we stayed at last time in LA) and RODEWAY INN - both a little closer to Tyler Mall. Please spend a few extra dollars for a decent hotel - this place should be closed.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel but if you must ask for a room at the back - furthest away from Magnolia Ave.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_2018, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

George B,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and detailed review regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate that you've taken the time to share the ways that we have impressed you and the ways that we can improve. We hope you'll return to enjoy the continuous improvements made in our policies, accommodations and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

I have stayed at this motel 12 times because of its convenience of location and price avg $70 per night. This morning I found bed bugs in the room. I called management and they were sorry but that is dangerous to your health and shouldn’t be taken lightly. I will never stay in this establishment again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiversideInn_Suites, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Mary L,

Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. The room was thoroughly inspected the next morning and no bed bugs were found and also the room was rented out, with no further bug complaints. I want to assure you that we are thoroughly investigating this claim and that although we have not found any evidence of a bug infestation, we are taking the necessary precautions to ensure that nothing is missed. I want to assure you that we respond promptly to pest alerts with expert extermination services and also treat to deter pests on a regular scheduled basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

We had booked this place thinking it was a motel where we stayed several years ago. Upon arrival we realized it was not the same place. Rather than lose a night's reservation amount, we stayed. The first thing I checked was the bathroom. Two bath towels so thin you could see through them, no bath mat, no hand towels, one wash clothe that was stained. Immediately I found the cleaning lady and asked for a hand towel, wash clothes and two more bath towels. She obliged, but they weren't better. The wood laminate flooring looks as if it's never been cleaned. Thankfully I had brought socks to wear when in the room. After 15" gross socks! See attached photo.
The bed felt like sleeping on a box spring, the sheets were very thin, and there were rips in the bedcover.
The noise level from traffic and other patrons continued until after after midnight.
When trying to check out in the morning no one would appear in the office. After waiting 15" we dropped the keycards in a box and left.
Avoid this place at all costs.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiversideInn_Suites, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Dear Pamela F,

Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. Know that your voice is important to us and that we are addressing the issues that you indicated in an effort to improve upon the guest experience at our hotel. I am sorry that your room was not properly and thoroughly cleaned and maintained according to the high standards of our maintenance and housekeeping staff. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews