We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
California Museum of Photography
Open today: 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Interesting

Nice facility. Has contemporary art exhibits. Old cameras and photos. The collection has both art... read more

Reviewed 15 August 2018
J S
,
Palm Springs
Interesting, eclectic

Small, though interesting collection. Check the website for specifics. Recommended when you have a... read more

Reviewed 30 March 2016
tmgreen777
,
Hemet
via mobile
Read all 32 reviews
  
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
12
9
9
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
9
9
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews interesting exhibits camera photos art collection
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Nice facility. Has contemporary art exhibits. Old cameras and photos. The collection has both art and documentary photos. Take your time, stroll though and enjoy the many things to see.

Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

There wasn't much to see when I visited, but the staff was willing to entertain my questions, and they were very friendly. Looks like a good set of events and thought-provoking exhibits.

Thank JJKFETP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

This museum typically houses photographs, but I was enticed to come for the special exhibit on Science Fiction in Latin America. I was not disappointed as the exhibition was four floors worth of culture explained through sculpture, photographs, video, paintings, drawings and other media. They also have a permanent collection with different kinds of cameras, and early photography if that is where your interests lie.

Thank AlexQ8686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

If you are into photography, then you will probably enjoy this museum. It is in downtown Riverside close to the Galleria.

2  Thank Alexandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

This is a rarer art and collection facility in SoCal. I'm glad it exists but doesn't hold my interest. My only concern or complaint is that it frequently seems to be a platform for political statements and agendas much more so than the representation of photography as an art media.

3  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Don't expect this place to shine like it is the Smithsonian. The collection is mid-sized, but done well. The museum is located off of a pedestrian mall so you can find plenty of good eats and antique stores after visiting the museum.

Thank Huskerlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Interesting collection of cameras - I think that's a permanent display. The temporary displays were a mixed bag. Admission is cheap enough that you really can't go wrong spending an hour or two wandering around the exhibits.

1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

Small, though interesting collection. Check the website for specifics. Recommended when you have a window of 60-90 minutes.

Thank tmgreen777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

I would have been highly annoyed if I had had to pay to see this "museum." The clerk said they had three stories of exhibits. Not true. The third floor was undergoing construction and was closed. The basement had a small room with maybe a dozen small pictures on the wall. The main floor displayed a collection of old cameras. There was a photo collection of late 1800s southwestern native cultural pictures that were mounted on flat tables and laid on work horses. The lighting made them difficult to see. Old tin types and dauguerreotypes were very interesting. We really expected more and spectacular pictures. Go here only if you're in the area and have nothing better to do and you get in free.

2  Thank Melodycthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2016

This sis a hidden gem of a museum with lots of photography related treats to find and explore. Not for the really young but the teens will like this too.

1  Thank Dollo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews