We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in need of some TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great hotel in need of some TLC”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Current reviews are very accurate in terms of the hotel needing a facelift and update. Hotel corridors are dark and drab and rooms although very clean require significant update and refurbishment, particularly as a new hotel "shades" is being built across the road and Best Westin and the Portofino Yacht Club are already rivals for business.
This being said, my wife and I really enjoyed our 3 night stay here prior to cruising the California coast. Staff were magnificent in all respects, the pool area was excellent for some afternoon sun and relaxation,free internet access via the Business Centre was a real bonus as was the complimentary use of the excellent Gold's Gym next door. The free shuttle bus to various local malls was brilliant and again another major plus.
We didn't eat at the hotel as we preferred to try some of the many local and excellent eateries - Ruby's was a favourite for breakfast and far superior Polly's in all respects.
I really hope therefore that the promised refurbishment takes place as promised - we will certainly return if it does. Many thanks from us for providing a great base for some great memories.

Room Tip: We had a sea facing room at the front of the hotelon floor 3 which had a great view and was very bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank straightjohnbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for your favorable review. Yes, the renovation is confirmed to begin the first week of September and we are very excited about it! Glad that the staff took good care of you, and see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    485
    223
    75
    40
See reviews for
308
371
74
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Everything about the hotel met our expectations--quiet and clean. It is a close walk to several restaurants, and we enjoyed walking across the street to the marina to see the sea lions barking away. However, I dislike it that they charge for WiFi, per device (we had 3 Smart Phones & a computer between the 4 of us)--that just seemed outrageous. Fortunately my husband is a rewards member, so they waived the charges. We found the breakfast buffet to be ridiculously expensive for dry pastries, toast and cereal. Meh.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBigTrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
So glad that you enjoyed your stay. As you pointed out, we do charge for Wifi, but that charge is easily waived if you are a member of our Priority Club rewards program, which is free to join. Sorry that the breakfast buffet was not up to your expectations. Overall it seems that you were happy, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We spent Easter Weekend at the Crown Plaza, Redondo Beach. The hotel staff was excellent. Luis Vargas at the Hotel restaurant was a most professional and attentive waiter. Natalie Sayers supervised the restaurant well. Jimmy Angelo and his front desk staff were right on with dining ideas, with help from Jessica, Jason, and Miguel. Also note that William, the Bus Driver, is most attentive and will take you to shop at all the local malls. Great place to visit, walk the beach and boardwalk, dine, swim, and enjoy a holiday! I will visit again and bring a large family group next time! Redondo Beach and this Hotel is the way to go! Sincerely, LLL.

Room Tip: Book well in advance, the hotel was sold out this Easter Weekend, 2012.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLLplayadelrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
What a wonderful review, thank you. I especially appreciate that you mentioned so many of our staff by name, which allows me to give each of them a "Delivering On The Promise" award for their excellent customer service. See you with the big group next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We loved our stay in this place. We spent a week in the hotel and enjoyed the surrounding areas and the wonderful beaches. The hotel was excellent and clean with wonderful views of the ocean from a balcony. The staff were helpful, courteous and our room was spacious, well-kept and very clean and no noise from outside or other rooms. The hotel is in such a quiet location and close to a lot of attractions, restaurants. The open roof top swimming pool was great with an amazing view of the water and hills to the south and sauna facility was excellent. Redondo Beach is a very nice place and in this hotel you can ask for a room with a wonderful view of sunrise or sunset. The food, the service and the value in the restaurant (the Splash) was very good. Upon check in, the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel lobby was kept up nice and is what you would expect from a beach resort. We went on some tours around LA and this was wonderful. The concierge was very helpful and the daily shuttle service to shopping centres and bookings of tours was very well managed. We would really like to visit again in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Pacific Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Turaj T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed here for a conference in March 2012. Nothing great. Dated room with old tube TV (but they are apparently updating it). No gym in hotel but they give you free access to Gold's Gym (which was pretty icky). Location is good-- there's a Whole Foods a few blocks away, and you are right across from the marina, with many restaurants at all price ranges. There aren't many options for lodging in Redondo, and this is not a bad bet if you have to be there. But I would not go out of my way to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david_andrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear david_andrews,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I was glad to hear you did appreciate our great location. I am sorry some aspects of our hotel were not to your liking. I am pleased that our staff was able to offset this displeasure with great service.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27755297
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo Beach
0.2 km away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
437 reviews
0.5 km away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
0.4 km away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
850 reviews
3.4 km away
Best Western Plus Redondo Beach Inn
5.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Redondo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina

Property: Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
Address: 300 N Harbor Dr, Redondo Beach, CA 90277
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Redondo Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Redondo Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,361 - ₹ 23,949
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEW Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina Hotel. A full service southern California coastal hotel with resort style amenities. Conveniently located just 7 miles south of LAX, overlooking the Pacific Ocean between the King Harbor Marina and the Redondo Beach Pier. Complimentary WiFi for all guest rooms and public area; tennis court, Olympic size pool, and whirlpool on Harbor Terrace. Bike rental 7 days per week through concierge. Full 2-room fitness center. Completed $25M renovation of entire hotel in 2016 including guestrooms, lobby, meeting space, and new lobby bar – Harbor Bar+Bistro for light lunch and dinners. Breakfast in SOL. Choice of water view rooms, 350 sq ft, most with balcony. Selection of King or double Queen bedded rooms. Room safe and mini refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina Hotel Redondo Beach
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach And Marina
Redondo Beach Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Redondo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing