We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,784)
Filter reviews
1,785 results
Traveller rating
1,002
439
152
97
95
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,002
439
152
97
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfestival of lightspresidential loungehistoric hotellas campanasthe mexican restaurantcupcakesnooks and cranniesold world charmholiday seasonmillion lightsevery cornerone of a kindbucket listbeautiful architecturevalet parkingwedding receptionchristmas decorations
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 1,785 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

This was my second stay at the Mission, which I dearly love. I’m so enthralled with the history, the architecture, and the story of the Mission. This stay was a little disappointing with several room changes due to a/c issues, which itvmakes sense that an old property isn’t equipped to handle today’s heat and demands. We were surprised in the staff response, and hope it was due to overbooking.

Kelly’s Spa on the other hand was outstanding. The environment, the attendants, the manager’s open attitude... shows pride of customer satisfaction from the first welcome!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ShellBell914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Inn H, Social Media Coordinator at The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear ShellBell914,

We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with A/C; this is something we are working to fix and hope to have done soon. Thank you for bringing this to our attention; we will be taking your feedback regarding the service you received into consideration as we move forward. Regardless, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your treatment at Kelly's Spa! Thank you for the review, and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Patricia Guevarra
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

We have been coming here for a number of years. A great place to come with kids. Nice seawater pool with an equally good spa. Enjoyed the presidential lounge and the newly build wine tasting room. The best is the unique architecture of the hotel. A true historic gem.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dixit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Inn H, Social Media Coordinator at The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Dixit K,

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stays with us over the years. Thank you so much for being a loyal guest; we hope you'll continue to visit in the future.

Best regards,
Patricia Guevarra
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

I didn't realize the Mission Inn itself was so special. Interesting architecture and lovely, comfortable rooms. It has some interesting history and actually houses a museum of it's own. The location is terrific, with some nice shops and restaurants nearby. Sunday brunch is a must-do!

Stayed: July 2018
Thank joleneabq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Inn H, Social Media Coordinator at The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear joleneabq,

We are happy to hear you appreciate the architecture and history of the Inn as much as we do! We hope you'll visit again soon.

Best regards,
Patricia Guevarra
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018

I loved this hotel. What a rich experience!! Every corner is another photo opportunity. What a gem in the middle of Riverside - this is something we would find in Europe. The food was great and the ambiance in unbeatable anywhere! We spent the 4th of July here and would do it again in a heartbeat!! The service was fabulous. The spa was awesome - had a facial. A first class hotel in every regard!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Inn H, Social Media Coordinator at The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Kim R.,

We are so excited to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us! Thank you for the great review; we hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,
Patricia Guevarra
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018

It's a lovely hotel in the middle of downtown Riverside, very picturesque and upscale. The physical environment was pleasant, but it lacked in service. While making the reservation, I requested a room with handicapped facilities for my 86 year old mother. I was told that there were few handicapped rooms and that they were booked during the time of our stay. That being said, I was shocked to find out at check-in that our room was located on the third floor, through a sitting area, down a few stairs, and almost at the very end of the u-shaped upper level. It literally took us 15 minutes from getting out of the car to walking into our room. We stayed for nine nights, so just leaving the room was a big effort for my mom. We ended up ordering room service for her breakfasts and a dinner because of the room location. In addition, the pillows were impossibly lumpy, the laundry service was very irregular, there was a lot of street noise at night, and there were not nearly enough chairs around the pool. People were diving over one another to get the coveted lounge chairs, and many guests were sprawled on the concrete. Also, there was a big desk in the lobby for a concierge, but there was never anyone sitting there. I had to stand in line at the front desk to request information.

Room Tip: Verify accessibility while making the reservation. The hotel is very large with many stairs, corridors, and walkways.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolannmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Inn H, Social Media Coordinator at The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear brickleycarol2,

We are so sorry to hear about the lack of service during your stay with us. The experience you describe here is unacceptable, and we apologize profusely for the inconvenience. We will be reaching out to you privately to discuss this further and hopefully properly utilize your feedback to make the necessary improvements to our operations. Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention; we hope you will consider returning in the future.

Best regards,
Patricia Guevarra
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews