We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is a lovely property BUT unfortuately when checking out we were advised that we owed for the use of the amenities @ $27 per nite plus taxes. What the heck?!! Are your prices not high enough that we have to pay to use your fitness center, have kids play in the rec rooms, the pool, etc. What then are you offering for the price, your rooms?, which are nice but NOT exquisite by any means! Plus our room was very musty/moldy smelling. What a rip off! Plus we were NEVER informed at any time about these added charges, not when we made the reservations, not when we checked in ONLY at our check out! THIS IS JUST NOT GOOD BUSINESS! we will NOT be staying there again nor refering this property to family and friends.

Room Tip: They have no elevators so if you have a hard time with stairs ask for a ground floor especially for...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prayerwarior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Dear prayerwarior,

Thank you for your recent post. We appreciate your comments and concerns. We do our very best to inform our guests of the standard resort fee. When making a reservation, it is listed in the verbiage and on our websites. We also make sure our reservations agents and entire resort team are aware to assist our guests with any questions they may have in regards to this fee.

We hope you will take the opportunity to join us again.

Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,534)
There are newer reviews for Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,660 - 1,664 of 2,534 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

Thank you Westin Mission Hills Resort for yet another great, relaxing trip. The Westin Mission Hills is truly my home away from home....one of my favorite places to escape the hustle & bustle of busy city life. I have to single out a few wonderful staff members -- Thank you to Rafunzel Carreon, Bruno Santos, Debra La Lima, and the wonderful David (Bartender @ Las Hadas Pool) for always going WAY above & beyond the call of duty and making my stay that much better. These 4 incredible staff members are always so welcoming & accommodating that i always feel like they are welcoming me back "home" whenever i come visit. I can't wait to come back soon!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieNoelani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Dear JamieNoelani,

Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate the time you took to give us your feedback and lovely comments regarding our staff.

We thank you again for your patronage and hope to see you again soon.

Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I am longtime Starwood member and currently Platinum status... I normally do not take time out to write reviews but I felt compelled to give folks a heads up regarding this property because I feel that it does not deserve a "Westin" designation. 1.) The pictures on the website make it look like a luxurious resort. The reality is that this place has not been updated since it was built (probably in the early 80s). Examples included weeds growing out of the walkways, to a much needed exterior paint job, to a pool that was uninspiring (a simple square with old lounge chairs and rugged towels). 2.) The checkin process was really confusing. I was told that I could valet as a convenience but then found out (after checkin) that my room was a good 5 minute walk from where I dropped the car. 3.) I checked out and proactively notified the front desk that I had 2 items in the mini bar so that I could have everything included on my bill. However, the maid accounted for my 2 items and the front desk did not bother to see that they already charged me for these items so I had a duplicate. This is careless and required my time in dealing with accounting who never picks up the phone. I would never return here and it is a shame that Westin keeps affiliation here. How can you put this in the same category as Westin Cabo, Westin SF or Westin Boston?

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

After 8pm, my wife traveling alone, had 2 men knocking on her door. They said they were there to upgrade the lighting in the bathroom. She checked and the lighting was fine. Needless to say, she became quite frightened. She called the desk and they knew nothing about it. Only after further investigating, did the desk find an e-mail confirming the situation. My wife did not sleep much that night and upon calling the hotel the next day the best response was "sorry". We stay at this resort often and pay top price for doing so. I think more than a sorry is due.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Westin Mission Hills underwent a remodel a few years ago and it's a great place to stay in the desert. The rooms are a bit dark but who stays in their room for long while you're in the desert! Pools are fun and the location is great for heading north or soulth to shop or play.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrDuffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you Mr. Duffer for your recent review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again very soon.

Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
0.7 km away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
937 reviews
6.0 km away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
6.7 km away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
11.8 km away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
5.1 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 71333 Dinah Shore Dr, Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92270-1501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range: ₹ 10,738 - ₹ 24,535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa is a Palm Springs resort and hotel where the picturesque mountain views and secluded location create the perfect escape. Our Palm Springs hotel is the perfect place to unwind. Enjoy the best Palm Springs Golf on one of our championship courses, lounge at any of our three pools, splash down our 75-foot waterslide or enjoy a delectable meal at one of our Palm Springs restaurant options, including the on-site restaurant Pinzimini. A soothing sanctuary awaits those looking for a rejuvenating desert retreat with our expansive Palm Springs resort spa featuring treatments for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Mission Hills Resort And Spa
Westin Mission Hills Hotel Rancho Mirage
Westin Rancho Mirage
Palm Springs Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing